We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious relic of the past - soon to close”
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lutetia
Ranked #1,072 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Japan
Level Contributor
170 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Glorious relic of the past - soon to close”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Lutetia, a land-mark in Paris with a splendid location on the Left Bank is closing for three years of renovation. The management should have done so much earlier. In truth, the rooms are downright shabby. Nevertheless I had a great time. Reception staff were very friendly, housekeeping was attentive, breakfast was lovely, and the hotel's public rooms, all now heritage icons, fun to behold.

But, note to the Concorde group of hotels: you let this one run down so far that you have probably, as a chain, sustained considerable reputational damage, my own positive sentiments notwithstanding. Talk among many other guests suggested considerable puzzlement and disappointment at the degraded state of the guest floors.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook the street are best, indeed they have truly lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    292
    132
    80
    61
See reviews for
158
363
42
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
96 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Lutetia, which is a landmark in Paris, will close in April for a few years of much needed remodeling, so this review is more or less irrelevant except for those looking to stay there over the next two months. In fact, the prices are very reasonable until the hotel actually closes it's doors. The Lutetia is a historic landmark in Paris and over the years I have often come to the bar for drinks before dinner in St. Germain, which is close by. However, the rooms are really old and it is a good thing the hotel will be redone. That said, the rooms are perfectly adequate and at the current price point probably a good choice. The bathrooms were remodeled a few years ago so are fairly nice and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms are small and the carpeting is old. The TV, which is a minuscule affair, sits on top of a minibar, which is a free standing small fridge. It was necessary to climb over the desk to get to one half of the closet. However, the Lutetia is very well located - across the street from the Bon Marché and only a 10 minute walk to St. Germain-des-Prés. I would say that if you can get a 5 star for the same price - go for the 5 star hotel. But, while the rooms are a bit worn, they are comfortable enough, and it's a great opportunity to stay at this historic hotel before it closes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bagherailcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Bagherailcane,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Lutetia and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back very soon,

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The standard rooms are very small (see local hotels in Tokyo). We paid an extra €50/ night to upgrade to what I consider a normal room. Service was good, the ballroom was extremely loud. If you are there when an event takes place make sure they put you on the other side of the hotel. It is convenient to the Tube and other areas.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Gary B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the noise in the ballroom. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in better conditions.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Mew stayed a week end at this luxury and modern-day reflection of the 'Belle Epoque' and Art Deco periods hotel - the embodiment of contemporary, stylish Parisian living. The sculpted Art Deco facade and welcoming statue of Gustave Eiffel, along with pictures of artists that once lived in the hotel, are your first indications that There is something special. The room is classical and luxury as expected and so was the breakfast. It was the beat option for our anniversary and think you the staff all. We ll come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Dominique C,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay for this very special occasion. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We originally booked two superior rooms, but after our first night we upgraded to Deluxe rooms (I believe it was about €50 more per room, but well worth it) with little balconies overlooking Blvd Raspail. The 6th is my favorite arrondissement and the location of this hotel is beyond compare. One evening we were kept up til past midnight due to a very noisy wedding and the hotel was kind enough to reduce our rate that evening by 50%. The lounge is quite relaxing with a little jazz combo and delicious, but expensive drinks. The staff were all very friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. Our rooms were large and bathrooms were well appointed. New hair driers are needed though. Our bed unfortunately was two twin smushed together so it wasn't terribly romantic. The housekeeping staff largely did not speak English, but between my school-girl French and pantomime we were able to get our needs across. My teenage son kept losing his key (often twice a day) and the staff was unfailingly patient with him which was very kind. The breakfast which you can book with your room was one of the best I've ever had in a European hotel. The hotel is definitely in need of updating, but it certainly is not the horror show I keep reading about on here. The location, staff, size of room, and generous breakfast all make up for the sense of faded glamour.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Betsbeyer,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write this nice review regarding your last stay at the Hotel Lutetia. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your parisian experience with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future,

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I know Paris well having worked and lived in the 6eme in the late 80s and always said we would like to stay at the Lutetia. Had a great five days as a birthday surprise for my wife. She only ever eats oysters in Paris and those in the Brasserie were excellent. Lovely reception from Michael when we arrived and room upgrade, plus wonderful book on the history of the Lutetia from Manager Cousty The buffet breakfast was superb, so much to eat we didn't need lunch! Bar prices a little expensive although you do get live jazz. As the hotel is due to close soon for three years of refurbishment I reckoned it was now or never...and we are both so glad we came.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accringtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear accringtonian,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here in mid-November 2013 at the recommendation of a friend who has stayed here over the years for a bi-annual medical conference in Paris. Missed the drama of staff strikes and bad service I read in other reviews - thankfully! We loved the superb location - walkable to all of old Paris and its sights, except perhaps the Eiffel Tower. But the Metro is just across the street for all longer distance sightseeing. Lovely area in the 6th (St. Germaine) with close proximity to shopping, restaurants, cafes and Le Bon Marche (which, in addition to elegant showrooms, has a very convenient ticket service for advance purchase of many Parisian ventures and sights).

Hotel is a classic Art Deco building beginning to show its fading glory although the reputed refurbishing appears to be coming soon according to other reviews here. Room was large with a king bed but plain. The bathroom was good sized and modernized with a nice bath/shower combo. Clean, comfy and quiet although we had no view as we were situated on the inner courtyard - but no city noise. The breakfast buffet was delightful with a vast offering of eggs, meats, cheeses, fruits, pastries and breads with self-serve multi-functional coffee machines to top it all off. Kept us going all day on our lengthy walks all over the city. Pleasant hosting staff and a large, pretty room offering views on the outside boulevards as you enjoy your morning repast.

Hotel front staff was both cordial and helpful, and bellboys were attentive to baggage and transportation needs. Concierges pleasantly offered their traditional services and were also additionally helpful with the computers in the business area. An expensive in-house brasserie with equally expensive drinks in the bar caused us to seek out local establishments for dinner and libations - not a problem. Would stay here again after the renovations provided we can afford it then!

Room Tip: Book a room with breakfast included - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordyvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear gordyvon,

Thank you for your nice feedback following your recent stay at the Hotel Lutetia. I will be glad to share your comments with the team.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#143 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Le Placide
Le Placide
#538 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#148 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#304 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Property: Hotel Lutetia
Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#451 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#600 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing