We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Stay”
Review of Hotel Chopin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chopin
Ranked #262 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 10 nights in September 2012. It is a charming hotel. The staff is very friendly and the hotel has plenty of character. The breakfast is the best deal around. We spent easily twice the price of the buffet when we would go out for breakfast.

Our room was nice. It not luxurious but it is a good, clean room. One annoyance that we did experience was that the room would get stuffy so we would open the window at night and unfortunately the smell of food (particularly bacon) would come into the room. So even though we weren't hungry we suddenly would be hungry! On some nights it would be rather loud from people hanging out in the passage way. I think there is a club there open a few nights a week.

The location of the hotel is great. The metro is right out the door and it was easy to get around. One night we couldn't sleep so at 1am we got up, hopped on the metro and went to the Eiffel tower and watched it light up! It is a great memory.

For the price of the hotel it is worth a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Indy4181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

Very good Hotel with friendly and helpful staff . The hotel is well run and has a lovely old fashioned feel . Quiet location close to the metro .

The breakfast is well worth it with help yourself buffet and includes fresh orange juice ( freshly squeezed ) , fruit salad ,yoghurts and delicious breads and croissant .

The rooms are a little small but very clean with good supply of hot water for the shower .
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Room 307 is a triple room that is rather small for 3 and could do with some decoration update but pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 499hamster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I made a reservation which didn't go through properly but they bent over backwards to accommodate us anyway. I have no idea why this hotel is only 2 stars; it's adorable and well-kept, tucked away in a quiet passageway but close to the bustling Grands Boulevards, and the staff are amazing. Breakfast was only 6 euros but the best breakfast I have seen so far in Paris, including in a four-star hotel. Rooms are small like all rooms in Paris but quite comfortable and tastefully decorated. Would definitely recommend this, it's a steal at less than 150 euros.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amelie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was my fourth experience in Paris and first with the whole family so we took 2 rooms. The location is excellent as located inside the first heated gallery of Paris so the entrance is really fantastic and typically parisienne !!! Great for couples too !! The staff were very polite and efficient. The rooms were ok and to a good standard for Paris. Only negative thing was a little noisy towards early morning and fact that we could not open the windows as underneath there is a Mac's !!!! Location is perfect, near metro and 10 mins walks to Opera. Would definitely reccomend !!!

Room Tip: Would suggest rooms 202/203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in October during our vacation. We liked the room (Double Bed Classic Room), it was clean and had adequate space. The bathroom was good, the shower box was small but no big issue. Staff was very helpful (Merci Sandrine!), and the breakfast was great value.
The location is excellent: close to Grand Boulevards metro station, a few blocks away from Opera Garnier, Madeleine, Galerie Lafayette, Printemps, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NelsonBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This is our second summer stay at Hotel Chopin. We booked sort of last minute, again, but still found a room during the busy season. It's right next to two metro stations, and you reach the hotel at the end of a cute indoor walkway/passage lined with kitschy shops and a few restaurants. The area itself isn't all that classy (but not much of Paris is anymore, really, unless you're extremely wealthy and never have to view the dark side of the place), but it is quite safe since there are always people and tourists around the busy boulevard all day and into the night.

The staff is helpful and kind. They have a computer with free internet by the lobby that's almost always available to use for research. The building and style is pleasant and there is a good atmosphere throughout. The rooms are typical European hotel rooms; a bit small, kind of old, and some thin walls let you hear some noises from neighbors and toilets being flushed. But my room was quite clean, a nice window that didn't let in a draft, it had a safe, and a great shower (be sure to ask for a shower, if you want one; not all rooms do). At $150 a night, I don't dare get extra stuff like breakfast. Truly the price isn't great for the room you get, but you really can't find much better in Paris during the summer and for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank miragemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

For our first trip to Paris & without the kids for 7 nights, the Hotel Chopin came recommended to me by a friend who has stayed twice before. The passage or arcade which the Hotel is situated is as beautiful as the various photos online show! The room was so quiet, top floor, and super clean. I knew not to expect a kitchenettes or kettle etc but the lovely staff supplied me with one & were more than happy to give me supplies ad I required them (tea bags, sugar, milk)! Position wise, you couldn't fault it. The Grands Boulevard Metro is right out the front and the area is full of cafes, restaurants, theaters and galleries! We walked to the "Opera" often & to the Lourve in about 20 mins! We didn't want to stay in a standard, characterless, high star mainstream hotel room, afterall you could be anywhere! I would definetly recommend this accommodation if you want great value & a truly French experience! Take me back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#238 of 1,809 in Paris
572 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera
Opéra / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Opera Drouot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#37 of 1,809 in Paris
1,731 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#342 of 1,809 in Paris
537 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Vivienne
Hotel Vivienne
#541 of 1,809 in Paris
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chopin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chopin

Address: 10 boulevard Montmartre | 46 Passage Jouffroy, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#84 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#399 Business Hotel in Paris
#474 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £97 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chopin 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chopin is the ideal place for a romantic stay in the heart of Paris, discover the charm of a typically Parisian hotel. The hotel is located at a 10 minutes walk from the opera and stores, the stock exchange and the headquarters of major banks and insurance companies. Hotel Chopin, opened in 1846, year of construction of the passage Jouffroy, is an oasis of calm, no room looking on the street, in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of Paris: the Grands Boulevards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Chopin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chopin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing