We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location, but be careful re room selection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #627 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at Saint James Albany for 3 days/nights in late April this year. We're a family of 2 x elderly mothers and a couple, so we needed a hotel that was centrally located to all the must-see things in Paris, and the Saint James Albany didn't disappoint! This hotel is in a fantastic location, so you'd definitely need to consider it when looking to stay in Paris. We arrived at the hotel after an early morning flight so - not unexpectedly - we had to wait while rooms were made available for us. However we were welcomed immediately on arrival by the charming, friendly and very professional staff - from Reception to Concierge to Doorman and bar/restaurant staff, everyone was delightful. Room selection is a bit of a labyrinth - literally! - and the cost is very expensive. We were fortunate to have booked via a large travel group (so giving us access to their bulk-buying power), so our rooms - although all very different in size, style and location - were very well-priced. Do your homework and make sure you score a room/suite on a high floor, with either views of the Tuileries or at least overlooking the courtyard. Overall, a very pleasant experience. The Wright & Dalgleish families (April 2014)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wright2heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Wright2heather,

Thank you so much for choosing the Saint James Albany for your recent visit in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in the very heart of the city and that the services of our staff exceeded your expectations.

It has been a great pleasure to share your kind words with all the team

We hope to welcome you back for a future stay.

Kind regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked a short break for my fiance's birthday in March in the Expedia sale and chose the St James as our first choice was no longer available (it would have been a little cheaper). The location could not be faulted - on the Rue de Rivoli, opposite the Tuileries Gardens and a short walk from the Louvre. Our room was lovely - huge bed, separate bathroom and lavatory (I've never had this in a hotel before) and was very quiet, being on the top floor at the back of the hotel. We had no problems sleeping. We were stunned to discover the usual price of this room was 550 Euros, a little more than I had paid for our three nights.

Unlike some of the other reviewers, we never normally stay in this kind of hotel, so to us it was unashamed luxury. We ordered the continental room service breakfast for our first morning (birthday treat) and it was lovely - and we enjoyed eating it in our fluffy hotel bathrobes!

Our rate didn't include breakfast and we thought the cost of breakfast in the hotel a little expensive, until we found out that the local cafes charge 7 Euros for a cafe au lait. This made the hotel bar breakfast seem perfectly reasonable at 12 Euros.

We found the staff courteous and helpful. If time had allowed, we would have made use of the spa, but alas, it didn't.

If we could ever afford it, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBlackWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear TheBlackWidow

It has been a pleasure to read about your impressions about your recent stay at the Saint James Albany and we thank you for taking the time to share them on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you liked your room and that your breakfast experiences at the Bar, and room service have been a success.

We are also very glad that you enjoyed staying in the very heart of Paris, two steps far from the Louvres, Orsay Museum, Opéra, St Germain des Prés, and so many other lovely places.

For your next stay do not hesitate to have a look at our website were we often propose special offers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Saint James Albany so you can enjoy our new Deep Nature Spa.

Best regards,

The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Being in Paris, we didn't spend a ton of time in the hotel, so this review doesn't include the spa, pool, or restaurant.

We booked the hotel through Priceline, choosing an express deal that guaranteed a 4 star hotel in this area of Paris. It wasn't even listed on Priceline so I had no idea this is what we'd be getting, and after reading reviews here, we were a bit wary and disappointed but the hotel didn't disappoint.

Prior to checking in, we requested that we get a renovated room and we received what I believe was a Superior room. The room was nice, with a queen bed, a flatscreen television, remodeled bathroom, and separate remodeled WC. The bathroom had an electric towel heater, the room had a safe, a sitting area, and a desk, and really high ceilings. In a way, it reminded me of the Palace hotel in San Francisco (which is considered a five-star) but a little more run-down feeling. The room could have used a new coat of paint, and it would have been great. Besides that, the bed was ok in comfort (I wasn't a fan of the pillows, but I like my soft down pillows, and these were foam), and it was clean overall. It really was a pretty good size as I was expecting a tiny room akin to NYC rooms. The rest of the hotel was pretty average. Nothing screamed luxury, but the staff was friendly and everything was clean.

The concierge was really great. Never having been to Paris, but getting recommendations from friends, he was able to book us into two restaurants for dinner before we arrived. We were able to get Louvre and Opera house tickets directly from him, and he gave very helpful advice in terms of visiting museums, and sites in the city. He was even able to call and get us a last minute reservation at Le Jules Verne in the Eiffel tower, which was a once in a lifetime experience. Excellent service and extremely friendly and helpful.

Location was great! Right next to Vendome, across from Jardin de Tuileries, a block away from the Louvre, walking distance to the Opera house, and across the street from the Metro, it really was ideal for us. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to, metro everywhere else, and have shopping right next to us! There were restaurants everywhere, and a bike share stand a minute away. I would recommend this location to anybody visiting Paris, and the number of hotels in the area prove this is the spot to be.

Overall, while it felt closer to 3.5, and not really 4 star as a hotel, the location and concierge service really made this hotel shine. I would come back and stay here again, and really enjoyed our time in Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Derek C,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room facilities and our location in the heart of Paris and walking distance from Louvre, place Vendôme, Opera Garnier, Tuileries Garden and so many fashion shops.

We will not miss to share your review with our concierge team that will be very happy of such nice compliments.

We will be delighted to welcome you again for your next stay so that you can also enjoy our new Spa Deep Nature, the pool and our restaurant.

Best regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Over the course of a week long stay here we were moved into 3 different rooms. It's hard to tell they were even in the same hotel. Our first room was just bizarre with weirdly exposed beams on the floor, partially blocking the bathroom entrance. The AC was out throughout much of the hotel and our room on the top floor was unbearable. Told the front desk and housekeeping about this and they sent 2 standing, noisy and ineffective AC units. A day later we mentioned the problem again and the woman at the front desk berated me for not telling them about the problem earlier because they would have moved us into "a much nicer room". We were still moved and into a nicer room that could have been a different hotel for the night and day difference. This one was nicely appointed and had more closet space. Beyond the convenient location, the saving grace of this hotel was Gael, the concierge, who was extraordinarily helpful. He made the stay much more pleasant by being a pleasure to work with.

Room Tip: Ask to change immediately if you are given a weird room. Nothing in the advertised classification ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkToTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Chessietravels,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and the helpfulness of our concierge Gaël. He was very happy to read your kind comment.

We regret that the first rooms you had were not convenient for you. As in most historical monument, all our rooms have a different layout.
We are delighted that we could find an appropriate room for you.

We hope to see you again when you come back to Paris.

Best regard

The Team Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I go to Paris almost every year and usually stay at one of two hotels on the left bank. Friends of ours love the St James and Albany so we thought we'd give it a try. We were there for nine nights the beginning of May and I think it's become my favorite.

When you first walk in the hotel exudes Parisian charm. The people at the reception and concierge desks were extremely helpful and our room was ready when we arrived. We went up and a bellman brought our bags. They arrived just a few minutes after we did.

Now for the room. We had a superior room. There were three closets. More closet space than I had clothes to fill them. This just doesn't happen in Europe! Our room was quite large, king size bed, seating area with a table and two chairs, desk and chair, flat screen TV and mini bar. There was a separate small toilet room (which I happen to like) and a large bathroom with stall shower, bathtub and large vanity/sink.

The only negative I have is the hot water problem, which really isn't a problem. It takes a few minutes for the water to heat up so you need to turn it on ahead of time. Also, we only had one English speaking TV station and it was Euronews. What happened to CNN and BBC? These stations were listed but didn't work. We don't watch much TV on vacation but do like to keep up with the news while relaxing after a hard day of being a tourist.

We didn't use the pool and spa but took a tour. Looks lovely. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but there is a little place two doors away (out the front door and turn right) where you can get good coffee and pastry at a reasonable price.

The location of hotel is so convenient to everything. You can walk anywhere or the metro is directly across the street.

If you want a great room, great location and lots of storage space this is the hotel for you. I'll be back next year and can't wait.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skippy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a " Junior Suite " in April. The staff were very friendly and helpful, all spoke English very well. The location is excellent , you can walk to all major attractions. The rooms are very tired and our Junior Suite consisted of an additional small narrow room with a hard love seat sofa and small chair to view a small TV. The toilet was located away from the main bath and bed area( which was a king size , hard to find in Europe) and thru this small room. Very inconvenient . The main bath was large by European standards and very well appointed, granite counter tops, double sinks , large walk in shower and soaker tub. Carpet needs replacing. If sight seeing is your focus and not luxury surroundings this hotel is great.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on the " Suites "
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murphys1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Murphys1977,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip Advisor.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our staff attitude, the bedding of room and your bathroom size.

However, we regret that you did not like the layout of your Junior Suite. As in many historical buildings, all our rooms have different layouts.

For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us directly. We are sure we will find a Junior Suite more suitable for you (reservations@saintjamesalbany.com).

Best regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel seems to have never been reformed since the French revolution or so. The ceiling are so low in the rooms that an average-sized woman can touch it with her hands. The whole room seems to be about to fall apart: main door not closing unless slammed (sorry to my neighbours), the towel-holder of the bathroom holding thanks to divine intervention, and the whole thing was not even clean: we found quite a few hair in the bathtub. Only one set of shampoo / soap for 2 people, not enough!
Finally, air conditionning was making such a noise that it was able to cover the noise coming from the street, but could definitely not allow you to sleep. I wonder how people manage it july-august....
I would not even pay 80€ for such a room, and not gave this hotel more than 2 stars. Probably no inspection has been done sine 60 years.
Apart from that, breakfast was nice, personnel was alright. The location is perfect and that's probably why they dare to charge so much!

Room Tip: I dunno if there are good rooms in this hotel. I would avoid the hotel all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Floryflory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Floryflory,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, all comments are important and help us to improve the quality of our service.

First of all, be ensured that our last inspection was in 2012 and we obtained the accreditation of our 4 stars with the European standards.

We would be very grateful if you could contact us ( secretaire.direction@saintjamesalbany.com) in order to investigate and provide detailed explanation.

We regret that your stay did not match to your expectations and we would like you to give us the opportunity to have a more enjoyable stay in the future.

Please feel free to contact us.

Best regards

The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#285 of 1,803 in Paris
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#219 of 1,803 in Paris
789 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#369 of 1,803 in Paris
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Paris
#353 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#504 Family Hotel in Paris
#605 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £144 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing