We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lutetia
Ranked #1,081 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1,226 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,373 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We loved staying at this historic hotel (2nd time here). Our suite was very large & quite lovely if somewhat worn. Hotel staff were very efficient and accommodating. I hear that the hotel will be closing for renovation.
Definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank denver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear denver60,

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lutetia, and thank you for your recomandation!

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    292
    132
    80
    61
See reviews for
158
363
42
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have stayed here many times over the last 15 years. The façade is noteworthy. The interior is like a museum--gorgeous. The rooms are beautiful, but slightly tired. Alas, the whole hotel will soon be closed for 3 years so it can be completely gutted. What a shame. If you are on your way to Paris, rush here before the closing.

Room Tip: Make sure you select (and pay for) a room facing the exterior--preferably toward the Eifel Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler20c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear WorldTraveler20c,

Thank you so much for your kind review. The hotel will close for renovation, but the company really wants to preserve the ambience and the charm wich have made the Hotel Lutetia what it is !

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I rarely write reviews but was so immensely disappointed (understatement) at the 'gala' new year's eve event on December 31, 2013 at Hotel Lutetia, that I am making an exception. We are not new to this hotel, we stayed for two weeks in 2010 and bought tickets for the new years event. The hotel was celebrating its 100th anniversary and the rooms were in need of renovation. As it was the 100th anniversary, the new years event was really good - even at a whopping price of 320 euros each plus heftily priced drinks. We stayed for two weeks in 2011, largely due to the location close to friends who live in Paris. New Years event was again expensive but a far cry from the year before. Our room was shabby. We rented an apartment in 2013 but wanted to entertain our friends for new years and chose Hotel Lutetia. What a fiasco. The bar staff were on strike but the hotel management did not have the decency to offer us a refund and to make other arrangements. We found out upon arrival when it was too late to make other arrangements. 320 euros each for a meal I would rate 3 out of 5 and sullen service that I would rate 1 out of five. We appreciate that a bar strike is somewhat out of the control of the hotel management but the unapologetic nature of the staff who were working was unforgivable. After dinner we went to a nearly empty lounge where the 'gala' promised to us was to occur. We were promised a dance band, hats and noise makers, and a festive welcome to the new year. We got a jazz band who did not even count down at midnight. We only knew it was midnight because we noticed some patrons had stood up to kiss. None of what was promised, and not even a glass of champagne. The attitude of this hotel and of the concorde hotel chain is inexcusable. I sent emails to both Juliette Chaize at the hotel and to concorde hotel chain management. No response. Nada. No sense of customer service. Never again and I heartily suggest that anyone reading this and considering any stay, meal, or event at Hotel Lutetia think twice. Stay far, far away from this dump and their terrible 'service'.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We would like to apologize for the unpleasant encounters you had with the work stoppage and the inconvenience caused. We already reported your various comments to the managers concerned.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I visit Paris quite often, and would normally have stayed at another hotel, but I was speaking at a conference that was held here. This hotel reminds me of the hotel in "The Shining". Creepy corridors, rooms well overdue for a facelift, creaky elevator - it just lacked photos on the walls of days gone by with Jack staring out. My room - unique for the corridor - had a hollow door that opened out and made me feel unsafe. The furnishings were old, the walls and paint in the room were chipped and scratched, and the bathroom was dingy. I ordered room service for breakfast two days in a row - both days the order was late and not correct. The second day, it was so late that I never got to eat it! The conference room was fine, but the food served was shameful considering we were on French soil. I complained to the front desk about the room service and the state of the room, but received a lukewarm acknowledgement that "not all rooms are modern". The only bright spot in this whole hotel is the concierge and bell staff - extremely helpful and responsive. I can't imagine ever staying here again - there are so many better choices in Paris.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank americantravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear americantravelgirl,

Thank you for your comments about your last stay. We are deeply sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. We took good notes of all your remarks and shared it with the different heads of departments.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our stay at the Letetia could't have been better. Recommended by a friend we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The breakfasts were excellent and the concierge staff was exceptional. If a request needed some time to schedule the next concierge on duty was handling it without any prompting. We were on the 7th floor with a view of the Eiffel Tower. The room wasn't large but it was functional. and the tremendous view made the room special. We did quite a bit of walking and the Hotels' central location on the Left bank made nearly every major landmark accessible.Many thanks to Nicolas and Jean-Marie for making our stay a most memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear MJP2014,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your last stay at the Hotel Lutetia. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed the Hotel and its location.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a lovely stay, glamorous hotel entry, large sized rooms, and view of Eiffel Tower. The buffet breakfasts as above average, and staff all friendly .This hotel breathes history and style, don't expect a Sterile Hilton experience,

Room Tip: Ask for Eiffel Tower view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyby111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Flyby111,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor this very nice feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel Lutetia. We are looking forward to welcoming you back, and wish you all the best for 2014!

Kind regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It is great to stay at a hotel that is not your typical Sheraton/Hyatt/Hilton/Radisson! Lutetia has a distinct Parisian feeling and I do hope that this quality will not disappear when the hotel will go through its major (and TBH much needed) renovation later this year!
The lobby is great if you need to work - free WiFi, no background music and easy to find a quiet spot.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheNomisFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear TheNomisFamily,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this kind review about your recent stay at the Hotel Lutetia. We wish you all the best for 2014, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#134 of 1,802 in Paris
504 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Le Placide
Le Placide
#526 of 1,802 in Paris
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#91 of 1,802 in Paris
429 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Petit Chomel
Le Petit Chomel
#260 of 1,802 in Paris
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Property: Hotel Lutetia
Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#459 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#600 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing