We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1,090 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Having paid less than €400 for a five night stay for two people in August we found it was great value for money. The location was even better than expected, right near the Louvre and close by shops, bars and restaurants. The receptionist and concierge were friendly and helpful upon check-in and throughout the whole of our stay. The concierge was happy to hold onto our luggage after we checked out which helped us greatly.
The maids cleaned the room daily and we had no complaints regarding the cleanliness of the room or the hotel in general. We also had a stand alone air con unit in the room which worked perfectly.
Unfortunately we cannot comment on the bar or breakfast as we did not use these facilities.
If what you are expecting is a 4* hotel then you are likely to be dissapointed. The star ratings are not on the same scale in France as they are in the UK. The reception and entrance to the hotel is lovely. However, we did find the bedroom looked as though it needed updating. Because of the location, service and price of the hotel, we found that it was great value for money and would recommend this hotel. The only negative comment I have regarding this hotel would be the decor of the room. However this did not affect our stay at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annieandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

The hotel is less than a one star hotel. It is rated as a 4 but this is a lie. The carpets were stained, beds were dirty, extensive mold in the shower, door locks didn't work. There is no ac in the hotel and there was not a fan in our room. When we asked for a fan they said they were out of them. The hotel is on a busy street so to have the window open it is too noisy to sleep, but to have it closed unbearable. There is also no free wifi in the rooms. It is only free in common areas and then you must pay for it in your room. Be careful and don't be fooled by the pictures listed on there website. I would suggest finding another place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wilson7561681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

i would never suggest this hotel to anyone....the rooms are stuffy. no proper ventilation in the month of June.When i had read about it it my first thought was vintage is good but this is nowhere close to being vintage ..it is an example of a ruin...the paint is peeling..taps and showers are not in proper condition,smelly n dirty carpets. WiFi is available only in one corner under the stairs..
just remember before booking you are paying only for the location n nothing alse

Room Tip: find a better hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pucha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

First of all, the location was excellent! Easy walk to the metro, the louvre, many shops and restaurants. It is hard to beat. The rooms were not new by any means, but they were decent. Every room was different, but our room had a separate sitting room with a day bed. It was nice because the person I traveled with snored, so I was able to block the noise a little. We did not have a view, nor did we have access to the elevator, but it felt like we had a little parisian apartment. The staff was friendly and generous. The breakfast room was beautiful. The breakfast itself was simple but good. Is this hotel the nicest one in paris? No, but it has a certain charm that I really liked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahbella151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is hard to rate. The good: great location, fine restaurants nearby, two blocks from Louve, great staff, reasonable rate for Paris in high summer season, rooms and bath good size for Paris, very clean. The bad: not all rooms have a/c, beds are soft, paint is peeling, floors and carpets shabby. This hotel is probably average for Paris. I think if this hotel was located in New York City it would be two stars. This hotel is ok if you are on a budget, our rate was $180.00 a night. Noise level was ok. No black out drapes, bring eye shades. We had a great time in Paris.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank gregjer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Location is FANTASTIC, staff were great and helpful but otherwise the hotel needs a rescue renovation.

You are basically paying for the location which is brilliant as in the 1st arrondisement so a short stroll past cafes and shops to the Louvre (1 block from the Carrousel du Louvre shopping center near the glass pyramid), Tuileries Gardens, L'Orangerie, Musee D'Orsay and close to the Seine.

I would choose this hotel if you can get it really cheap and are basically coming back to sleep and not to enjoy the hotel ambiance.

The downstairs lobby looks good with impressive high ceilings, beautiful ornate mirrors, deco lights and an old style concierge but the hope of beauty or relaxation ends here.

The rooms are probably worse that your average backpackers with beds that I fear may have originally been there when the place opened 130 years ago or possibly the Louvre had a sale on Medieval beds and they snapped up the lot. I now understand why they slept sitting up.

The cleaner came in daily and did a great job but unfortunately short of a jack hammer and blow torch nothing was fixing the bathroom. There was peeling paint in the colour of an off mustard (yes I did not even know this colour existed until I stayed here) that combined with the warped walls and 1940’s bathroom induced a feeling of wanting to cover yourself in Dettol hand sanitizer and then launch yourself out of the window in order to escape (possibly quicker than the stairs as the elevator was not available so hauling suitcases up stairs was a great way to lose all feelings in your arms and back which actually did help when sleeping in the beds).

On my last day here they were setting up to commence painting so hopefully the bedrooms and bathrooms maybe have had a new paint job.

I noticed that a few others have complained of the Wifi problems which I did not experience and there was also free access to a PC downstairs near the restaurant which had a fast internet service.

So basically you can’t beat the location and the staff and if your stay is based on that then this is your hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacquesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The level and standard of peace requires immediate adaptation to the twenty-first century, decor, cleanliness and bathroom (probably even made ​​in the 60's) very poor, no aircondition, the entire building needs urgent repairs. Good location but generally do not recommend for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldemar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,264 of 1,805 in Paris
449 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Eugenie
Villa Eugenie
#1,070 of 1,805 in Paris
467 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Alessandra
Villa Alessandra
#956 of 1,805 in Paris
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#699 of 1,805 in Paris
549 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#440 of 1,805 in Paris
521 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,080 of 1,805 in Paris
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Rue de l'echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#471 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £74 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing