We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, definitely worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Ranked #49 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great service, definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The hotel is right by the Trocadero, opposite the seine from the Eiffel Tower. It is very easy to get to from anywhere in the city but tucked away a bit from the hustle and bustle. We booked a premier duplux suite and a deluxe room and the room sizes are very large for a central Parisian hotel. The hotel is quite new so there were a lot of modern touches (such as the electric curtains and shades controlled from switches on the wall and beside the bed). The rooms had everything we could want during out stay with plenty of space to put luggage and clothes. We were checked in inside the suite by the front desk staff and when booking had mentioned we wanted to hold a meeting in the room that afternoon. During check in the lady asked us what she could get for out meeting and some refreshments were swiftly sent up to the room. Some of the rooms from the upper floor have spectacular views of the Eiffel Tower, but to paraphrase Guy de Maupassant, why splash out more on a room with that view when you can see it from all over Paris! We have a lovely room overlooking the front of the hotel with a nice balcony. We are already planning out next visit to the hotel!

Room Tip: Don't waste money on an Eiffel Tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    128
    54
    22
    11
See reviews for
259
590
64
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Great location. Staff are very attentive. Breakfast is very overpriced. Rooms are lovely and our room and great views. Would definitely stay here again. The best staff I've ever come across in the world.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doyletv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I've been lucky to stay at several wonderful Paris hotels, including Four Seasons George V and the Plaza Athenee...but this was by far my favorite. The experience was truly exceptional from start to finish. The hotel staff was incredibly warm and attentive to our every need. We were upgraded upon arrival to an amazing two-story suite with an incredible view of the Eiffel Tower. The room itself was very Parisian while subtly incorporating eastern elements. The room was modern, impeccably clean and despite its size, felt comfortable. The lobby and each of the other common spaces were lovely and had so many interesting design elements. During our brief 2 night stay, we had breakfast in our room, lunch in the restaurant, drinks at the bar and afternoon tea in the lounge - the food and drinks were wonderful on all occasions and the scene was quite lovely as well (busy, but not too busy). The concierge and bellman were always very helpful and had spent considerable time helping my fiance make arrangements in advance of the trip. The hotel feels more intimate than the other hotels I have stayed in in Paris. Although some find the location to be less desirable than some of the other hotels, you are really only a 10-15 minute walk to Avenue Montaigne, des Champs Elysees, etc. and I don't think we ever paid more than 10 euros in a cab to get anywhere we wanted to go from the hotel (besides the airport, of course). I am a picky traveler, and I had no complaints. It was a very special weekend for me and I just want to thank the hotel for everything they did to make it even more amazing. Would return in a heartbeat and was very sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I booked this hotel for our long weekend in December last year mainly based on the reviews i read. The hotel is located in a beautiful building with lots of history relating to Napoleons cousin. When we arrived the staff were very attentive and helpful and everything looked as glossy as i had expected until we were taken to our room.

Yes the room was lovely and a fantastic view of the tower but the reception staff did not tell me when they sold me an upgrade that you could hear drilling from building works next door. The management offered their apologies but i thought it was rather naughty of them not to inform arriving guests of the ongoing works next door to the hotel.

We had a lovely time and we are going to stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi in March so will keep you guys updated.

Room Tip: Ask about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Putney69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in! Excellent and discreet service! The check in process in my suite was a nice touch as was the Jasmine tea on arrival. The knowledge of the concierge team was superb and the restaurant bookings they made for me for first class. Lots of nice little touches that separate this from the mainstream hotels in Paris and a stunning view of The Eiffel Tower from my room. Excellent breakfast , wonderful pool and spa facilities . Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Eiffel Tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darreng422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My family recently stayed at this gorgeous hotel for only 2 nights. I wish it could have been more! The only problem that I had was that I just wanted to stay at the hotel when I should be out sightseeing. Upon arrival, staff is so welcoming. You can sit down in a lounge while checking in. They bring you tea or coffee and water to refresh you after your (probable) long journey. We were taken to our tower view duplex suite, and I could've just sat there, so comfy, with that view for days. Such a historic building with such great modern amenities, coffee maker (pod espresso style), dark curtains/lighting from the bedside switches, great Bulgari and L'Occitane amenities. Although we were not there on business, I was very impressed with the desk. Wifi, in room printer, drawer with scotch tape, paper clips, white out, scissors etc. They just thought of everything.

One more tip. The concierge, who are all clefs d'or, have tickets for many attractions (boat tours, museums etc). You can buy them at the hotel and not have to stand in ticket lines! Great attention to detail.

Room Tip: If possible, get the tower view (even more fantastic at night after a long sightseeing day).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la femme folle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is a most welcome addition to the scene of excellent luxury hotels in Paris. Paris has more true luxury hotels than just about any other city in the Western Hemisphere and yet, Shangri-La is an absolute stand out.
The winning combination: notably great and caring personal service and a property located in a gorgeous mansion. Perhaps because it seems somewhat smaller than the famous classic Palace Hotels, it is just as beautiful and luxurious but with a bit more warmth.
I felt truly spoiled by the staff even before I arrived: they worked very hard to find me a lovely junior suite over a nearly sold-out period.
The Eiffel Tower View, an obsession for many visitors to Paris, was a fun experience. Especially for my 13 year old son. I'm sure Parisians would treasure other views more. After countless visits to Paris I never sought this Eiffel View. I love to see views of the great Boulevards and "Places" and the garden at Le Bristol and I had never felt deprived.
Back to the hotel Shangri- La! It's in an exquisite neighborhood that is ever so slightly removed from some of the famous tourist spots. But for a traveller that knows Paris, this is not even remotely an issue. And if you are a first time visitor the amazing Concierge and entire team will help you with the greatest patience. And it is quite close to some very important sights that really are a trek for visitors staying in locations on the other side of town.

But no matter where your day's excursion takes you, it's a delicious treat to return to this jewel of a hotel and a smiling staff that are true, well-trained professionals.

The entire staff has brilliant manners. No haughtiness within this luxury property. The decor is traditional but , again, fresh and alive. It is elegant beyond reproach. A place to linger...no matter how long your stay in Paris, please think about extending for a day so you can enjoy the different public spaces and gorgeous restaurants. My room was charming and elegant. What a feat! Not heavy satin and brocade but neither a more casual, classic choice of Toile de Jouy. Subtle silks, classic antiques just dotting the room and comfortable seating that invites relaxation are so juxtaposed with great taste in the rooms.

What a winning combination. When I think about my long time favorite hotel in Paris I know it's just about one of the greatest hotels. But in my heart, I am just excited by this new and welcome addition to Paris.
I love the color schemes and decor: really so luxurious but not stuffy. It's quite something. And I'm sure the staff will look after me when I return.

Room Tip: Consider your price point and consult with the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fantasieimpromptu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#11 of 1,800 in Paris
1,475 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#24 of 1,800 in Paris
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#14 of 1,800 in Paris
738 reviews
Le Bristol Paris
#5 of 1,800 in Paris
1,637 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Address: 10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 101 rooms and suites, three restaurants, one Bar and four events and reception rooms, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris cultivates a warm and authentic ambience, drawing the best from two cultures: the Asian art of hospitality and the French art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing