We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Ranked #639 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed for nor night only but hotel and room very clean and staff extremely friendly and very helpful. Didn't eat here but the buffet looked amazing. The hotel is in a side street with a lovely courtyard so very quite and peaceful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 70 in the Eiffel block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CockneySparrow201150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Guinel, Directeur général at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear CockneySparrow201150,

Thank you so much for your kind comment, we look forward to welcoming you again very soon !
Best regards,

Philippe Guinel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    589
    269
    145
    86
See reviews for
244
615
59
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went to Paris for a few days to celebrate a 30th wedding anniversary.

Executive room was spacious and comfortable, with a small balcony indirectly overlooking the courtyard garden. Nice soft robes provided and pleasant décor with a nod to Art Deco..

Reception staff were generally helpful and pleasant, booking taxis etc.

The extra 'romantic' package that we pre-booked (via the Hotel chain website) of fruit, biscuits & champagne (turned out to be Pommery rosé) and (a mortifyingly embarrassing but nonetheless cheerful!) rose petal heart was in place to greet us.

The other pre-booked package was a 3-course dinner in the restaurant on the first night, where I was surprised to find we were given absolutely no choice, just told what the meal would be. Fortunately it suited us, but it felt a bit perfunctory: however the food itself was good and well presented.

On the Sunday evening we were too tired to go far afield after doing serious "touristing", so decided to eat in the hotel, having looked at the main menu at the restaurant entrance and rather fancying a couple of the dishes. I spoke to the restaurant staff to reserve a table for later on and said that we knew we would both like the veal from the à la carte menu, as we were eating quite late so thought we'd pre-book it to make sure! When we got to the restaurant, we were given the snack menu and offered burgers or salad, which wasn't quite the special event we'd anticipated! We went next door to the brasserie as it was a bit late to start looking round for somewhere else.
To have the full menu out on show by the restaurant entrance and no sign warning that it wasn't actually on offer that evening is not really acceptable. What was much more annoying was the fact that the restaurant staff clearly didn't listen to our request for the main menu dish when he could have alerted us at that point and we could have made other plans. A closed evening is to be anticipated at a small family business but I do expect full service in this sort of hotel. The website makes no reference to a limited menu availability.

We had the hotel breakfast on one morning; whilst not cheap, it was very good in terms of choice and quality.

One irritation for us caffeine addicts- coffee in the hospitality tray in the room wasn't replenished automatically, or even when we left a note requesting some!

The advertised free internet was a bit hit and miss and very slow. I don't think they clocked the group loyalty card I waved on booking in, which I think should have provided the faster wireless access, but to be fair, I didn't pursue the issue.

In summary, a very pleasant setting with the courtyard garden, handy location, pleasant staff but not quite up to snuff with the finer details, given the star rating and prices.

Room Tip: We had an executive room with balcony on 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard, no problems with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roobee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Guinel, Directeur général at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear roobee55,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback following your last stay at Les Jardins du Marais. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your overall experience, however we are mostly concerned about your comments on the restaurant. Be sure that they will be shared with the teams in order to avoid such a disagreement for the future.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Philippe Guinel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place smells as good as it looks. Comfortable, delightful, delicious and beautifully placed for jaunting around Paris. The Metro is just around the corner and there are great places to eat just next door.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Guinel, Directeur général at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Jacqui R,

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback, it is such a pleasure to read that your experience with us was a success!

Best regards,

Philippe Guinel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is a nice place to stay in le Marais and the neighbourhood is nice as well... if you like to avoid the crowdy tourist locations! there are some nice cafes, brasseries, gallery's, boutiques,.. and the metro is a 2 minute walk from the hotel!
there is also a supermarket in the street (1 minute walk) nice to buy a picknick.
ps. buy some bread and quiche in the bakery around the corner!
The staff is friendly and professional and the room was good. only the bed was a little to hard for me and the curtains did'nt close, but we fixed it ourself ;) no big deal.
We had a nice view overlooking the patio and surrounding buildings and it was really quiet at night.
Our stay in Les Jardin du Marais was it's price worth! we really loved it and we deffinitly wil come back!

Room Tip: nice places to eat: Les Petit Canailles, Le colimaçon, Italian style cafe and Breizh cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahYjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Guinel, Directeur général at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear sarahYjan,

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about your last stay at Les Jardins du Marais. It was a real pleasure to read your kind words about the staff and the location of the hotel. Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,

Sincerely,

Philippe Guinel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went there on a mum and daughter getaway and couldn't have asked for a better location. Everywhere we went was less than 30 mins on the metro, which was ridiculously cheap.
Les Jardins du Marais is a large group of buildings that come together through a central courtyard. We visited in January and we can imagine in Summer this courtyard is beautiful as the sun goes down.
Our room was very 1920's inspired which we loved but if that is not your cup of tea, spend more for a modern one. The facilities were fine, the restaurant for breakfast was lovely but at £20 each, expensive. There were plenty of cafes and bistros around the hotel to get a quick coffee and croissant for under 5 euro. We ate from the room service menu once which was simple but delicious and immaculately presented.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for location, value of rooms and service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing in one the courtyard are lovely, especially but quite noisy early in the morning as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotterouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Guinel, Directeur général at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Charlotte,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your parisian getaway at the hotel Les Jardins du Marais. It is always a pleasure to receive this kind of feedback and recommandation. However, we took notes about your comment about the price of the breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon,

Kind regards,

Philippe Guinel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here recently for my fiance's 30th birthday weekend. We really liked the hotel but we didnt spend a huge amount of time there.

Location

Located about 1 minute walk (if that) to Saint Sebastian-Froissart metro station (line 8). This is not 1 of the main stations but with an extremely regular service we did not have any issues getting around. The is situated on the outskirts of the Marias district so only a very short walk away which we did on 1 of the days.

Staff

On entering the hotel at about 10AM we were greeted by several staff who were ready to take our bags and help us get checked in. All spoke very good English so no problems there for us. Our room was not actually ready so they took our bags and we went off to explore. Later when we came back to the hotel we were given a choice of 3 different rooms to choose from (the lift was broken in one of the buildings so we had the choice the change if we wanted). We kept of original room which I believe they upgraded for our special occasion. How nice of them and they really didnt have to!

Room

We had a double room on the top floor of the Eiffel block. It was huge, had a little balcony and a mini kitchen (not that we used it). Bathroom was nice and had a separate room for the toilet. Everything was clean as expected and the view from the balcony was great. Could just see the top of the Eiffel tower which was a bonus.

I did read a couple of reviews about the noise. We had a room which faced the courtyard so maybe this is why we did not hear a thing. Had a great night sleep in our King size bed.

Food

We didnt eat there at all so can not comment. We were offered breakfast at 20 euros per person but we declined.

Amenities

Was barely in the hotel so didnt notice what else was on offer. I dont believe there was much else than a bar/restaurant but i may be wrong.

Overall

Very happy with our stay here. The hotel is fairly modern and contemporary. It suited my style thats for sure. Would definitely recommend to all and would come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glazeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Guinel, Directeur général at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Glazeyboy,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your impressions following to your stay at the hotel Les Jardins du Marais.
We are delighted that your overall experience on this very special occasion has been a success and that you enjoyed the location and the atmosphere of our hotel.
Thank you again for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Les Jardins du Marais.

Best regards,

Philippe Guinel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 5 nights at Les Jardin du Marais and really could not complain about anything. They attended to all our requests promptly and were always friendly.
It is in a good location within walking distance to most sights.
The are a few restaurants nearly and a large supermarket one block away.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dchta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Guinel, Directeur général at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear dchta,

It is a pleasure to read that your stay at the hotel Les Jardins du Marais was a success ! We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon,

Best regards,

Philippe Guinel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#503 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Le Marais
1K Paris
1K Paris
#510 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Bastille de Launay Hotel
Bastille de Launay Hotel
#461 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#122 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Le Patio Saint Antoine
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#330 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Jardins du Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Property: Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Address: 74 rue Amelot, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Home Plazza Bastille)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#347 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#470 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Jardins du Marais 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Le Marais, historical and trendy district, near Place des Vosges and Bastille Opera, Les Jardins du Marais present 263 elegant rooms and suites and a beautiful private garden terrace. A real oasis of charm and tranquility in the heart of Paris. A free dedicated smartphone is available in each room, allowing to enjoy unlimited local and international calls, mobile internet, and an indispensable city guide of Paris. The restaurant and its beautiful terrace offer a French inspired contemporary cuisine. With its 10800 sqft of conference facilities, the hotel, with its five modular room located around the private gardens and a glass canopy, can accomodate up to 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins du Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Marais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing