We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but confusing layout!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Ranked #618 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Unidentified
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good value but confusing layout!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Lovely place, huge in fact. We were assigned to a building tucked all the way across from the reception building. It's a collection of buildings -- at least four or five from what we could tell, all surrounding a courtyard. We had to walk through a conference facility to get to our building/room, but the room itself was great. Spacious for two, good bathroom although very tiny, a kitchenette, flat screen tv, and a little balcony.

There was free wi-fi. Breakfast buffet was included (and interesting to note all the Chinese offerings although we didn't see many Chinese tourists).

The location is not quite Le Marais, but it's close enough and the surrounding neighbourhood has some great local bars, restaurants, etc. completely not tourist-y.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    583
    261
    144
    84
See reviews for
241
602
56
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times, twice as a weekend stay over from business trips and once on vacation. For me alone, the hotel was decent, serviceable, well priced but not exceptional. I like the neighborhood -- the Marais -- off the usual beaten path of left bank and Place de la Concorde and La Madeleine area hotels, where I would normally stay.

Rooms are oddly shaped and typically small, but decently outfitted. I like the quiet of the courtyard and the local restaurants and shops.

It was only when on vacation when my wife and daughters joined (in an additional room), that the weaknesses of the hotel began to be pointed out. My wife especially struggled with the slow or lacking service, especially when it came to extra towels and hangers, or other simple requests. Interactions at the front desk could be efficient and friendly one time, and bumbling another, to the point where requests were forgotten. Mind you that we're not very needy; we don't make many requests, only those to get set up properly for a week's stay.

Would I return? Probably, since the prices at the time for a decent hotel, such as this, were compelling, and again, I like the neighborhood and don't mind walking to Le Palais Royale, Jardins de Rivoli, les Tuileries, etc. from there...or to Musee D'Orsay.

If you want to be in the middle of it all, this isn't the location for you. If you're used to the finer business, tourist hotels, this may not be it either.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiGama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I'd have to start this off by noting that we were somehow upgraded to the 'family suite' so we had a two bedroom, two bath + living area for just two people for 3 days in paris, so that was fun. Beyond that the hotel is an interesting mix it seems of various buildings that have been melded together for the hotel, joined by a central courtyard where we had a few nice drinks. The lobby is modern and cool, and the included breakfast buffet is nice with everything you could want or need.

Our room was very large as noted above, the bed was very comfortable and everything was very nice, though it doesn't have as much super sleek/modern elements as the lobby, but still, quite nice.

The concierge were very helpful, making reservations for us, helping us with directions and where to go. And at night, they don't make the sliding doors automatic, you have to be buzzed in by the concierge, so also safe.

Location is fantastic, right in the marais but on a side street so quiet. Soooo many cafes, restaurants and shops all around and literally one block from a metro station and just a quick 10 min or so walk to Bastille.

We booked with points, so can't comment on cost, but we loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenFairies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent our week end in this hotel. Our room was in the 6th floor, in the back yard, really quiet, comfortable and big enough for a room in Paris.
We had to leave really early in the morning and we felt really bad for those sleeping in the buildings along the interior court that we had to cross to get to the lobby! Avoid it if you can because the pathway is made with cobblestones and when you roll luggages on it, it makes big noise in the early quiet morning!
We had a very good lunch and breakfast there. The staff was friendly. Public transportation is a block away from the hotel...really convenient.
We mainly walked and used taxis for our stay. We asked the front desk for the airport shuttle to go back to the airport. Just call a taxi directly to book yours to avoid the hotel service (alpha taxi, etc...).
The hotel is in really nice area.
The only inconveniences we had was the quality of the mattress...it looks like they really need to change it! The toilet was stained...it needs some bleaching...
But we certainly come back there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank faraRandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Situated on a relatively quiet Paris side street - 10 mins walk to Bastille and 30 minutes to Notre Dame, a boutique style entrance, reception and bar with lots of glass and mirrors and feels stylish as a result . Rooms are simply furnished and large but bathrooms very small. Room was quiet (204) and had no view but faced out onto the courtyard. Breakfast buffet was pretty good. Bar drinks expensive, €8 for a bottle of beer, but this is Paris. Good restaurants close by and only 20 mins by taxi to Gare du Nord (15-20 euros). Overall though a good hotel base for Paris and the value for money was ok in February. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was staying at this hotel for a conference. I was quite happy with the hotel. It is conveniently located (next Metro stop just two minutes away). The inside yard is very appealing.

I was staying in a Superior room, it was very spacious with a smal kitchenette and a bathroom with a bathtub/shower combination (which I do not like). The bathroom was very small and looked a bit older. The cleanliness of the room was very good.

I liked the breakfast, a very good variety of food.

All in all, a good hotel for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnkeMarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Managed to book this for Valentines. Lovely place. Travelled to Paris on the Eurostar from London St Pancras to. La Gard de Nord and bought a set of single Metro tickets on the way (around 13€ for 10).
On our arrival into Paris we were able to jump straight onto the Metro and arrived at the hotel within 20 mins. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and before we knew it we were in our room.

The room itself was family big, a superior room I think, it had a sink, fridge, oven and microwave oven. Though the bathroom was fairly compact, it was a pleasant haven even if the walls were a tad on the thin side.

Breakfast was delicious with a mixture of cereals and continental Danish and hot food buffet style.

The hotel is less than 2 minutes walk from The Bastille, which has a host of places to eat and is close enough to the river for a little romance.

Absolutely no complaints. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 00dread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#491 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Le Marais
1K Paris
1K Paris
#511 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#116 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Bastille de Launay Hotel
Bastille de Launay Hotel
#462 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Bercy / Nation
BEST WESTERN  Le Patio Saint Antoine
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Jardins du Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Property: Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Address: 74 rue Amelot, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Home Plazza Bastille)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#331 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#471 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Jardins du Marais 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Le Marais, historical and trendy district, near Place des Vosges and Bastille Opera, Les Jardins du Marais present 263 elegant rooms and suites and a beautiful private garden terrace. A real oasis of charm and tranquility in the heart of Paris. A free dedicated smartphone is available in each room, allowing to enjoy unlimited local and international calls, mobile internet, and an indispensable city guide of Paris. The restaurant and its beautiful terrace offer a French inspired contemporary cuisine. With its 10800 sqft of conference facilities, the hotel, with its five modular room located around the private gardens and a glass canopy, can accomodate up to 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins du Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Marais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing