We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn`t recommend it at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Residence des Arts
Ranked #737 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn`t recommend it at all!”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I would not recommend this hotel. The price is really high, they give you nothing, there is no service at all, only one single person, that does everything (check in ant check out, she can´t do much more), the rooms are tiny, the bathroom is horrible, although it is located in the heart of the latin quarter, at night you cannot sleep for the noises outside (and I stayed a tuesday and wensday, on weekends the noise is far worse), it seems that walls and windows are made out of paper, and when you complain, she answers that you should wear ear pulgs! a hotel souldn´t be like this! I`d rather have another location and take a taxi if you want to go to the latin quarter...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank val f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    105
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
61
97
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Choosing an Hotel in Paris is not easy as there are so many to pick from, so we started by looking at the area that would suit as best and then used Tripadvisor to sort through the dozens available. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. very well positioned, good sized room by Paris standards and very well appointed. The staff were very helpful at all times and the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. There are dozens of great eating places close by and easy walking to many of the major attractions such as Notre Dame + The Louvre (which by the way is not open on a Tuesday, the only day we had free to see it!)
There is an Irish theme pub right opposite that we were a bit worried about in regard to noise but we ahd no trouble at all in fact we did not ven notice it from our room. Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanna24NSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location for seeing all the sights of Rome. 5 minutes from the Notre Dame, plenty of great restaurants close by, as well as shopping, transport. Our junior suite gave us plenty of room to relax and the pub downstairs was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliePollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed for four nights here and absolutely loved the location and the lower price point. The staff was friendly and professional (with occasional attitude, but it's almost part of the Parisian charm), and helped us in making our dinner and lunch reservations before our arrival. However, we were disappointed that they dropped the ball on our "Frenchie" reservation which is notoriously hard to book. When we asked them to make the res 6 weeks in advance, they said they were not taking reservations so far in advance and to try again a week or two before our arrival. I made the same request 3 weeks before arrival, and Frenchie was already booked for 5 weeks!

It was not an issue for us, but they share a front desk with the hotel across the street (Villa d'Estrees) so there is no doorperson in the actual hotel; your room key lets you in the front door. We didn't feel unsafe, and didn't need to see someone everyday, but just something to keep in mind.

We had a fifth floor room which had a great window and view to the narrow street. If you're sensitive to noise, though, there is an Irish pub right across the street which we could hear until 4am on the weekends, even with the window closed. We preferred to leave the window open b/c of the mildewy smell coming from the bathroom, which was in dire need of renovation (broken tiles, mildew).

There were (dirty) dishes and a cooktop in the room, randomly, and a fridge. The room was a pretty good size (we've stayed in miniscule places in Paris) with a closet.

With some bathroom renovations, this could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My girlfriends and I just got back from a girls trip to Paris where we stayed in the Residence Des Arts. We all absolutely loved this place. The location is perfect! Extremely safe, right next to the Metro, and steps away from all of the cutest clothing boutiques, Notre Dame and the Louvre. We stayed in a junior suite room that had plenty of room for 4 girls and their tons of bags. The main thing that made our stay so wonderful was the staff. The young women working the front desk were among the nicest and most helpful that I have come into contact with. I cannot say enough about how friendly they were and how willing they were to sit with us and walk us through our days in Paris. I will definitely be staying here again next time I come to Paris. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melttu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I spent with my husband and fourteen years old son, 9 nights at the fifth floor junior suite of this hotel.
At first, I was very concerned about some bad reviews on its cleanness.
Fortunately that was not the case: the hotel is very clean.
The small staff was very attentive and let us check in early. This was a bless since we arrived very early and were really tired due to a terrible Air France flight.
The room was spacious, with a huge double bed, a very comfortable sofa bed, lots of space for the luggage and clothes, a safe, flat tv a desk and a small kitchenette.
We slept incredibly well with our windows closed and AC on.
The bathroom was very spacious too and the shower was great.
At first, the WIFI was not functioning but they called a company to adjust it.
The hotel region is the best: Saint Michel. It is lively, safe and very beautiful. Few blocks from the Seine banks, metro stations, many attractions, restaurants, cafes and boutiques.
There's no doubt about returning to this same hotel in our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank htrin3_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We had been warned that accommodation in Paris was very small and travelling with a family of 4 we thought we were going to be in a shoebox but were surprised to find our room was a suite with a separate lounge, kitchenette and a very large bathroom. The hotel had a very small lift in it. We did not use any of the hotel services apart from the free WiFi. The hotel is located in a very lively part of Paris, near the Notre Dame, with lots of restaurants and shops, a supermarket and laundromat nearby. With the kitchenette we could grab food and take it back to our room, which was great as Paris is quite expensive. Although the streets below still had plenty of activity until late in the night, once the windows were close the room was very quite. Because we were located so close to the River Seine, we bought a weekly pass on the Batobus - the river taxi - which was great to get around on. A little slow but you got to see the sites of Paris from the river. The metro station was also very close.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aussies2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
#359 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#436 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
#925 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#962 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#201 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#633 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence des Arts

Property: Hotel Residence des Arts
Address: 14 rue Git le Coeur | Latin Quarter, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#344 Family Hotel in Paris
#448 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence des Arts 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the Latin Quarter, walking distance from all major monuments and benefits from a close proximity to the transportation system (RER, Metro, Bus). Our hotel, in a 15th century private residence offers suites, studios and apartments, associating the convenience of a service apartment and high quality hotel service. We are currently renovating the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residence des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing