We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My Favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #575 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for the last three nights of our trip to France. It was conveniently located: near the Louvre and the subway system. I was also across the street from the Tuileries. The lobby and restaurant were gracious. The courtyard was a pleasant place to sit. The food was underwhelming. The rooms left something to be desired. They were sparse to say the least. We payed for an upgrade and were very disappointed. The view was of a pipe and a wall not a courtyard as promised.The staff was friendly but could not help with our room selection and offered nothing as an alternative. I had contacted the hotel months before we travelled and were assured that our grade of room would ensure that we would be very pleased with our accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear mhagirl,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you liked our lobby, our restaurant and our inner courtyards.
Besides, we are sorry that your room did not fully matched your expectations

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best regards

The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,881)
There are newer reviews for Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

I wish we read the reviews before booking this over priced tired old hotel. From the moment we arrived to this location things were not good... Given the busy road and no parking bay just arriving is difficult as our taxi had trouble parking somewhere. We check in, we are asked if we would like our bags sent up, this service we expect at a so called 4star hotel, an hour went by after asking twice and no bags until we got them ourselves! The room looked tired, stained carpets, old towels, curtains falling of their hooks, towel rack falling of wall and to top it of to get hot water we had to wait while water went down the drain without exaggeration at least 10 minutes.....after which hot water only lasted a few minutes., so then back to a cold shower! Not the best start to our Paris visit. I did address my great disappointment to the duty manager who said the hotel apparently experiences problems with the hot water when they are busy .. Maybe they need to put this in their brochures. You may think after reading this review we were staying in one of the cheaper rooms eg standard single in fact we we're staying in a pricey junior suite. Never again that was my fifth visit to Paris I'll go back to a past favorite the K and K cayre next visit .

Room Tip: Read trip adviser reviews first
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Tania K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about the Saint James Albany.
It is very important to us and help to improve our quality of service.

We have taken good note of your comments about your room. We inform you that we already have renovated more than 70% of our rooms and that we are carrying on the program.

We have taken all measures in order to avoid your luggage experience that should not have occurred.

We deeply apologize for the lapses you encountered during your stay and we will continue to train our staff actively.

Best regards

The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Basic things missing.....the rooms are Very poor standard...compared to the price....i travel all the world 200 night a year...I will not recommend this hotel to anyone....

Better hotels can be found i Paris at better price....I'm sure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Mads Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Mads Z,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to read that our stay did not match with your expectations.

We would be very grateful if you could contact us to give us more details about your stay (secretaire.direction@saintjamesalbany.com). This would help us to target what basic things are missing in order to improve our quality of facilities.

Best Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

From the photo on the website you expect something wonderful in the park by the louvre, but no, it is in a row of shops on the other side of a busy road to the museum.
If the room we had was a superior room i'd hate to see a standard room. There was a seperate toilet to the bathroom (often very useful) but only because both rooms were tiny and to sit on the toilet i had to sit at an angle because the sink was in the way.
Staff were very rude. Noone offered to even take our bags to the room let alone show us to it, which for the price we paid would be normal in any decent hotel in London. On returning to the hotel after the first night out i said bon soir to the receptionist who just looked at me like i shouldn't be speaking to her. I also went to the restaurant 1 afternoon to request the loan of a knife for some cheeses we had bought to eat in our room and again was looked at as if i was some sort of criminal, i was eventually given a knife but very grudgingly.
The only thing going for this hotel is the location with its close proximity to the city centre and a metro station opposite, but for this price i wished for so much more.
I HAVE STAYED IN THE SAVOY FOR THE SAME PRICE

Room Tip: go elsewhere
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank didley1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear didley1968,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We apologize for the lapses you encountered during your stay. This is definitely not the experience we intend to provide to our guest.

Be assured that our quality of service is our first priority and we will put an extra effort in training our team in order to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

Best Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This was the first hotel I have stayed in Paris. Location is excellent and the hotel lobby and public areas are really beautiful. The bedrooms are fairly plain, although from what I read, that is quite typical of Paris. Toilet plumbing wasn't the best and air con was useless, but bathroom was a nice size and room was quiet. On check-in, they made a mistake saying we booked a room without breakfast but did resolve it eventually. They did not provide wi-fi codes on check-in automatically, so ask for those if you need it. Welcome screen on TV was in German when I am English and the only English TV channel was CNN - fine if sightseeing and not spending time in room but limiting if on business alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Keznyc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, the size of our bathroom and the quietness of your room.
We sincerely apologize for not having totally matched with your expectations.
We have taken good note of all your remarks and will definitely share them with our team in order to avoid such issues in the future.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Location is grate !! but only that...
external a fantastic old building with nice public areas! that is....!!
Problems with the wi-fi (free) every day disconnected!!
Service was slow...
Rooms problems..like..5 minutebath faucet to come hot water.....
Airconditioning Panel doesn't work!
Copy machine of the Hotel "out of order"
Use of business center 7 euros per 15' minutes! but 1 hour for 13 euros..

Room Tip: rooms as small...so choose a standard at least....
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrxathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear mrxathens,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, Historical building and public areas.
We sincerely apologize that you have been face to technical issues.
The Wi-fi and copy machine problems we encountered last week are now fully solved.

We have taken good note of all your remarks and will definitely share them with our Maintenance team in order to improve the quality of facilities.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.

Best Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Saint-James & Albany Hotel for a week during the heat wave. We had very little sleep as the rooms were very hot and it was very noisey if we opened the windows as we were on a side street. (May be a thought to add some airconditioners in the bedrooms!) A great location with plenty of shop all around the area. A lovely park opposite for walks. The staff very helpful with our needs. The outdoor dining was lovely and breakfasts good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank othercontributions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#374 of 1,804 in Paris
494 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#351 of 1,804 in Paris
390 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#227 of 1,804 in Paris
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Paris
#332 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#504 Family Hotel in Paris
#605 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £150 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing