We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was turned off by reviews, but pleasantly surprised”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1,328 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Note that I booked this through Hotwire and that I paid $113 per night. Breakfast added another $16 per day so we're looking at $139 per night, taxes included.

Note also that the actual entrance of this hotel is 7 Rue de l'Echelle and that the two reviews for that address are horrid. Do not be confused, there are not two Hotel Normandy's, it is on the corner of Rus Saint-Honore and Rue de l'Echelle.

After getting my conformation from Hotwire, I looked at the reviews here. I was disappointed and concerned. After I got my conformation from the hotel itself, and now saw the Rue de l'Echelle address I was mortified.

Background on me: I fly about 300,000 miles a year and stay at hotels at least 150 nights per year. I am Hyatt Diamond, etc., and tend to stay at "better" hotels. I decided that in Paris, I wanted to stay in a local hotel and could not resist this price.

However, after the reviews we decided that we would get off the plane, drop our bags at the hotel and find another hotel. We were not going to stay in a rat infested flea trap. The prepayment to Hotwire was going to be our penalty and a lesson to be learned.

So, when we arrived at the hotel we were a bit surprised. Classic Parisian exteriior, and the interior lobby, although cold, was very pleasant. It turns out that they were working on the exterior automatic doors and the lobby was warm as toast the following 4 days.

One room was ready (it was only 9:00 am) and the very friendly staff assured us that the other room would be available by 1:00pm. We decided to check out the room.

The elevator was small, it only holds 4 people but there are two elevators. The room was larger than the typical European rooms and there was more than enough space for clothing and other items. No doubt that this hotel was on the downside of its glory days, but the room was quaint, charming and very detailed. The walls had wonderful plaster relief portraits with painted details, the locks were 19th century (but effective) and you could tell that this hotel was "a place to be" 30, 40 or 50 years ago. The bathroom was very functional, the heat worked and there was a lovely balcony door. The balcony itself was too small to sit on (and a bit scary to stand on) but it was nice to have floor to ceiling air. There was a modern flat screen TV and the phones worked. As you entered the room, the door looked a bit beaten up, and there were some cracks in the paint in the room. The rooms were also a bit haphazardly laid out, I would guess that large rooms had been converted to smaller rooms with bits and pieces going nowhere. But, overall, both rooms were as large as a typical American hotel, i.e., much larger than a typical Parisian hotel.

The lobby was nicely laid out and the bar was charming with the bartender even more so.
Breakfast was buffet style; ham, bacon, eggs (scrambled in a steam tray), fruit, yogurt, baguettes, croissants, cereal, juices, sausage, potatoes, tomatoes, etc. A very decent breakfast and not unreasonably priced at 12 Euros.

The other room that we had was a bit more modern, with a bathroom with bidet but the toilet in a separate room. Amenities were enough, nothing special but nothing missing either.

There may be some stairs, floors were in "halves", i.e., you might take the elevator to the third floor and then walk down 6 or 7 steps to get to your room.

Apparently, according to three framed pieces on the wall opposite the bar, many famous people have stayed here including Ernest Hemingway, Mark Twain, Boy George, Frederic Mitterand, Ravi Shankar, Alain Delon, The Stray Cats, Dominique Strauss-Kahn (before the famed NYC incident), Herby Hancock, Jacques Cousteau and many others.

As opposed to some other reports, I logged onto Orange WiFi (19.90 Euro for a week) and had no problem with a signal. Nor did my business partner on the other side of the hotel. And (about $30 US) is a good deal for one week, not to mention that with Orange, you can log on in other places besides the hotel.

One complaint is that, being an older hotel there were not many free outlets for charging phones, computers etc. I had to unplug one light to get some things charged.

The bottom line is that this hotel could use some fresh paint, some wall cracks repaired and other minor cosmetic work but overall it was very clean, the staff friendly and, as others have mentioned, you simply cannot beat the location. Across the street from the Louvre, and near several Metro stations and the RER (to go to the convention center (Parc de Expositions) or DeGaulle Airport) you can walk to the Seine, right back, left bank, Notre Dame, the Opera House, etc.

For the price, I would stay here again and again, This hotel is Paris. If you want sterile, and to make believe you are in Nebraska, there is a Holiday Inn not far away, If you are a married couple, this could be very romantic. If you a newlywed, you might want something a bit "less authentic" and newer.

For the record, we did not see rats, roaches, surly staff or many of the other things that people reported. This was an extremely pleasant surprise after reading the reviews.

Room Tip: The hotel is slightly triangular and some of the corner rooms have very large balconies.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prince_of_Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
There are newer reviews for Normandy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is perfect if you're looking for a nice clean real parisien style-hotel. Old and charming. The staff is helpful and nice. The breakfast is okay (I do prefer to buy my own and enjoy it down by the river, but it was to cold this time at year). I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Paris and I'm definately coming back to this. We got a penthouse room with 3 small balconies and had a nice view.... Perfect perfect perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissRedhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The Hotel was build at the end of 19 century for the ladies in the long dress and man with the long cylinder. The hotel is large. Defects are: noisy in the streets; old furniture everywhere. Merits: near Louvre, good breakfast. The French European staff are politely; the Arabian staff are not.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

It was shabby. It was dirty. It was noisy. It was extremely overpriced. The only saving grace is the location, it is extremely convenient for the Louve, etc. If you want anything other than a below par hotel experience with a convenient location, pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aoife-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

You are better off sleeping on a park bench ( and safer too) . Room next door was burgled during the night and all the valuables stolen. There are relics in The Louvre younger than the night staff and the interior was just awful; Dirty, scruffy, peeling paint everywhere. Wifi was free which was just as well as it did not work. Their website should be taken down as it is a masterclass in misrepresentation. I made a terrible mistake by booking one night please avoid the same.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

It's has a very good location and it is very close to the louvre .
The staff were nice and helpful.
No tea and coffee in the room.
The hotel is very old,but not to bad

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Ok. This is not a four stars hotel as announced, but the location is amazing. The main problem is the deception if you are expecting the comfort of a four stars hotel, specially with its price. But it is a regular hotel and, in our case, the reception was ok. This hotel is very close to the Louvre and you can walk quickly to several places of interest. From some rooms you can actually see the Louvre. There are also many places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sig1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,178 of 1,804 in Paris
420 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#884 of 1,804 in Paris
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
#342 of 1,804 in Paris
675 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,108 of 1,804 in Paris
815 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#819 of 1,804 in Paris
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Rue de l'echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#493 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £100 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing