We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An intimate, elegant hotel pas comme les autres”
Review of Hotel Cambon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cambon
Ranked #270 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cambon for nine days in late June on the seventh floor in a junior suite with small balconies off the bedroom and bathroom, overlooking Paris rooftops and the Jardin du Tuileries. This is the special kind of hotel that is fast disappearing in Paris: Madame, la propriétaire (for the past 45 years), keeping a watchful eye onsite (with her cute and spoiled dachshund) to assure that the hotel lives up to a standard of "personal service where we get to know each of our clients." The manager, reception and all staff provided professional service that at the same time was very accueillant and chaleureux. They learn their clients quickly, by name and preferences. Room-size by Paris standards was average, but the hotel and our room were very elegantly and cleverly designed, and we would always gladly trade the few additional square meters for the intimate and thoughtful, personal service at Hotel Cambon. We've been coming to Paris fairly regularly for the past 25 years and also find room prices to be very reasonable, especially for this area of the city. We had a lovely stay here. Top marks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jefferyg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

We've been staying at the Cambon for many years.. It is a boutique hotel that is a very well managed operation. Madam Simeon and her staff are gracious and accommodating. The rooms are well appointed (and recently renovated). Some of the rooms are small--good for one person. But they have larger rooms as well. Inquire and make sure the room fits your particular needs. There are no lines for anything. The breakfast is great and omelets exceptional. I've also stayed there on business trips. You couldn't ask for a better location in Paris. If you're looking for an upscale, hassle free and personal hotel, I highly recommend it.

Maureen B

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I booked this place believing it is a 4star only to find it's a b&b charging as a 4star hotel: very small room, tiny lift (it couldnt fit the trolley so somebody brought it afterwards!); when advertise parking they refer to the public one nearby; extra city-tourist taxes not included in the price and mentioned only at the departure; charged the card used to secure the booking prior to our arrival, although we wanted to pay cash; safe doesnt take a laptop, no tea/coffee facilities in the room, only 1pair of sleepers & bathrobe for..two for a 5nght stay; no 24hour reception-the main entrance gets locked at night so imagine urself waiting for15min or so, in "good humour" in the middle of the night, in frt of ur expensive "4start ..hotel!" 4 somebody to attend it, otherwise they hav plenty of staff: 4receptionists and their supervisor but only 1worker 2do the foot work in the rooms and push carrying customers luggage. Always enjoy 2c the good old french style at work, saw it, did it, next! The b&b is in a good location though.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel in the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S1m8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambonParis, Directeur général at Hotel Cambon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear guest ,
Thank you for taking time to write your comment.
We are truly sorry that you didn’t find the feeling at the Cambon you may expect.
Our 40 different rooms have the size required for a 4 stars in Paris. If the room you had booked was not enough large for you, the reception would have been pleased to propose you a other category (from 14 sq meters for single room to 33 sq meters for junior suite).
You are in the old center of Paris and the Cambon is an hotel open since 40 years . the lift is for 3 persons and luggages of course . Our Porter is on service to help you with your luggage.
The city tax is always an extra charge and it was mentioned on your booking. As an extra charge it should be paid on departure with other extras.
The credit card you’ve done on booking was only a guarantee except if you have booked a special early booking rate via a booking engine (Ex: Booking .com) where the cancellation policy is not refundable. In that case, we charge the total amount of your stay on the booking receiving date.

Your comment regarding the safe size for Laptop, We believe that action will be taken as soon as the purchase of safes will be programmed.
Regarding the Slippers and bathrobe, we apologize for the missing .You should have ask for one more to our housekeeper.
Regarding the night, for security the main door is closed at midnight. After this time there is a bell that warns the night audit of your arrival. I will get back to the night porter to see why you had to wait 15 mn for opening. We can assure you this not by any means our standards.
After our explanations, we hope that the Cambon will definitely look like a nice home in Paris .
We really hope to welcoming you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were suprised by the size of our room/bathroom. We had expected a small space, but we were happy to find our room and bathroom were a good size. They are in the process of updating the hallways with new paint, etc. Our room was nicely decorated. The front desk staff was very helpful. They helped us sign into the hotel computer to take care of our flight check in and they took care of some noisy occupants in the middle of a night after we called to complain. The location was a great location. We were able to walk to most of the sights. There are also close metro stations and bike rental out front.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambonParis, Directeur général at Hotel Cambon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

We would like to thank you for giving us your feed back about your stay.
we are glad you mainly had a good experience with us .
We are glad you had a good experience to be assisted and pampered by our reception staff.

We are glad to hear that you are sensitive to the renovation we do for the comfort and beauty of our establishment. our owner is very attentive to the quality of materials and harmony of objects choosen .

We benefit of a very exceptional location in Paris and we are very pleased to read that you really enjoy that Paris Treasure are from some walking distance from the hotel

We hope to welcome you back again .
kind regargs
I.F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed with my wife for 2 night, for a romantic birthday weekend in Paris. Well, I almost fainted when I entered the room... Very small (I suspect the advertised 20m2 to be something like a 15,5m2 round up), paintings that already needed to be refreshed a few years ago, decoration from another age...
Yes you are rue Cambon, but you feel like this hotel has aged along with its owners/managers.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms that are on the 4th floor, there seems to be some kind of "work in progr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diogoteix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Shopping around this hotel is expensive named brands or cheap tourist stuff.
Street side coffee shops and bars either very expensive or poor quality.
Access to Metro and central museums was good.
Staff were very helpful.
We would stay out at the Marais or along the yellow Metro line next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Samuel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel on Rue Cambon right of Place de Concorde. Small but very efficient rooms. Well planned with all the amenities of a large hotel but the advantage of personal attention from a professional well trained staff. Owner, Madama Simeon is a lovely person who has owned the hotel for many years. Constantly being upgraded. Gorgeous artwork throughout the hotel. Very good continental breakfast in the lobby. Room service from Flotte's Brasserie across the street. See my review of Flottes. Great restaurant.

The kind of secret hotel friends only tell friends about -- afraid it will become overcrowded and spoiled.

Street front rooms can be noisy with open windows but double pane glass muffles the noise when closed. Rooms are small but well laid out and efficient.

Front desk staff knows Paris and can offer many suggestions if you wish.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Melia Vendome - Paris
Melia Vendome - Paris
#356 of 1,809 in Paris
976 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#103 of 1,809 in Paris
716 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#639 of 1,809 in Paris
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#213 of 1,809 in Paris
818 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#452 of 1,809 in Paris
523 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambon

Address: 3 rue Cambon | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#320 Business Hotel in Paris
#393 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £139 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cambon 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel to discover or to be discovered in next to no time whose regular guests hand the address by word of mouth.An exceptional site: near the Concorde Place and the Tuileries gardens, in one of the most prestigious street of Paris: Cambon Street, the historical headquarter of Coco Chanel, but also in the heart of the city’s most elegant shopping and art district, and just next door, place Vendôme for its well-known jewelleries,Few steps from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, Opera Garnier and 10 minutes walking distance from the Galeries Lafayette flagship store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambon Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing