We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the Left Bank and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Ranked #30 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location on the Left Bank and helpful staff”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent 4 nights in a Superior double over NYE 2012 into January 2013. Room rate was EUR178 per night which included breakfast.

This was our second stay at the Hotel St Paul Rive Gauche and while I still love the location, we preferred the room we had on our previous stay. Both stays were in the same room class, but for our first visit we were given a room at the front of the hotel with two tall windows overlooking Rue Monsieur le Prince. On this occasion we were given a room at the back of the hotel with a pitched roof and one tiny window looking out over roof tops.

Size wise both rooms were comparable and had a similar level of décor and furnishing but we just didn’t find this room as comfortable or enjoyable to stay in. Whacking our heads on the angled ceiling a few times (and neither one of us is very tall) didn’t endear this room to us. So the tip here is to ask for a room overlooking the front street and without an angled ceiling.

In all other ways we enjoyed our stay. As I said the location is perfect for exploring the Left Bank with many delectable patisseries and chocolate shops in the area. The Odeon Metro stop is very close by as are the Luxembourg gardens. It’s not a long walk to Notre Dame and the Musee d’Orsay is not too far away either. A couple of Metro stops or just walk and enjoy the streets.

We found the staff very helpful and accommodating. We had a split stay in Paris during this trip, with a break in the country in between. Not wanting to cart all of our luggage with us to the country, we enquired if we could leave our excess baggage with the Hotel Saint Paul for 3 days prior to our stay. The response, “of course”. We were very grateful for this.

The staff helped us out again the day we left for the airport (very early) by tracking down my husband’s mobile phone which he had accidentally left in the taxi. This involved us phoning the hotel, the day manager ringing the night manager to ascertain the taxi company they had booked for us, and then ringing the taxi company to contact their driver and track down the phone! Needless to say we were very happy to be called back 15 minutes later with the news that the taxi was returning to our drop off location with the phone. There was nothing in it for the hotel staff who helped us here – they did it because they wanted to help. Not something you would always get at a hotel chain. So thank-you staff of the Hotel St Paul!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without an angled ceiling, preferably facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SherrySparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for reviewing our hotel with many details, even though you stayed with us one year ago. :-)
Regarding the rooms, we understand that you preferred the 1st room facing the front of the building .....However, we have many returning guests who request specifically these rooms on the top floor with a view on Paris rooves. In any case, it is sad that you did not tell us as we would have offered you an alternative room .
Looking forward to meeting you again in a not too far future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    203
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
388
63
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at this delightful boutique hotel in 2011 and liked it so much that we stayed here again when we returned to Paris in June 2013. There were four in our party and we were each travelling with a bicycle. The staff couldn't do enough for us in terms of arranging our transport to and from the airport and storing our bicycles for the week. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely and the bathrooms modern; and the breakfast room at the bottom of sandstone stairs is a lovely way to start the day. For those who prefer to walk, the hotel is closely situated to the Luxembourg Gardens, Notre Dame, Seine River, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your second stay at the St Paul Rive Gauche and for your nice review.
Looking forward to meeting you again in the near future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at hotel saint paul; very clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed and good internet access. Staff were very friendly and helpful too. The location was also fantastic, a great base for first time visitors to paris. All in all great value for money!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your visit and for your nice review. :-)
Looking forward to meeting you again at the hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche ,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here for a week in November and just loved our stay! Hotel close to metro which was handy and we were also able to walk to quite a few places...luxembourg gardens, Notre Dame, hop on bus stop etc. Mini mart next door, laundry over the road, lots of restaurants, cafes etc. Great location. Quiet. We had booked a smaller room which I booked based on a good deal for that time of the year, I expected it to be tiny, but it was perfectly adequate, not huge, but not so small either! Hotel clean and tidy. Reception 24 hours was great, and staff always very friendly. Thankyou so much, we had a wonderful week, writing this makes me want to come back...right now!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebaglady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Clients,
Please do so: come back to Paris as soon as possible! :-) We are waiting for you...
Thank you very much for your time to review the Hotel St Paul Rive Gauche.
The grocery store next door and the laundry-mat accross the street are very convenient, indeed. We are lucky to have so many nice places in the neighborhood.
We wish you a Merry Christmas and we hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This hotel was great for close proximity to Notre Dame and public transportation access. The room was basic, but was clean and a decent size for Paris. The bathroom looked recently updated and had a nice sized shower. The front desk was friendly and accommodating, providing us with city maps and good restaurant suggestions. If you are looking for a place to store your stuff and get a good night's rest, then I'd highly recommend this hotel. For the price, it is a good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your recent visit and for your positive review.
Our bathrooms have been renovated 2 years ago, indeed.
As for the price, you benefited from a special offer which is not valid throughout the year. However, we still have good deals on our official website that you will not find anywhere else. :-)
Wishing you a Merry Christmas, we look forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This would be a great choice for a Paris visit. My wife and I just stayed there for five nights, after which she left Paris and I moved to another hotel (Lutecia) where I had a conference. So after five days you get to know a hotel pretty well. It is convenient, just north of the Luxembourg Gardens on a fairly quiet street. So you are almost in the Latin Quarter and classically at the south end of the 6th arrondissement (St. Germaine-de-Pres). We most frequently used the Odeon metro stop which is about a 4-5 minute walk. (This is perfect. We have stayed in Paris on numerous occasions and I don't advise you choose a hotel right on top of a metro stop unless you want an underground rumble every 2-3 minutes.) The staff is very nice, professional, and accommodating and although I speak French reasonably well they are completely comfortable. Our room was #1 on the main floor. It was an interior room on a small courtyard. The room was small but larger than some I have seen and the bathroom was nice. One unusual and somewhat funny feature, while in bed I went to switch off the lights and hit a second switch and suddenly the ceiling was ablaze with small white lights. We joked that we were in the honeymoon suite. By the way, you can have breakfast on the lower level which almost has a wine cellar feel about it. We chose to do so three of the days. It is about 13 euros per person which at the current exchange rate is about $18 so if you only want a coffee and a croissant you might choose to go out. However, it is nice to have this as an option. Bottom line I would highly recommend this hotel, particularly for couples. If you are a Woody Allen fan, the restaurant Polidor where Owen Wilson meets Hemingway is almost next door - literally 15 steps away. And there is also an excellent couscous restaurant across the street and a half block down - le Mechoui de Prince. I ate there in 1978 and it is still great. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Can't speak to other rooms but we liked #1 on the ground floor (r-d-c).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoomerBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Clients,
Thank you very much for your detailed review that will be very helpful for the Trip Advisor community.
The room that you stayed in is very often requested by honeymooners, you are right!
Regarding our breakfast, we offer either a buffet at 13 EUR/person or an Express breakfast in the room for 7 EUR/person with 1 hot drink, croissants and bread, jam, butter + 1 orange juice. We understand that some of our guests do not need the plain breakfast.
I am glad to read about the "Mechoui du Prince" as a good couscous place. It changed management a few years ago and I did not try it since then.
Wishing you a Merry Christmas , we look forward to meeting you again in a not too far future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

If you want an excellent hotel, in a brilliant location, then look no further than Hotel saint Paul. We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very pleasurable stay. Our room was very, very clean and well equipped and perfect for us. The hotel is in an excellent location near to great bars and restaurants and the metro but very quiet at night. Very helpful staff. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your great review.
Good location, cleanliness, friendly staff...You said it all !
We wish you Happy Holidays and look forward to meeting you again.
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#108 of 1,801 in Paris
378 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#40 of 1,801 in Paris
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#103 of 1,801 in Paris
1,081 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#110 of 1,801 in Paris
1,627 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#16 of 1,801 in Paris
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Property: Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Address: 43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#76 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#190 Family Hotel in Paris
#490 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche belongs to a Franco-British family, hoteliers for 4 generations, who have made the hotel a marriage of French elegance and English comfort. Situated on the line of Paris' former outer wall under Philippe Auguste, this 17th century building was once the home of Franciscan monks. The 31 bedrooms are colourful and range in style from the modern - vibrant flowered fabrics - to the traditional - exposed beams and elegant opaque curtains. There are beamed ceilings, faux ostrich bed-heads, clever corner armoires, even two baldaquin beds beneath the high ceilings of the lower floors. Entirely renovated in 2015, this boutique-hotel is close to everything, in the heart of the action, but in a quiet little street. The Luxembourg gardens vicinity and the so many walking distance sites like the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame cathedral, the Pantheon, Cluny museum and the Louvre, make the Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche a convenient pied-à-terre for enjoying the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing