We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 weeks in Paris at the Normandy Hotel was fantastique!”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1,487 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 weeks in Paris at the Normandy Hotel was fantastique!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had a really marvelous experience at the Normandy Hotel - it is located practically in front of the Museum of Decorative Arts In Paris. I stayed there for 2 weeks! The price was right and the location was wonderful. I've stayed there several times in the past and I've not had a bad experience there. This is not a new hotel but it is full of very charming and nice people - the maid service was excellent and I had a great time. I recommend this hotel for the convenience to the Opera area, all of the top museums, and Latin Quarter. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are very spacious as its in an old building and with that you get space! Space is not something you often find in inner city Paris. Overall I enjoyed my stay 100 per cent. thank you for a good trip and a great get away Hotel Normandy. Nanette Hayakawa

Room Tip: Stay for a longer period of time, as it takes a while to see everything you want to in Paris!! They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsDeParis, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed your long stay at the Normandy Hotel !

Your satisfaction is a great reward for all our team and we hope to welcoming you back as soon as possible for another " fantastique stay" !

Sincerely,

The Normandy Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    256
    217
    189
    297
See reviews for
197
341
82
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had booked this hotel because the location was very good and it was 4 stars. The stars must have been stolen from another hotel because this was not even 1 star.
I have worked 20 years in travel industry and this is one of the worst I've seen.
The only good thing is the location, it is excellent if you want to stay central. Reception and exterior look is okay but when you pass the reception the nightmare begins. The hotel is a laberint of old shabby corridors. Rooms could not possibly be refurbished since the French Revolution and the beds are so hard that you might as well slept outside on the pavement. There are so poorly soundproofed so you hear what happens several rooms away.
We are going back to Paris again at least once every year, but never to this stink again.

Room Tip: The only way to get a good room is to select another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsDeParis, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Indeed, It is ideal to visit Paris unhurriedly.

However, We are sorry to see that you did not appreciate your stay in Normandy Hotel.

Regards,

The Normandy Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

For the price and the location I paid, I cant really complain. Def an older hotel, shower situation was weird in my room, but maybe thats just Europe? Hotel had no electricity one night (as did the whole block) but due no lights/ candles I was unable to get to my room, so everyone was hanging out in the lobby. Staff was ok, front desk guy was not very helpful in helping me contact the airline to try and find my luggage. But it was close to everything and I barely spent any time in my room, so it was good enough for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilymeschelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time spent in writing a little word about your last stay with us.

As we can read, you manage to take full advantage of our location to enjoy the many Paris points of interest.

We will be glad to welcome you on your next visit in Paris.

With regards.

The Normandy Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Don’t be misled!
Rather unfriendly staff. The bag trolley, only one, was too big for the lift but no offer of help came. What we saw in the photo’s for the bedrooms looked great, nice and romantic in our style. What we got was a basic cream room, rather threadbare. It looked like it was in need of a face lift. On the whole all of the hotel needed a face lift, bedroom door looked like it was from the day the hotel was built, battered and bruised. Windows were the style we love, opening onto a Juliet balcony, but they haven’t been cleaned for years. Road noise came through the single pane of glass. Yes I know it was the centre of Paris but double glazing was needed. Oh and again another hotel where the curtains didn’t hang right always leaving a gap for daylight to come through. The chair provided had come apart my darling wife nearly fell off. The furniture was inadequate for a couple to stay there for a few days and very poor quality. Breakfast seemed expensive but walking around Paris and trying to eat for the same amount was a challenge. In effect the variety on offer was below par, but if you liked what was on offer then you got plenty.

Room Tip: Be specific to get what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanislaw Romek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsDeParis, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay in Normandy Hotel because of some difficulties encountered. We promise you that all your remarks will be taking into consideration in order to improve our service.

However, our hotel benefits of an ideal location in Paris, near to all tourist interests. It is a high quality to visit peacefully the city.

Faithfully,

The Normandy Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel in UK terms would probably make a nice feature for an episode of Hotel Inspectors or Holidays from hell. In terms of four star rating, how it can be given or keep such rating beggars belief: holes in thread-bare carpet, representing tripping hazard on edges of stairs. Peeling dingy paint everywhere. Strange holes around locks on the doors, not closing doors to the bathrooms. And bathroom strangely arranged affair over two levels with unmarked step just behind the door, likely to send you head first for the toilet. Net curtains yellow and stiff with dust. Uncomfortable cheap beds with visible metal springs underneath a sheet and a feel of having carried too much weight too many nights. Staff? Unfriendly, Unhelpful. When we asked for an exchange of a room concierge 'helpfully' suggested change a hotel.
Unless you wish to waste your money, please do not book. They have a bizzare cancellation policy, can do it in the evening and it is too late in the morning. Daylight robbery, and you are really left seeing stars, not sure if only four.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cnicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your precious comment. We are keeping good note of your feedback and will address your remark to the relevant department to improve our service quality.

All the hotel team is working hard to maintain and address each challenge that offers this hotel full of history.

I would like to invite you to contact us directly if you wish to discuss the few points where we have missed your expectation.

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations.

With Kind regards,

The Room Division Manager of the Normandy Hotel Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights. The location was excellent, right in the center next to the Louvre museum. The staff are a bit snobby, but that is normal in Paris somehow (I travel to Paris at least 10 week per year and stay at different hotels).

The bad part is the hotel/room. No functional air conditioning(staff refused to help), the room was filthy, the ceiling was brown, the carpet was full of stains, the bathroom was reasonably clean but in dire need of maintenance (tiles came of the wall).

The bed was really short (180cm) but at least it was clean.

I won't be coming back to this hotel, I hardly slept during my stay that week.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatalZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear customer,

Your feedback is very valuable to us in order to improve our quality of service.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at the Normandy did not meet your expectation and will insure to assist each point you have mention.

I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

With kind regards,

The Room Division Manager of the Normandy Hotel Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, Fife, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Slightly faded grandeur in the bedroom and bathroom, but we liked it, and it did not detract from our enjoyment. All the staff were magnificent. Breakfasts were splendid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Ian,

Many thanks for your kind comment about your stay at Normandy Hotel in Paris. Service is one of our priority and it is a pleasure to read that our team has delivered a high quality of service and we would like to thank you for mentioning it.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#355 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#866 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,269 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#327 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#849 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: 7 rue de l Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#487 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing