We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Paris, possibly Europe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Ranked #44 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Paris, possibly Europe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have stayed in Paris 5 times, however the Shangri-La is by far the best, the location, view from the rooms of the Eiffel Tower and 1st class service are second to none. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants a luxury hotel in the best area, with the best staff, best views & best food. I cannot prise it highly enough.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Eiffel Tower, half of the hotel has these views and they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank SGCH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear ScOtt_Hay,

We would like to thank you for your review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your room with the Eiffel Tower view. We are doing our best to provide the best quality of service to our guest.

We would be pleased to welcome you back for your next stay in Paris.

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    124
    51
    20
    9
See reviews for
224
552
59
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The pros:
If you aren't looking to be edgy or on top of shopping, this part of the 16th is wonderful.
The historic portions of the building have been superbly restored and beautifully decorated.
The pool - many great hotel pools in Paris (Raffles Monceau, Ritz even Renaissance Parc Vendome) but this takes the cake. Not contemporary...just extraordinary.
Found the concierge team very helpful, they pulled off a few tough reservations.
F & B was very good (and best service in hotel).
The cons:
As others mention, the service just isn't quite there. I found everyone extremely well-meaning. But not on point: missing items on room service order, a missed turn down, room service trays and housekeeping materials in the hall for hours, a "forgetful" bar man etc.
The deluxe rooms are small compared to Meurice, Plaza or even Prince de Galles. Also checked a few suites for upcoming trip - also smallish.
The room decor while "correct" felt uninspired. Didn't expect OTT or trendy (think Raffles or Costes), but it falls flat compared to Meurice or the new Prince de Galles.

It's run at a very high standard, but Paris is a city with high prices, high hurdles in 5 Star L hotels, and increasing competition. Shangri-La doesn't quite hit it out of the park.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ez2plsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear ez2plsNYC,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the former house of Prince Roland Bonaparte where the swimming-pool and our restaurants were up to your expectations.
Yet, I am truly very sorry that you encountered some service issues while staying with us. Your feedback are precious to us and be assured that we have already taken the necessary measures to correct and improve the service errors mentioned.

Despite these matters, we all truly look forward to welcoming you back to provide you with the Shangri-La experience from start to finish.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The staff are very pleasant but the rooms are vastly overpriced for what you get. Every room service order was wrong. Either items missing or just not what was order. For 1000 Euros a night its unimpressive complacency.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Christian V,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is regretable that such service issues occurred while staying with us and I wish to sincerely apologize for that. As your satisfaction is vital to us, I hope that you appreciated the courtesy that was extended to you during your stay and I trust this helped in making it more enjoyable.
Further to your discussion with our Guest Relations Manager, we have already taken the necessary measures to avoid the service errors mentioned to happen again. I hope you will give us another chance to show you the improvements made and to provide you with the Shangri-La Experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back and showing you our true hospitality from the heart.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have a high expectation for any staff at a Shangri-La hotel property. This hotel exceeded those expectations. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, and was very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear MyselfN,

Thank you very much for your nice review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a real pleasure for us to know that our team has provided a high quality of service and "exceeded your expectations"! We are also very happy to read that you enjoyed your room which was "very comfortable", thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Top prices should mean equivalent service. The staff were friendly and helpful but entry tickets for members of the group went missing from the concierge never to be found again. I used the wireless access to the internet and now have emails of French Spam and cannot get rid of the French Yahoo search engine. It has really messed up my laptop.

Finally, don't have the breakfast - its is possibly the worst food I have ever had in any hotel cold congealed eggs kept "warm" as I didn't want to eat them with my cereal, uncooked bacon and indifferent service.

Room Tip: The room was light airy and quiet even though it was over the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Keir B,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. As we discussed earlier in a private exchange, we fully understand your disappointment and be kindly assured that the spams clogging your inbox cannot be due to our Wifi connection system. Our network is completely secured and all our guests are asked to approve our Policy & Conditions of Use prior to accessing the Wifi.

Be assured that we have also taken into account your remarks concerning the breakfast and already made the necessary improvement and updated your preferences.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were made to feel extremely special throughout our short stay. Superb building and heritage, incredibly helpful staff. A delight to stay at Shangri La Paris and I very much look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 573Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear 573Max,

Thank you very much for your nice review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It seems that you really appreciated the former house of Prince Roland Bonaparte and we are more than happy to know that you did enjoy your Parisian stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was not only the most beautiful hotel but the staff was perfect. They were so helpful,we got stuck in the rain one day sight seeing -and they sent car for us. The pool is amazing and someone serves you tea and drinks. We were heading to monte carlo after and needed to break up trip they helped find us a nice route and hotel on our way . It is the personal touches that make this hotel amazing. Beauty of the hotel is seen the minute you walk in. It is unlike anywhere I have ever stayed and nothing has yet to live unto this amazing place!

Room Tip: use your amex platinum - what an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarrett c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Jarrett C,

What an amazing review, thank you! The quality of service is one of our priority and it is a real pleasure to know that you did appreciate the hospitality provided by our team. It is also very nice to read that you enjoyed our Health Club through our swimming-pool.
Finally, we are more than happy to know that you appreciated the decoration of the former house of Prince Roland Bonaparte and we will be more than happy to welcome you during your next stay in Paris!

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#16 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Address: 10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 101 rooms and suites, three restaurants, one Bar and four events and reception rooms, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris cultivates a warm and authentic ambience, drawing the best from two cultures: the Asian art of hospitality and the French art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing