We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location not to be beaten, staff lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1,505 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location not to be beaten, staff lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was a bit worried by some of the extremely mixed reviews about this hotel, having booked through "onhotels" website. I stayed with my mum from 22-25 March in Room 506 and have to say we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, clean, had a balcony overlooking traditional Parisian roofs, toile de jouy curtains and character. Also WiFi was free and worked very well for me. Yes, the paintwork may be a bit chipped in places and the bath and shower need replacing (they've obviously started with the public areas and are working their way through), but I'd much rather have Parisian "shabby chic" and space to move around than a tiny boxroom with no personality in a modern building (I have also stayed in some of these soul-less places). The breakfast was excellent - lots of choice and gorgeous bread selection, pastries, fruit, yogurts and hot food for 12euros each. The staff were very friendly and very helpful to us, booking taxis, giving directions, always saying "bonjour". The location also cannot be beaten - step out of the door and The Louvre, fantastic shopping and restaurants are all around you. I certainly plan to visit again and return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If they have them available, ask for a room overlooking the street. I would definitely stay on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneHea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Joanne,

The all team is really glad to read your kind feedback and recognize our quality of service as many other guest.

We are very impatient to look after you on your next Paris trip.

With our best regards,

The Normandy Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    253
    212
    188
    296
See reviews for
192
339
80
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked this room through last minute.com. Got a reasonably decent price. It was for 1 night, business purposes - so really needed it for sleep, wi-fi and a shower. i stayed in room 215

Well, the wi-fi signal was poor in my room. the room smelled of urine. The shower head was wrapped around the tap on the bath. There was no shower curtain around the bath. When i spoke to housekeeping and explained that the shower head was not on te wall, he shrugged and suggested i change room. I called reception and they told me there were no other rooms and then hung up.

The service was poor. The staff were rude. I couldnt sleep in the room for the smell.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

We regret that your last stay at the Normandy did not meet your expectation in so many points.

Thanks to your comment, we were able to address few points and improved where we have fallen.

With regards,

The Normandy Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hartlepool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed at this location with the wife, and had a wonderful time, soaked up as much of the Paris atmosphere as possible.
People have slated this venue, to be honest because of its superb location to all the attractions we hardly stayed in the hotel. And when we did the staff were polite and friendly the typical French breakfast was lovely and the cognac delicious.
So thank you Hotel Normandy for your friendly welcome.
Ps if you get the time get over to the Moulin Rouge Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthfaceHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review about your recent stay at Normandy Hotel in Paris.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, your satisfaction is very important for us and your comments have benn shared with all hotel team!

We hope you enjoyed our great location and the continental breakfast served every day until 10 AM.

Sincerely,

Normandy Hotel - Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Considering this hotel is 200 m from the Ritz and maybe 500 m from the Lourve, the room rate is amazing!!
The hotel looks good especially reception, the wallpaper in our room was a bit tired, but if you've come to Paris to look at wallpaper there's something wrong with you! Bathroommwas clean and modern. Also of note the bedroom was quite spacious compared to other Parisian hotels that I've stayed in.
The breakfast is what it is and is better if you get in early!
Overall, this hotel is great, however, I'm not sure it would be young family friendly as it is surrounded by cafes, restaraunts and bars, as well as the Lourve. Little kids would be bored witless, that said, everyone else would surely agree with me...this hotel is great!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestReviewer2013Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving a review about your stay at the Normandy Hotel!

It is a real pleasure to learn you enjoyed our hotel and its good value.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,

The Normandy Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

If it is purely location then this is as good as any, but the rooms are not worth the money that is charged. Our bathroom was covered with mildew, the wall paper was peeling off the walls, just a really poorly maintained hotel. The staff are ok, but don't go out of their way to help. We booked this through Eurostar as a package, they have washed their hands of it claiming it is not their responsibility, despite advertising the Hotel and taking peoples money for it.

If you have a choice, go with the other one, not this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jon,

We are really sorry to learn that you have not been satisfied about your stay in our property.

Please note that all your remarks will be taken into account in order to avoid this kind of problem in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Normandy Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Hotel Normandy and once again the staff were great. We always find the staff helpful and the rooms comfortable. Yes they need a little work but it's position cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationsoffice, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Dave,

We thank you for sharing your comment about your last stay in our hotel with the TripAdvisor Community.

We are deeply touched by your kind comments. Knowing that you have selected two times our hotel to visit Paris is very rewarding for us. We are really happy that you had enjoyed staying with us and that you were that much at ease.

Your comment, which is our best advertising, encourages us a lot into our goal to satisfy you.

Thank you again !

Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I'm sorry to say it was the worse stay in Paris.

The welcome was cold and not friendly I use to aspect. They asked me to pay immediately without giving me the possibility to leave the luggage in the room and sit my grandmother down.

My double room was quite big but furniture and doors were damaged. Bathroom was very old with damaged walls and not functional shower. Curtains were dirty!

The fridge was empty.

The cleaning service was so late scheduled that I had to ask to make the room every time I was coming back to my room before 1 PM

My grandma's room was simply awful, old, broken. A corridor with a bed in the middle.

Heating worked like an oven!

Breakfast not very well organized but sufficient though.

Wifi was not working properly. I assume if an hotel links a wifi facility on a web page it is because the wifi is working in the whole building.

Position is great. The only positive thing of the whole stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank harryborter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#365 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#874 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,314 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#232 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#841 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: 7 rue de l Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#480 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing