We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All suites hotel - affordable, central and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Ranked #426 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“All suites hotel - affordable, central and clean”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Citadines Bastille Marais is one of 14 Citadines properties in Paris affiliated with the Ascot chain of hotels in London. Located at 37 Richard Lenoir is the east end of the Marais district, this establishment could be categorized in the economy range of a scale that varies from one property to the other in the chain.

Location: Conveniently located near the Place de la Bastille and the east end of the 4th arrondissement (Marais district - LGBT area), the hotel sits on a street where most businesses are home related (many locksmiths, hardware, mattress shops, etc) with a few 'brasseries' tucked in.

Metro: just a block from the Bréguet-Sabin station (which is 1 station north of Bastille). Line 5 (orange) north terminus is Bobigny and south terminus is Place d'Italie. You can also use the Chemin Vert station on a nearby line (3 blocks from the hotel). You can buy metro tickets from a vending machine at Bréguet-Sabin or from a manned kiosk.

Suites: this all-suites property is well maintained overall although the carpets in the rooms need to be upgraded or at least thoroughly cleaned. We saw two suites: we chose 715 on the top floor as it faced the courtyard and was very sunny. It had a full bedroom, with living room, dinning area and kitchen in an open concept. The toilet and the main bathroom are separate rooms (which we found quite convenient) and are separated from the rest of the unit by a door that links to a small hall leading to the main door of the suite.

Suite Facilities: The kitchens are well appointed. You will find ample dishes, stemware, flatware, pot and pans and all you need to make light meals. A half fridge, microwave which also can be used as a oven, a hotplate and a midget dishwasher (we did not use it), a toaster, a coffee pot, ironing board and iron are also available in the suite.

Note that there are recycling and garbage bins on each floor (we found them on the last day- the staff don't normally take care of garbage and recycling. The hot water is VERY HOT both in the kitchen and in the bathroom. Be careful.

Hotel Facilities: In the lobby, just around the main desk, there is a breakfast room. For 12 euros, a day, you can have a decent continental breakfast. We chose to eat in our suites instead. Note that the coffee, tea, hot chocolate machine is available free of charge 24 hours a day in the breakfast area. Also in the lobby are two computers for guests with one hooked up to a printer which requires a bit of help from staff. Copies of Le Monde are available in the lobby. There is also a vending machine in the lobby for snacks and drinks. A public washroom in the lobby came in handy as we were three sharing a suite.

Room keys: you will require you room key (looks like a credit card) to enter the hotel.

WIFI: Is free and available in your suite although some in our party had a hard time getting connected. Stand closer to the window, that helps tremendously.

Beds: Our suite had two single beds in the bedroom (very comfortable) and a double pull out sofa bed in the living area.

Safe: there are in-room safes although the documentation about the hotel says something to the contrary. There are additional safes in the front office.

Parking: There is underground parking.

Elevators: there are two high speed elevators

Food: There are three groceries stores within a few blocks. The hotel will direct you to the Casino Food Store just across the street from the hotel. Just down the street from the Casino Food Store on the street that runs perpendicular, just beyond the Ibis Hotel, you'll find a Carrefour City food store (which opens a tad earlier 8:30). A third option in Franprix on Chemin Vert (turning right from the boulevard and the store is on the left hand side 1.5 blocks down the street).

Beer, wine and spirits: are available in the food stores mentioned above at a fraction of the cost you will pay in a bar/restaurant. As an example, I bought 6 cans of '1664' a well-know French beer for about 6 euros. An equivalent serving of beer (normally 33 cl) will coat you about 6 times as much in a public place. Beer and wine are seldom chilled, so you need to plan ahead and chill in room refrigerator.

Ordering Food in Restaurants: Noon hours meals called 'le déjeuner' are less expensive that evening meals even when the items are the same. So, we ate our main meal early in the afternoon. Most restaurants will display daily specials where the 'formule' is clearly stated. The 'formule' is a 'table d'hôte' meaning you get at least two dishes for a special price. Typically, you can choose the appetizer and main dish OR main dish and desert for approx. 10-20 euros depending on the quality of the establishment. Very few restaurants offered a fixed priced 'formule' which included appetizer, main dish and desert.

Be careful when you order: In one restaurant, they individual prices of the items on the ordinary menu were cheaper that on the formule; we pointed it out and got the cheaper price. In another restaurant, we ordered cider (33 cl bottles) and were given a smaller 25 cl bottles. When we pointed it out to the wait person, she acknowledged the disparity and gave an extra bottle free of charge which we shared between the two of us who had ordered cider.

I have uploaded on Trip Advisor a report on each of the restaurants we visited during our 10 day stay.

Street Market: A huge street market is held on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays on the boulevard. You'll find a bit of everything including fruit and vegetables that are much better quality that in the groceries stores.

Bakery: A wonderful bakery is located at the corner of Boulle and Bréguet where from 7 am onwards, you can pick some fresh croissants for 1 euro each. They also have all kinds of other tempting goodies.

Luggage storage: rooms are available from noon onwards (checkout time is noon). They will store your luggage is a safe room as requested.

Getting to your hotel from the airport: We used Viator.com which contracts out to Paris Shuttle. They picked us up (all 7 of us) in a van and took us directly to the hotel. From the airport, after you pick up you checked bags, you call them on the toll free number and they meet you at the appropriate terminal. Paris Charles de Gaulle has four terminals and in each terminal, there are separate areas, for example, in terminal 2, there is a 2a, 2b, up to 2g. For the return trip, we had the reception desk call for us ( to reconfirm our return trip to the airport) as the room phones are blocked for some reason (perhaps for some calling areas only). They were very punctual and cordial. No tips are expected as the cost is not cheap but well worth the hassle-free ride in. We've used Viator in Rome as well and found them very dependable.

Latest scam: young people carrying clip boards and pretending to be deaf-mute attempt to get you to sign a petition. This gives them close access to you (they are usually in groups of 2-3) so watch your wallet. If you sign the petition, they will expect money.

Taxes and tips: Are included at all times. We typically rounded up to next euro or two particularly when the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. The one-bedroom studio apartments are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CharlesSeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia T, Gérant at Citadines Bastille Marais Paris, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your comments about the residence. I'm sure that all details will be very appreciate by the future travellers.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    440
    121
    29
    19
See reviews for
321
297
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay in Citadines Bastille was very enjoyable. The staff at reception were always very friendly and welcoming. We had a one bedroom apartment which slept 4. Bed was very comfortable, pillows were good, decent sized living room with a fold out bed and there was a nice small courtyard just outside. Air conditioning was also great, as it was over 30c every day we were there. We had a power outage during our stay, and we were attended to by a technician within 5 minutes, which was great. However, the bathroom was quite cramped and toilet was eerily spacious for just a toilet room! Little kitchenette was very handy and had everything you need for a few nights stay. I've previously stayed in the Bastille area, and I will definitely continue to do so. Locals are friendly (it's not in the middle of the city) and there are plenty of metro stations around, not to mention the amazing Bastille Market. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia T, Gérant at Citadines Bastille Marais Paris, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Nice accommodations, very helpful desk staff. Only 2 washer/dryers for whole apt block, so plan ahead for laundry. Great location near 3 subway stations, including Bastille hub. Don't miss the market on Richard Lenier on Sundays & Thursdays--amazing!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Salunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia T, Gérant at Citadines Bastille Marais Paris, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are glad to know that you have appreciated your stay in Paris.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have stayed here twice (and several times at their hotel in Chatelet-Les Halles). You will not be disappointed, especially if you ask for a room with a balcony on the 6th floor facing the main street.
The metro station--Breguet Sabin--is practically next door. And It's a short walk to the Bastille monument. Behind the hotel is one of Paris' most enchanting neighbourhoods, the Marais.
The breakfast is a trifle expensive but there are plenty of bistros closeby, so you can eat out. If you want to sample the night life, there is rue de la Roquette.

The great thing about the Citadines hotel chain is they allow you to cook in your room. Each unit has all the facilities, including dishes and utensils. All you have to do is visit the grocery store (and there's one just across from the hotel). If you're on a tight budget, you can save in a major way by preparing all your meals in your room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tunai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia T, Gérant at Citadines Bastille Marais Paris, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your comments and for sharing your experience in our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Citadines Bastille Marais and very happy to know that you are a regular guest in all Citadines.
I hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We had two studio's and both were excellent with all the amenities we have come to expect from booking through Royal Holidays. Located around the corner from the Metro and some wonderful restaurants. Both my wife and my mother and her sister had a great time and the Citadines catered for all our needs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RCML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia T, Gérant at Citadines Bastille Marais Paris, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property. For your next reservations, don't hesitate to visit our website and become an Ascott online member, you will have many offers ! Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuppertal, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have enjoyed my times in Paris by staying in the Citadines Bastilles in the summer for the past 15 years. Number 1, Bastille is a great area to live and hang out. Number 2, the hotel is really a safe and reliable place to return to after running around in the big hectic lovely city of Paris. With a small kitchen to cook a bathtub to relax in, you may be lucky to end up with room with a terrace. I would ask for a room facing the back. They also have a place to wash your clothes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edwuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia T, Gérant at Citadines Bastille Marais Paris, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about the city and our property. Thank you for your compliments. We hope to welcome you again !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which had a small kitchen with utensils and a fridge.Also a kettle to boil water which can be poured into a glass mug when cooled.Beverages are not provided.At the reception however you have free beverages including chocolate which are self served.
Very clean apartment with a big bathroom.Our apartment has a balcony that faces the courtyard.Ample closets to hang and place your clothes including space for your luggage.Iron available.Laundry can be done at room at ground floor,5 Euros for washing and 4 Euros for drying.Good WiFi connection.Tv has many channels mostly French but has also CNN which is great!
Staff speak English and are friendly and helpful.
A few supermarkets close by besides the usual cafes/pubs and restaurants.5 mins walk to nearest Metro.Taxi from CDG costs me 47 Euros.Shuttle costs 17 Euros per person.Safe area and well lighted.At Night,apartment key would open hotel main door electronically otherwise security guard inside would open for you.

Room Tip: ask for room facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank louis899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia T, Gérant at Citadines Bastille Marais Paris, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience in our property. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you again in the nearest future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#472 of 1,801 in Paris
1,011 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Hotel Marais Bastille
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Republique Paris
Citadines Republique Paris
#1,053 of 1,801 in Paris
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Bastille Marais Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Bastille Marais Paris

Property: Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Address: 37 boulevard Richard Lenoir | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#278 Family Hotel in Paris
#627 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Bastille Marais Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Place des Vosges, the most beautiful square in Paris, Apart'hotel Citadines Bastille Marais Paris plunges you into the very heart of the French capital. The charm of the Marais district is evident in the presence of sumptuous 17th century mansions and its well-preserved character and heritage. But it is undoubtedly in its unassuming alleyways that the district's magic works best, thanks to the art, photography and antiques galleries. Old Paris offers an endless stream of curiosities just waiting to be discovered. Your Apart Hotel overlooks the Boulevard Richard Lenoir and its beautiful tree-lined promenade. It is located 10 minutes from Place de la Bastille, and just a few steps away from the Bréguet-Sabin metro station. You will find it the ideal pied-à-terre for a few nights or a stay of several weeks in Paris. If you are travelling by car, our serviced apartments hotel offers you access to a private car park (charges apply). Paris's 11th district is sure to surprise you. The Bastille district is one of the liveliest and trendiest in the capital. By day, lose yourself in its winding alleyways as you wander from little shops to hidden courtyards. In the evening, make the most of the area's buzzing party atmosphere. Just steps from the hotel, you can explore the Marais, Paris's lively historic centre. From Beaubourg to Place des Vosges, not forgetting the Musée Carnavalet, magnificent private mansions rub shoulders with gardens, art galleries and trendy bars. Whether you are on a business trip or travelling with family, the fully serviced apartments of Citadines Bastille Marais Paris feature fitted kitchens and satellite TV to blend modernity and comfort. Our studios and apartments can accommodate from two to four people. And for even greater luxury and space, some even have a terrace or balcony. Reception is open 24/7 to ensure that your stay is as pleasant as possible and complementary WiFi is available in all our serviced apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Bastille Marais Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Bastille Marais Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing