We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-star hotel. Hip area with bars. 1 minute walk to Metro.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Ranked #570 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Overall I would say this is a 3-star hotel not a 4-star but very adequate for a weekend trip to Paris.

The area has several small bars and restaurants that were perfect for drinks before and after a night on the town. Directly across from the hotel is a bar with cheap drinks and a live DJ spinning original tunes to 20-something students.
The room itself was obviously a "smoking" room and we were not given a choice in advance.
The furniture was a little worn.
We were suprised to see an almost complete kitchen in our room: fridge, micro, hotplate. Almost like this was a converted studio apartment.
The metro/Velib is very close.
The reception desk was very helpful.
Never ate at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moody751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

I note with satisfaction that you find us adequate for a week end in Paris.
I am sorry the wetbar in your room gave you a wrong impression about the hotel's level even this is becoming a must in exclusive hotels; most of our guests sees it as an added value to their stay.
Thank you for your comments,
Rony Timsit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Bedbegs, loud bar across the street, the tiniest rooms in Paris, no amenities, charged for wi fi, far away from main attractions.Only good point, 50 feet from Metro station, and not even a main line.
Way overpriced. I am used to small rooms in Europe, but you couldn't swing a cat in there. Small fridge completely frozen block of ice, so you couldn't close. safe didn't work , boy, that was fun carrying all of our money and valuables around and trying to be creative trying to hide jewelry , train tickets and iPad. Curtains wouldn't close all the way. Nice but unaccomodating staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EATSLEEPJETSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We expected more from this hotel after having read some good reviews and was impressed by the website but we were disappointed by the standard and size of the junior suites. The location is great if you fancy the Marais area and there is a Metro statiion close by. The lobby of the hotel and the public areas in general are modern and attractive, and the staff at front desk were friendly and professional. However, we had to ask to be moved to another larger room as the first junior suite we were given was small (smaller than the size of an average double room), had very dated furniture and faced the street which meant it was noisy at night. The second junior suite we were given was a little larger and the furniture was nicer but it looked nothing like the rooms shown in the website. The bathrooms are very small and the shower curtain was mouldy and stank! The staff were genuinely very helpful throughout our stay and we cannot really fault them but we'll probably be choosing another hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street will be noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miya'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesJardinsduMarais, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

I am sorry that the first room was under your expectation but I am happy that our front desk knew how to satisfy you and the end.
Thank you for your comments about our service and our great location.
I hope you will let us a new chance and that you will contact us at info@homeplazza.com to arrange your next stay above your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Went for a few days just before Christmas. Whilst there the staff were really friendly and helpful and the room was in a great location. When I received my credit card bill in January I saw that I had been billed 30 euros and then had 21 refunded. As we hadn't used anything from the mini bar or any other service in the hotel, I was dumbfounded as to why they had debited my card at all, let alone partially refunded it. I emailed the hotel (in French) but have never heard back, so I've never found out what I was charged 7 euros for.

Room Tip: Specify if you want a non-smoking room as not all of them are.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelsBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesJardinsduMarais, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience and would like to be sure this issue will be solved and you will be reimboursed if the payment is inadequate. Please contact me ( Rony Timsit-General Manager) at info@homeplazza.com
I would like to thank you for your nice comment about our employees attitude.
Rony Timsit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Th hotel is located in a quiet spot in Paris but next to the essential matro and with every shop and facility next to it. The rooms are situated in the rear courtyard and are of a good standard for Paris which is genrally poor value for money on the internatonal scale.

The restaurant is run as a seperate buisiness and does it show!!! It has been through a sucession of owners and the meats are cheap cuts and taste like freezer food. One of our sauces was sour and the dessert had several hairs in it. We left quicly and luckily there is a superb bistro 20 yards away!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank qua_e_la
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here as a family for 2 nights with 2 young children (5 & 3), using it as a base to explore the sights. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but rather popped over to the boulangerie for crossants and pain au chocolat for breakfast.

The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly - they meet you with a smile and are very helpful. On arrival, we didn't get the room we were expecting, and Claire on reception was very good in dealing with our complaint, even going to speak to the manager in person to ensure we got what we expected.

The location not ideal, but still very accessible by the metro and within 10-15 minutes walking distance of place des voges and centre Pompidou. We had a suite with a separate space for the kids (sofa bed and a cot were prepared for our arrival). The room overlooked the central courtyard and was very quiet. The only negative was that the A/c didn't work and we had to open the window to cool the room down, and the shower taps were very difficult to control.

There are a few cafe's close by along with 3 or 4 supermarkets and the locality seemed relatively safe. As for value for money, it's a bit expensive, but that's what you expect in Paris.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter. check that the room is what you booked on arrival.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisC965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#453 of 1,804 in Paris
755 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Le Patio Saint Antoine
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#244 of 1,804 in Paris
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#144 of 1,804 in Paris
845 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#69 of 1,804 in Paris
219 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#388 of 1,804 in Paris
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Jardins du Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Address: 74 rue Amelot, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Home Plazza Bastille)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#329 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#470 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £114 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Jardins du Marais 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Le Marais, historical and trendy district, near Place des Vosges and Bastille Opera, Les Jardins du Marais present 263 elegant rooms and suites and a beautiful private garden terrace. A real oasis of charm and tranquility in the heart of Paris. A free dedicated smartphone is available in each room, allowing to enjoy unlimited local and international calls, mobile internet, and an indispensable city guide of Paris. The restaurant and its beautiful terrace offer a French inspired contemporary cuisine. With its 10800 sqft of conference facilities, the hotel, with its five modular room located around the private gardens and a glass canopy, can accomodate up to 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins du Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Marais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing