We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden treasure!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Paris, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
963ChrisW...
Castle Hill, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!!”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Our recent stay (November 2014) in Paris was a great experience and made more so by Martine's lovely apartment right in the heart of the "day-to-day" activities. Central to food, shops etc., yet so quiet that you thought you were the only people around! The apartment has all that is needed for a self sufficient stay and Martine's chocolate granola is just the nicest breakfast cereal that I have ever tasted. We were greeted personally and all was explained plus the detailed instructions in the apartment meant that we did not have to worry about the vagaries of different appliances, and a list of local recommendations helped us to choose from the many little shops around the area. We went on long walks from the apartment and thanks to Martine's maps, we always managed to make our way back home again without too much trouble. We would definitely stay here next time we visit Paris, with such a hostess, we would be mad to do otherwise!!!!!!! Wonderful lady, wonderful stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2014
Bonjour Christine and Ron,

Wow such a sweet review : THANK YOU but it was such a pleasure to host you. You were among the "best guests ever" short list ! You, or your friends will be welcome. I am so happy my recommendations were useful but you were also excellent strollers. You made the most of your short stay thanks to both.
For the time being, I wish you wonderful and warm celebrations, a bright 2015.
Friendly regards,
martinn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Bonjour Gail,

Thank you so much for this amazing comment. Very personalized as well.
It was to meet you, have the opportunity to chat with you. I really appreciated your discreet yet warm attitude. you are an incredible independent lady, quite adventurous, knowledgeable. Bravo ! Take care and send me your blog links whenever you travel and of course if you make one for your Paris trip. Martinn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lainey19E...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home from home in Paris”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great apartment in the buzzy les Halles district. There are plenty of shops and cafés on the nearby Rues Montmartre and Montorgeuil as well as les Halles. Most of the area is pedestrianised. When you arrive Martine is there to greet you and tell you how everything works and leaves a handy guide for reference. She also provides an evening meal for you to reheat at your leisure plus breakfast the next morning. She's a great cook and uses organic ingredients. It was a lovely welcome on our first night. The central location makes it easy to get around as there are metro and bus stops nearby. The apartment is in a courtyard so there's no street noise to disturb you. The kitchen is well equipped and there are no hidden extras for services like wifi. It really felt like a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Hello Bonjour Elaine, although from London and your wonderful review in Shakespeare, I know you like to practice your Molière as your grandparents were French, working and living nearby les Halles. Alors merci beaucoup pour ces commentaires qui me vont droit au coeur. Je suis contente que mes repas vous aient plu et soient utiles pour les premières heures. Votre Français est excellent et j'espère que vous arriverez à le maintenir dans la famille comme une partie de votre patrimoine. Revenez pratiquer souvent... avec Eurostar c'est si facile et je me ferai un plaisir de vous accueillir à des conditions amicales... Portez-vous bien et bonnes fêtes 2014.
Amicalement, Martinn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
263GayleP
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again and Again”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a fantastic apartment, we stayed here for a week and by the end it really felt like home. Martine was most welcoming and very generous, we had dinner provided for the first night and breakfast the 1st morning... All home made, all delicious. We also took up the option of a walking tour around the area with Martine, she is so knowledgeable and very passionate about the area which rubbed off. We learnt so much and was a great orientation. The apartment has everything that we required and is in such a lively vibrant area, that you don't really need to go anywhere else. We are in a hotel
in Rome now and are really missing the Paris apartment. Hoping to return again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Hello Bonjour Gayle and Sandy, thanks for this beautiful review. You made my day ... Especially when touring Rome and Italy that have a lot to offer as well. I am sure you'll be happy with THEIR old stones, History and great food and wines but you are always welcome back in Paris for more.
I know this was a special year for you accumulating bits of a few days off and chances are you won't be able to come back for a couple of years but whenever you feel like it, you are welcome and your friends as well.

Cheers

Martinn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Hello and thank you for this nice review.

Makes me sound a bit bossy though ah ! ah ! You know it was about respecting the building quietness which everyone appreciates.
I am happy you enjoyed the neighborhood, easy transportation and my recommendations.
It has been a pleasure to host you. Maybe "à bientôt"
Cordialement,

Martine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SusanneP3...
San Jacinto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Martinn's apt for 1 month. Very convenient to transportation & all your shopping needs. We wanted to experience staying in Paris at a slow pace & this apt had all the amenities we needed. Thankyou Martinn for being a great hostess.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
hello Suzanne, thank you for taking time to write this. It is very kind of you to acknowledge the location, the amenities and my services.
It was an excellent idea to stay a whole month so you could feel real Parisians, were not stressed by missing some interesting experiences, went your own pace. If only we could all have a few weeks to explore a city and feel part of it ! I am pleased you enjoyed it.
Martine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHH0855
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Paris doesn't get better than this!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Martine's apartment for 8 nights. She is a truly thoughtful and welcoming host. Her apartment is compact but beautifully fitted out. It has everything that a tourist in Paris could desire. Ideal location, first dinner and breakfast provided, clean, and comfortable, numerous cafes as well as self catering shops very close by. She has tourist guides and handy hints for seasoned travellers as well as for those visiting Paris for the first time. We arranged to do a full day walking tour with Martine- it was a highlight of our stay. Martine and her apartment are just a delight..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Martine was a fabulous host. We would definitely recommend her to friends.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
Bonjour Margaret and Rose (for you it is most probably Bonsoir or a very early Sunday Bonjour)
So happy you enjoyed the apartment, the courtyard, the very convenient area.
On my side,I have been so blessed to get to know you, meet you, share Paris with you. Fun to shop in Aligre and for jewelry in Daumesnil, share a wonderful lunch in the Medieval Marais, and so much more while you stayed. You are so curious, so enthusiastic, appreciate the relationship, do not take anything for granted...
A real treat for me as well...
Now I know you went back to school. Hope the memories of your sunny strolls in Paris will help you go through your Winter.
Thanks again for being such pleasant guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing