We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here, the service and the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Ranked #31 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here, the service and the location!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our first visit to Paris, and we chose Hotel Saint Paul due to the location and strong reviews. Our experience lived up to our hopes. It is a lovely hotel full of French charm; the bed was wonderful, there was a nice shower and bath, and the hotel is immaculate. We took the Superior Double room, which had plenty of space. The location was great, and we were surprised by how many places we could walk to, including the Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, Luxembourg, Gardens. The staff was very kind, and helpful and we had no difficulty at all due to our lack of French. We enjoyed the hotel breakfast a couple of mornings, and found nearby cafes to eat breakfast the other days (particularly enjoyed Le Danton for breakfast down the street). Due to the weight of our bags, we decided not to take public transport to CDG airport at the end of our trip, and they arranged for a shuttle which worked perfectly. If we're lucky enough to make it back to Paris, we would definitely stay at Hotel Saint Paul again! Thank you for helping to make this a wonderful birthday trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We know your time is valuable and thank you for taking some of that time to write us a review. We are happy to hear that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay.
We are glad to read that all went perfectly with the shuttle as well.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in Paris,
Kindest regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    203
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
388
63
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed here in April on my own and then came back in August, this time with my 18 year-old daughter.
We had a characterful and charming room on the top floor with sloped ceilings, which my daughter loved and so of course, if she was happy then so was I!
We both enjoyed the stay here and the staff were again helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the shower was fab with lovely L'Occitane toiletries.
I hope to make a trip to Paris an annual event and would definitely stay here again next time.
The location is excellent with many attractions within walking distance.

Room Tip: We liked Room 52. There was some street noise but not intrusive- I am a light sleeper and I slept we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your loyalty and we hope that there will be a 3rd, a 4th and a 5th stay at the St Paul Rive Gauche! Should you like that room, you may request it for next time.
Thank you for taking some of your time to write a review.
We look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you and your daughter again!
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in this lovely hotel for a week in July 2014. We couldn't fault it. It's location is excellent just 5 minutes walk from the Luxembourg Gardens and only 10 minutes walk from the nearby RER B Luxembourg Station - the RER B will being you to Charles de Gaulle airport.

We found it an extremely quiet hotel, in fact I've never slept so well while away. The bed was very comfortable and the bed clothes pure cotton and clean. The hotel is charming and with character. The rooms while not huge are perfectly adeqaute, with a good sized wardrobe and a spacious bathroom with lovely l'occitane shower gel/soaps etc. The hotel was very clean and the rooms very well maintained and cleaned. The breakfast was very good and again everything was clean and well presented and I liked a lot the "chocolate chaud" :).

All the various members of staff we had dealings with were friendly, polite and professional. My husband was unfortunate to have had a severe toothache while staying in Paris and the lady at reception was extremely helpful (and sympathetic) in calling a dentist for us and enquiring how he was feeling the next day.

We couldn't recommend the hotel more highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guests,
We thank you very much for your stay and for your positive review. Cleanliness is extremely important when travelling, as well as quietness and smiling receptionists who can assist you for anything, even when you need a dentist.
Again, thank you for your high recommendation!
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Charming hotel in the St.Germain area of Paris....staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was of a good size for a Parisian hotel, spotless and well equipped with a reasonably priced minibar, tv and great shower!

All of the attractions were a short walk away and there are loads of restaurants on the doorstep.

The hotel was also easily accessed by train/metro from Charles De Gauille airport.

This was a surprise trip to celebrate my anniversary and I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Some rooms at the front are larger (i.e. 45) but the back ones were lovely and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guests,
It is gratifying to know that the St Paul Rive Gauche has been the perfect hotel to celebrate your anniversary . Stephanie, Olivier and all the staff of the hotel look forward to welcoming you again in Paris.
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and were so pleased with the hotel. The structure, built in the 1500's to 1600's, has been beautifully remodeled and updated, yet maintains it's old-world charm. The bathroom was exceptionally large and well appointed for a big city hotel. Breakfast is served in a "cellar" that reeks of mystery and old-world charm. The breakfast food and service are excellent, as is the service in the hotel. The location is so convenient to the Seine, Luxembourg Gardens, Notre Dame, and many other wonderful sights. There are many wonderful cafes and shops in the neighborhood. I definitely recommend this hotel for your Paris stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit small, so you may want to upgrade to a larger room. However, we were quite happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guests,
We are delighted to know that the hotel matched with your expectations and that you definitely recommend it to your friends and to the Trip Advisor community.
Actually, the building has been built in 1699 and all beams and stones are authentic just like the well in the breakfast room. Not as old as you thought, but old enough to fascinate our customers and ourselves. :-)
We look forward to welcoming you again in Paris.
Kindest regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My daughter and I spent a lovely week at the charming Hotel Saint Paul for her high school graduation trip to Paris. From start to finish, this hotel exceeded all of our expectations. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful, especially when my daughter became ill. They found us a nearby English speaking doctor and booked an appointment for her to be seen immediately. They even heated up the chicken soup I bought for her at the market down the street. Our room was spotless, very "French," quiet and quite spacious by Paris standards. The beds were super comfy and the bathroom was sparkling clean. The shower was fantastic and there were lovely soaps, shampoos and lotions replenished every day. The restaurants on our street were fabulous and we could easily walk to Luxembourg Garden, Notre Dame, Saint Sulpice, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, all the shops and restaurants of Saint Germain and Saint Michel. If you've seen "Midnight in Paris," some scenes were shot in the Polidor restaurant in the same block and also in the laundromat across the street. I literally felt like we struck a goldmine finding this gem of a hotel. It was absolutely perfect for us and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want twin beds, room #33 was fantastic - very quaint with carved wooden headboards, exposed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaralovesparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your visit and for your nice review about our hotel.
It was natural for us to assist you when your daughter needed a doctor. We understand that being in a foreign country may be difficult if noone is here to help...
Should you ever recommend our hotel to friends, please ask them to mention your name. :-)
We will be happy to welcome them as well.
We look forward to meeting you again in Paris and we wish you all the best,
Warm regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel each year for the past 5 years. Why do we keep returning? Because it is a lovely hotel, nicely located in a quiet neighborhood between the boutiques/cafés and activities of the St. Germaine and the Sorbonne/St. Michel areas, near the Metro/RER, and close to the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens. However, what really makes the hotel special is the staff -- particularly Stephanie and the young gentleman who are at the reception desk. They are so very helpful and kind... and, during our last stay, they even upgraded us to the beautiful room we had during our first visit five years ago! We are planning to return next year! [We do miss the Hotel cat, Sputnik. The current goldfish just do not fill his place :) ]

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LPBinVTandAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guests,
It is really comforting to read your review. Nothing better than repeat guests to describe our hotel.
We understand that the yellow and red fishes cannot replace Skype the cat. Actually, they were here only for vacations. Now they got back to our General Manager's home :-)
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#41 of 1,800 in Paris
555 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#109 of 1,800 in Paris
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#104 of 1,800 in Paris
1,081 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#16 of 1,800 in Paris
306 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#85 of 1,800 in Paris
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Property: Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Address: 43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#76 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#190 Family Hotel in Paris
#490 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche belongs to a Franco-British family, hoteliers for 4 generations, who have made the hotel a marriage of French elegance and English comfort. Situated on the line of Paris' former outer wall under Philippe Auguste, this 17th century building was once the home of Franciscan monks. The 31 bedrooms are colourful and range in style from the modern - vibrant flowered fabrics - to the traditional - exposed beams and elegant opaque curtains. There are beamed ceilings, faux ostrich bed-heads, clever corner armoires, even two baldaquin beds beneath the high ceilings of the lower floors. Entirely renovated in 2015, this boutique-hotel is close to everything, in the heart of the action, but in a quiet little street. The Luxembourg gardens vicinity and the so many walking distance sites like the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame cathedral, the Pantheon, Cluny museum and the Louvre, make the Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche a convenient pied-à-terre for enjoying the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing