We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid staying there as much as possible”
Review of Hotel Hibiscus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hibiscus
Ranked #1,707 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Avoid staying there as much as possible”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Awufl! Awful! Awful! We booked the hotel through a travel agency. We were told that it was a three star hotel. It appeared to be two but I wouldn't give it even one. It was extremely dirty. We had booked a double room but the bed would hardly accomodate one person. None of the receptionists could speak English so every time we asked them something they had to call a person from the next door hotel to communicate with us. The sheets and the towels had spots. The light bulb didn't work but noone bothered to change it despite our requests. When we checked in the first day to our great surprise there were no towels in the room and when I asked to get some at the reception, I was informed that we'll get them after 3 p.m. (no reasonable explanation why we couldn't get them earlier was provided). The breakfast was included in the price but we never managed to get some coz there were only three tables which were supposed to serve all the guests in the hotel, so if you are not there at exactly 7.30 or earlier you don't get any breakfast or you have to wait for the other guests to finish theirs first and then if you're lucky you might eat the leftovers. The first night we couldn't sleep at all coz there was a fight next door and noone from the reception did nothing about it. The elevator's been out of order no one knows for how long. The only advantage was that the hotel was 2 minutes walk from a subway station.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    20
    88
    58
    124
See reviews for
38
165
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

First impression was Oh my ,what a let down. Hotel is very parrission and needs a good renovation. However, beds were ok and clean bedding .Maid cleaned room each day, showers were good but so poorly maintained.Plenty of fresh air from window but frames need replacing.
Staff were very polite and helpful and continental breakfast was fine especially the excellent coffee.
We paid for a 2 star hotel and thats what it is .The good points are that its very central so look at the prices you pay for a better hotel in that area. We spent very little time in the room and we would go again. The metro republique is round the corner but it was so nice we walked every where from the hotel. There are lots of bars and restuarants close by too.This hotel did not spoil our stay but again it is in need of renavations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juney25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 April 2012

me and my partner booked Hibiscus Republique hotel, but once we arrived we found out that our room was in fact in the hotel next door, i have no idea how that is even possible. hence i cant really say much about hibiscus, but out room in this other hotel was dirty and tiny (all hotels in paris are), but the location is ok and prices cheap.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kosice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I was overcharched 50 euros (for 3 nights) by the hotel than was stated on the bill from easytobook.com for an unknown reason yet.
We stayed there from the march 1 to march 4. When arriving I was told my cd was already charged. So even if i wanted to pay cash I could not. By coming home I saw that they have overchargem me for my 3 night stay by 50 euros.
The internet facility at the hotel is very lousy, just an old, pay per use computer. And I did not find any other suitable intrenet place, until I got home. For what reason I was overcharged is not known to me yet. The hotel was also quite noisy at night, from people yelling all night on the sidewalk, which were coming from the nearby bars.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank radovan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

other people hairs everywhere! needs a clean big time! i am a disgusting slob and even i think spending some extra money to stay somewhere else would have been a good idea.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tombocollbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel was scruffy, the pillows were thin and long and we had to ask for normal ones after sleeping on towels the first night. It is right next door to a cafe bistro and we had no sleep for the 3 nights...... men shouting and laughing untill 6.30 am... total nightmare.
Would defo never ever do 2* in Paris.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This hotel is more basic than basic could be. It's in a great location, nice shops, metro right around the corner and some lovely cafes and restaurants.
The staff weren't unfriendly but not that friendly. We were allowed to leave suitcases at reception both days though.
The room was ok, beds comfy but thats about it. Bathroom really wasn't great, leaky ceiling and the smallest shower cubicle (and i'm only 5 ft). Tv has french channels only, which didn't bother us as we were literally there to sleep!
Breakfast in the morning was pleasant. Tea or coffee with a roll, croissant and preserves each, which kept us going.
No facilities in room, vending machine downstairs which reception had no change for.
This hotel is ok for cheap and 1 night but other than that I probably wouldn't stay here again. Paris was amazing though!!

Room Tip: Not sure there is one??
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,596 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Belgrand Hotel
#1,399 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,239 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de Savoy
Hotel de Savoy
#1,584 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Hotel Altona
#1,437 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Abrial Hotel
Abrial Hotel
#1,177 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hibiscus

Property: Hotel Hibiscus
Address: 66 rue de Malte | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin , République
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,707 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hibiscus 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in building circa 1900 located near Place de la Republique, Le Marais, Bastille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abotel Hibiscus Paris
Abotel Hibiscus Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing