We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some great things, some not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #627 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This was the first hotel I have stayed in Paris. Location is excellent and the hotel lobby and public areas are really beautiful. The bedrooms are fairly plain, although from what I read, that is quite typical of Paris. Toilet plumbing wasn't the best and air con was useless, but bathroom was a nice size and room was quiet. On check-in, they made a mistake saying we booked a room without breakfast but did resolve it eventually. They did not provide wi-fi codes on check-in automatically, so ask for those if you need it. Welcome screen on TV was in German when I am English and the only English TV channel was CNN - fine if sightseeing and not spending time in room but limiting if on business alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Keznyc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, the size of our bathroom and the quietness of your room.
We sincerely apologize for not having totally matched with your expectations.
We have taken good note of all your remarks and will definitely share them with our team in order to avoid such issues in the future.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Location is grate !! but only that...
external a fantastic old building with nice public areas! that is....!!
Problems with the wi-fi (free) every day disconnected!!
Service was slow...
Rooms problems..like..5 minutebath faucet to come hot water.....
Airconditioning Panel doesn't work!
Copy machine of the Hotel "out of order"
Use of business center 7 euros per 15' minutes! but 1 hour for 13 euros..

Room Tip: rooms as small...so choose a standard at least....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrxathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear mrxathens,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, Historical building and public areas.
We sincerely apologize that you have been face to technical issues.
The Wi-fi and copy machine problems we encountered last week are now fully solved.

We have taken good note of all your remarks and will definitely share them with our Maintenance team in order to improve the quality of facilities.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.

Best Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Saint-James & Albany Hotel for a week during the heat wave. We had very little sleep as the rooms were very hot and it was very noisey if we opened the windows as we were on a side street. (May be a thought to add some airconditioners in the bedrooms!) A great location with plenty of shop all around the area. A lovely park opposite for walks. The staff very helpful with our needs. The outdoor dining was lovely and breakfasts good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank othercontributions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Hotel is located overlooking the Tuyleries and in walking distance of so many of Paris's iconic landmarks. The presentation of the Hotel was splendid. The entrance hall and other public areas were very stylish and smart. The reception staff were efficient and friendly and our room was available when we arrived early.
The room was a junior suite, on the fourth floor, on two levels to accommodate 3 people. It overlooked the courtyard and was very quiet. The beds and the sofa bed were comfortable and the bathroom was generous. It was our fifth visit to Paris and this was largest room we have ever had.
On the negative side the corridors and the carpets were a little tired and stained. We also found that the room smelled of cooking fat when we returned after a day out, but this went away when we opened the windows. The breakfast rates were pricey so we chose to eat elsewhere, as there were lots of nice restaurants in the vicinity. The lack of tea making facilities was irritating and bottled water should be provided at this price and standard of Hotel. The free WyFy continually fell out, which was very frustrating.

Even at a discounted rate, we felt that this Hotel was expensive

Room Tip: Overlooking the central courtyard was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickym830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Vicky,
Thank you for having taken the time to leave a comment about your stay at the Saint James Albany.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Paris.

However, we have taken good note of your remarks. Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us improve the quality of our service.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best Regards,

The General Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at the Saint James Albany yesterday evening for the second time. It is the fashion week in Paris so unfortunately, I couldn't go to me favourite hotel.
I stayed there already 1 year ago and I was a bit disappointed. My opinion didn't change.
The location is amazing and the building could be beautiful. But the complete hotel seems to be a "could be". My room could be very nice: big, quiet ... but old, with stains on the carpet, lights not working, no "do not disturb" sign. I asked to have an iron and an ironing table but none was available. The breakfast buffet is presented in a "cheap" way, even thought it is good.
It could be an amazing place, it is just a standard Parisian 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FredK1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

We do apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory.

Your feedback was shared with our team and we are doing our best to always improve the quality of our service.

Kind Regards,
The General Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at Saint James & Albany with a friend while she was on business trip, the standard room was over 300 Euros a night. The hotel lobby and garden area look comfortable and nice. We stayed at top floor (6th) with hotel court view. The room was a "penthouse" style, without the standard of 4 stars hotel. The room was very dark even we had all the lights on. Internet (wifi) was not working at room; hair dryer was broken; no coffee maker; no bottle water at room; bedside lamp was broken. Called the hotel to check on the broken facilities but he said the housekeeper was off (around 10pm) couln't replace a new one for us. Water was running outisde of the shower even there was a glass blind (without a door), the bathroom floor was wet after we took shower.
The best thing of thie hotel is the location. Locate right cross the street of Tuileries Metro station, walking distance to many Paris main attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigpawbasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to leave a comment about our hotel.

Please do accept our most sincere apologies for not having met your expectations.

We have taken good note of your remarks concerning your room : I will definitely share your remarks with our Engineering Team in order to avoid such issues in the future.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.
Best Regards,
The General Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We bought this on a Groupon at a very attractive price. Stayed for two nights with breakfast included.

Having arrived at 10am, we checked in our bags, went sight seeing and returned just after 3pm for our room, which was in the old part of the hotel with high ceilings overlooking the central courtyard. Bags were delivered to us A swim in the atmospheric pool and session in the steam room (could have been hotter) sett us up for the evening out.

Early morning swim followed by (inclusive and very adequate) breakfast set us up for the day. Back in the early evening for more relaxation in the spa put us in the mood for dinner and a late evening (11.30 pm) trip up the Eiffel tower.

Our flight home was late on Sunday and the staff accommodated our bags until we collected them at 6.30pm. (Used the loos in the conference area for a quick change of clothes)

Overall excellent. Don't believe some of the reviews here. The spa is geared for those buying treatments. You have a robe in our room, and towels and they expect you to use them. Nothing wrong with that ...

The only downside was that their free wireless internet went down and no one could fix it over the weekend. Buy breakfast! Yes it IS expensive, but that is Paris for you!

Metro station is 30m from the hotel :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AOC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to leave your review about your stay at the Saint James Albany hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! I invite you to have a look on our website where we have special offers!

Kind Regards,
The General Direction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
La Villa Haussmann
#62 of 1,804 in Paris
132 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Square Louvois
Hotel Square Louvois
#30 of 1,804 in Paris
226 reviews
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#406 of 1,804 in Paris
794 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in Paris
#243 Family Hotel in Paris
#351 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#604 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £138 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing