We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special, calm haven”
Review of Louison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Louison Hotel
Ranked #192 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special, calm haven”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I have stayed in 3, 4 and 5 star hotels on three continents but we are both agreed that the Aviatic Hotel St Germain is the best one either of us can remember. We came here on a Eurostar package and could not have been made more welcome by the friendly staff who spoke excellent English, but none the less were very patient with our rusty French. Always helpful and cheery, they were a joy to deal with.

The décor is in keeping with the age of the building and is much more interesting and characterful than most of the soulless modern hotels one finds. This is a small and cosy hotel where everything combines to aid relaxation and stimulate the senses. We had a Prestige room and, whilst other reviews had mentioned how small rooms were, we were very pleasantly surprised by ours. Clean and elegantly decorated in a kind of Chinoiserie style, it had a small lobby with doors to the main room, bathroom and wardrobe off it meaning that the bedroom was not cluttered at all and, whilst not the biggest room we have ever stayed in, was more than adequate for our all too short four night stay.

The breakfasts are continental and generous in the extreme with an “eat and drink all you can” style buffet. Something to set us up well for a hard days touristing!

The position of the hotel is ideal, about five minutes walk from at least two metro stations and only about 30 metres from Boulevard de Monparnasse with all it's amenities, shops, bars and restaurants.

Any problems? Well, at first it felt strange not having tea or coffee making facilities in the room but then we discovered the coffee machine in the breakfast room which dispenses excellent freshly ground coffee of varying types. So no, no problems. A really, really special place and a calm haven in the centre of this wonderful, bustling city.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a prestige room for that bit of extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orsino87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, Responsable relations clients at Louison Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Orsino,
Thank you so very much for your enthusiastic review regarding your stay at Aviatic Hotel!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and felt the Parisian atmosphere of the hotel.

I have been delighted to share your review with our entire team who strive every day to provide guests with the highest standards.

We will be very happy to welcome you back in your “really, really special” hotel :)
Kind regards,
Philippe B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    372
    62
    15
    12
See reviews for
182
604
68
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a really great hotel. It is close to a major Metro Station. It is pretty central, the hotel staff are very helpful, the area is nice. It is just a great place to stay in Paris.

The staff speak English but allowed me to use my French, they were more than just polite they were genuinely helpful. The breakfast is great and runs from 7 till 11am! So you can have a long lay in if you need it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rookb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, Responsable relations clients at Louison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this really nice review!

You’re true, Breakfast buffet (free if booking through our Facebook page) runs from 7.00 to 11.00. We also propose another option, for all of you that prefer to stay a little bit more in their comfy beds : The Express breakfast. Smaller but made of high quality products, served in the room until… 12.00!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back !
Yours sincerely,
Philippe B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMHERHUSBAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I wanted somewhere special to take my wife for our 25th wedding anniversary. I was looking for somewhere more intimate and personal and after browsing through many many reviews for Paris hotels i contacted the Aviatic. From the start their approach was extremely personal and helpful. We arrived way before normal check in time but were instantly offered storage for our cases. However within a few minutes we were told our room was in fact now ready. Our room was on the sixth floor and yes the lift up is tiny, but hey, this is just the norm in Parisian hotels. Our room was right beside the lift shaft and i did think we would hear it constantly. Honestly, not once in four days. Our room was generous and not just by Paris standards. We had a big comfortable king sized bed, plenty of storage, a mini bar, plenty of lighting, air con and a lovely big bright modern bathroom. It even had a toilet that did not require one to reverse into to avail of. I've encountered that before today or yesterday in Paris.

Breakfast at the Aviatic is simply superb. An excellent selection of high quality meats and cheese. Fresh fruit salad that was clearly made moments before. Lots of really lovely croissants, pain au chocolate and breads. There is also plenty of sweet temptations and of course those macaroons.

The staff are faultless. Really really helpful, both before and on after arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for them. This is a truly first class hotel who's three star rating exists i'd say is awarded purely due to its lack of a restaurant and bar. They really deserve much higher. So, all in all, if you're looking for a nice special place to stay in a really good area of Paris then this is it. Look no further.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMHERHUSBAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, Responsable relations clients at Louison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Hugh,
How can we thank you for your review!

It has been nice of you to let us be in the secret and help you organize such an important stay :)

You’re true, even if some rooms might seem close to the lift, they are not noisy. All the rooms are soundproofed.

We have been really excited to welcome you. All the team send you its best wishes for the future and hope to welcome you back before the 30th !

Kind regards from all the Aviatic team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here the last 2 days of a vacation package with Great Value Vacations. The staff were very courteous and treated us well. The breakfast buffet was included with our package and it was very good. The desk staff arranged our transportation to the airport on day of departure and it went very smoothly. Would recommend to friends and will stay here again because now we know the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kansas67114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Louison Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased that the staff welcoming you received satisfied you as well as the quality of our breakfast buffet.
Thank you again for recommending us. You can tell your friends to download our App on the Appstore, it’s really helpful for someone who wants to plan a trip in Paris.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon at Aviatic hotel saint Germain. Kind regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel which is great value for the price. Our room (and all of hotel that we saw) is newly refurbished to a very high spec. Really comfy bed and great shower.

All of the staff went out of their way to help us, whether it be printing tickets, helping with directions or giving us a late check out.

I will definitely be recommending this hotel to any friends / family who are visiting Paris.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_McIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Louison Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Doug,
Thank you so much for your kind words :)
We are definitely happy that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed making you feel like home. When your friends or family will plan to come in Paris, tell them to get in touch with us, we will arrange something special.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards from all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This small hotel is situated in walking distance to the Latin Quarter and the Montparnasse train station. It was recommended to us by friends and turned out to be a very comfortable stay. The rooms are small which is typical for most Paris hotels but they are very nicely and comfortably furnished. A/C was also available in our room. The breakfast room is on the first floor and provides a good continental breakfast. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is very quiet. I can very much recommend this hotel if you want to be in a good location but a little bit off the main tourist paths. I also felt that the price was reasonable for the quality of our stay, in comparison to other hotels I have used before in central Paris.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Louison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Nadine,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review.
It’s true that our rooms might seem small in comparison with other countries, but all of them are within the Parisian standards. According to the room category (Tradition - Prestige - Executive) rooms size from 15sqm to 22sqm. Vaugirard Suite and the ATELIER103 apartment size up to 30sqm.

Thank you again for recommending us; this is the best reward for us.

Needless to say, our team and I remain at your entire disposal shall we be of help to you and we look forward to welcoming you again at Aviatic hotel Saint Germain.
Kind regards from all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Eight of us were on a British tour and added 3 days in Paris. We choose the Aviatic Hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and I booked our five rooms online a couple months before the trip. Anais at the hotel was very helpful via email prior to our visit, helping me secure shuttle service and also provided a number of options of Paris city tours. When we arrived at the hotel, I was very pleased with the accommodations. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and spoke English. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was great. The hotel is located close to four metro lines. A kind gentleman at the front desk even found an open pharmacy for me on a Sunday morning and wrote out "sore throat" and "cough" in French so I could correspond with the pharmacist. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkscmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBourgeois, Responsable relations clients at Louison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking time to write this review.
We are delighted that you had a great stay in our establishment.

We try our best to satisfy our guests, prior, during and after their stay. We are deeply happy that our team brought you entire satisfaction.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook for more news and special offers for your next stay. I read that you enjoyed our breakfast, it is offered if you book through Facebook :)
Kind regards fro mal the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#153 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#141 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#104 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#175 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louison Hotel

Property: Louison Hotel
Address: 105 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Formerly Aviatic Hotel Saint-Germain)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Paris
#148 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#337 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Louison Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Saint Germain des Pres and Montparnasse, the Hotel LOUISON is a chic hotel in the centre of Paris. With nineteenth century furniture, cherry and chestnut tones on the walls, marble floors and a courtyard garden, the Aviatic captures the spirit of the Left Bank in every detail. The hotel was constructed in 1856 to welcome the painters, sculptors and writers who would go on to put the Latin quarter at the very heart of European culture. This cultural heritage is present even in the bedrooms. Tastefully decorated, they generate a feeling of calm and a sensual ambiance. The charming, multilingual staff are always available to provide you with help and advice. They will be happy to offer local insight on art galleries, museums and the area's famous pavement cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Louison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviatic Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing