We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, charming hotel, but room 21 was too cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Ranked #30 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

lived in this part of Paris when I studied at SciencesPo, and we had stayed at this hotel in 2007, so we were looking forward to returning. The hotel is as charming as ever, and the reception team are kind and knowledgeable, but we found the Standard Room we were given (#21) to be very cramped: it should be a single room rather than a double as you need to squeeze past each other. It's an old hotel, but we have plenty of these in Europe, and this falls short of standard. Would I stay again? Yes, probably. But not in room 21!

There was just one small surface area, so no space for your book/passport/mobile phone/iPad/junk and no drawers so difficult to unpack. The bathroom was clean but again tiny with one small narrow shelf over the toilet for your toiletries and not enough rail space to hang towels to dry, so ours were constantly damp until we learned to ask for new ones every day. Lovely shower, but again no shelf for soap, shampoo etc, so you have to leave them on the floor or open the shower door and reach for them by the sink.

The other thing that I didn't like was that although it was on the second floor, there was a passage way across the courtyard, so passersby would suddenly appear at eye level, walking directly towards the room, and could peer in. It would have been nice if there was a net curtain for privacy, but there was only the blackout curtain, and no-one wants to close this in the middle of a sunny day! The bed was on rollers so when you sat up and leaned back, it slowly rolled away from the headboard!

I was disappointed that the room did not contain a safe, but the reception staff offered me the use of theirs. Finally, there was a strange smell in the room: nothing strong or offensive, just a faint fustiness.

If anyone had asked us what we thought of our room, I would have told them, but no-one did. I mentioned a couple of times to the reception team that I found the room to be a little cramped, but they did not offer to explore this further. We thought about saying complaining, but decided that with this attitude we would probably be met with defensiveness, which would cause tension, and we decided that we did not have the appetite for this and that we did could put up with the room as we were in a lovely location, and we did not intend to spend much time in it.

The manager finally asked us when we were checking out whether we had enjoyed our stay. I told her that we had, but that we had been a little disappointed with the room for the above reasons. She offered to upgrade us on our next visit, and expressed disappointment that we had not raised these matters at the start. In fairness, she is right.

Room Tip: Avoid room 21, and think twice before booking standard. Rooms at the back are quieter but get full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shellduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Madam,
We thank you for your recent visit. Again, it is sad that you did not express your disappointment upon arrival. We would have offered either an alternative standard room or a larger one for a small extra fee. Nevertheless, when you had made your reservation online, the choice of either standard, classic or superior rooms was available and you have chosen the "small standard" double room which is the smallest type of room we have, but not as small as most standard rooms or even Deluxe rooms in 3 or 4 star hotels nearby :-)
Our 6 "small standard rooms" are the least expensive rooms and they offer travelers who do not wish to pay a bit more for "classic" or "superior double rooms", a chance to stay in a very central 3 star hotel with 92% of recommendation, as per TripAdvisor Community.
Room # 21 has been renovated just before you came. We understand that the smell of the new mock leather may have disturbed you. We apologize. Again, we would have been pleased to offer another room if you had asked so.
These days, we are changing all the safety boxes and mini-bars and we will also add tea /coffee facilities. The wrong size of safety box had arrived and we could not place it right away. Sorry...
We will consider every of your suggestions and we thank you for your participation.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Saint Paul is a lovely boutique hotel in a very convenient location. Just minutes walk from the Luxembourg RER station that comes straight in from CDG Airport - no need to transfer. An easy walk to Odeon, Cluny & St Michel Metro and a short stroll from both the St Germain de Pres restaurant district (north) and the Jardin du Luxembourg (south). The hotel offered the best pricing direct and were wonderful to deal with. I didn't try the breakfast - why would you with a café on every corner and the opportunity to watch the world go by, but it would no doubt be convenient with children. The rooms seem very sound proof and are well appointed. The shower was excellent with very good water pressure. Lots of neighbourhood restaurants, a 'corner store' next door selling wine, food and convenience items, a Laundromat across the street and a boulangerie on the next block. Parfait! I found the hotel to be the ideal home away from home and will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Slightly smaller (& cheaper) rooms are available and suit solo travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Client,
Thank you for taking the time to review the St Paul Rive Gauche with so many details.
We are sure that your experience will be very helpful for other travelers.
Looking forward to seeing you again in your " home away from home",
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a charming and predictable boutique hotel. We love it here so much, that after a visit 10 years ago we came back with our children and stayed in the "family room." The reception employees were always friendly and thankfully happy to speak English to us. We enjoy the location close to Luxembourg gardens and the St. Germain area, not to mention some nice neighborhood restaurants and history-related attractions. We received excellent service and our room was clean. I do wish the room had a smoke detector, I think that is important. We will stay here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKSreview S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Clients,

We thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel St Paul Rive Gauche for your repeat visit, this time with your family. We are very happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the smoke detectors, we have 31 in the hotel, (as many detectors as rooms), but they have been installed outside the rooms, in the corridors, breakfast room, kitchen, lobby... Our hotel is perfectly safe and it has been inspected many times by the authorities, you can trust !

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What a perfect choice for out Paris vacation! The staff was welcoming and VERY helpful-- special thanks to Olivier, Stephanie, and EVERYONE ELSE! The room was cozy and comfortable: not big, but very well taken care of. The convenience of breakfast every day (somewhat more substantial than the usual "continental breakfast") made it worth it. The 500-year-old building, perfectly updated, was charming indeed. It is perfectly located in the 6th, within walking distance to so much, in a lovely, safe neighborhood with excellent restaurants and bookstores, etc. We will definitely return to the Hotel St. Paul!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Client,
We thank you very much for your enthusiasm for the Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche and we are all very flattered to read your compliments. :-)
Olivier, Stéphanie and myself look forward to meeting you again in the near future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We didnt actually book to stay here, rather we were sent here by the Hotel Fontaines Du Luxembourg (just round the corner) because they had overbooked and bumped us (I'll let you make your own judgement on that - but I persoanlly will never book a room there again).

Anyway, to the St. Paul... having been led to this place in some trepidation of what we where about to see, I was more than pleasantly surprised by the warm friendly welcome, and an upgrade to a deluxe room. The hotel itself is on a mainly quiet road (for Paris!) with plenty of good restaurants around (proper 'neighbourhood' places, not touristy rubbish).
The staff here could not have been more helpful or friendly - we loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrappaInTheRealWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Clients,
We are gratified to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though the Hotel St Paul Rive Gauche was not your first choice ;-)
We feel very fortunate to have several good restaurants close to the hotel. Tourist' s life is exhausting and after a long day of touring, it is comfortable not to have to walk long distances to enjoy a good meal, isn't it?
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My second home! Consistent & excellent service, directions, recommendations & for practicing French! I've witnessed staff assisting guests with genuine concern. Considered other hotels but continue to return. A safe neighborhood within walking distance to many attractions. Next trip? No stress, it's Hotel Saint Paul!

Room Tip: Stayed at this hotel 4 times. Overall, the hotel is quiet & very clean. I prefer the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dreamscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Client,
We are honored to know that the Hotel St Paul Rive Gauche is your second house. :-) we'll be waiting for you to come back to your Parisian Home, then!
Thank you so much for being our loyal guest.
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We very much liked the location of this hotel which is strolling distance from excellent cafes, restaurants, galleries and shops selling high quality products. Unfortunately Paris hotels often have very small rooms and our “superior” room and tiny bathroom were no exception. The room was sparsely and poorly furnished. We had no bedside tables. I wonder where one is supposed to put an alarm clock, glass of water, telephone, spectacles, book etc. Under the bed? The bed was clean and comfortable. The room was adequately clean. The description “superior” has its own greatly exaggerated meaning in Paris. Well below average would be my well travelled “western world” classification. That said the hotel was efficient and friendly with a small but pleasant lobby reception area. We didn’t book breakfast in view of the many places nearby to eat. Overall the location is the best feature. The hotel itself is quite unmemorable and I wouldn’t be in a hurry to stay again or enthusiastically recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask about the room and bathroom size and book the largest room, with some furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Client,
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience with other travelers. It is sad that you did not like the rooms. Even though it is a feeble consolation, the "Early Booking rate" that you had selected in our official website included a 48% discount on March. Obviously, even for half price, we would have preferred you to be plainly satisfied with your stay.
We rarely receive complaint about the size of those rooms, possibly because our guests are aware that the hotel dates from the 17th century.. On the contrary, they often report that superior rooms here are larger than others in the Latin Quarter.
Regarding the bedside tables (missing in only 4 rooms) please be informed that the hotel will offer 31 newly- decorated rooms by the end of 2014 (i.e. all our rooms) and that we have listened to our customers about what their requirements are. Hopefully you will come and visit us again in the future...
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#3 of 1,803 in Paris
434 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#122 of 1,803 in Paris
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#19 of 1,803 in Paris
411 reviews
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#49 of 1,803 in Paris
291 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#99 of 1,803 in Paris
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Address: 43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#76 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#190 Family Hotel in Paris
#490 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £135 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche belongs to a Franco-British family, hoteliers for 4 generations, who have made the hotel a marriage of French elegance and English comfort. Situated on the line of Paris' former outer wall under Philippe Auguste, this 17th century building was once the home of Franciscan monks. The 31 bedrooms are colourful and range in style from the modern - vibrant flowered fabrics - to the traditional - exposed beams and elegant opaque curtains. There are beamed ceilings, faux ostrich bed-heads, clever corner armoires, even two baldaquin beds beneath the high ceilings of the lower floors. Entirely renovated in 2015, this boutique-hotel is close to everything, in the heart of the action, but in a quiet little street. The Luxembourg gardens vicinity and the so many walking distance sites like the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame cathedral, the Pantheon, Cluny museum and the Louvre, make the Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche a convenient pied-à-terre for enjoying the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing