We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location & great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Hotel Candide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Hotel Candide
Ranked #1,630 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location & great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Great hotel close to both a Metro Station and a taxi stand, with lovely (and well priced) restaurants close by. Rooms are small, yes - but you're in Paris, who's in their room but to sleep?! Ines at the front desk went out of her way to make everything perfect, and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texohlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your nice comments. We would be delighted to have you with us again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    99
    113
    78
    77
See reviews for
95
110
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at the New Hotel Candide last week with our 2 year old. Admittedly nervous after reading some of the reviews on various sites, we were delighted with our stay. A warm friendly welcome from the gentleman in reception, our room clean , the bed comfortable and a crib already set up in the room for our son. The rooms are not luxurious they are just "what you need" and to be fair , great for what you pay for. Our bathroom was lovely and modern, with a lovely shower and the free WI-fi was an added bonus. The room was cleaned spotlessly everyday.

Breakfast was continental and delicious, I am craving their croissants and lovely soft cheeses since I got back and a special mention to the lovely breakfast staff - the girls made a fuss of our son and made him feel welcome and special, and the gentleman on breakfast was always friendly and helpful too. They made our stay lovely!

The area is handy a great super market just across the street and eateries galore, Voltaire metro is just around the corner and enabled us to travel to Champs Elesyee and Eiffel Tower without changing, we also connected at Nation RER station to Disneyland without problems. The locals were lovely, and like everything you get back what you put in - a friendly Bonjour goes a long way. The guys at the desk also organised our Taxi back to the airport, nothing was too much trouble.

Embrace the culture, go explore and return to the New Hotel Candide for a great nights sleep knowing you have a scrumptious breakfast ahead of you . Merci beacoup to all at New Hotel Candide :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varelansmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your nice comments and your loyalty. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you appreciated our staff services. We will be delighted to welcome you and your family again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was my first trip to Paris and I got this hotel booked by the company. The hotel itself does not offer too much to your comfort, but its location is quite good, specially because there is a metro station very close (Voltaire).
About the hotel:
- Rooms are very small, have old (but functional) furniture and a small fridge (no minibar, just the fridge). There is a supermarket nearby that can be used to fill up the minibar, as suggested at the reception.
- The breakfast was disappointing to me as it did not contain any warm food. Only the boiled eggs can be considered warm if you go there in the beginning of the morning. You can find ham and salami, milk, tea, coffee, juice, cereals, cheese, honey, butter, jam, bread, some fruits, yogurt and some pastries for desert.
- The cleaning of the rooms is done daily. However, during my 5 days stay, the cleaning personnel (I think) entered twice in my room without knocking and unlocking the door with me in the room.
- Nearby restaurants are a lot. We tried a Chinese, a Japanese and a French one. The french ones was the best and is very close (near the closest supermarket) to the hotel. I think "La Commete" was its name and a good sign for us was the fact that it was almost full.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mircea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this helpful review. We have taken note of your comments as we are always doing our best to satisfy our guests' expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel although classed as 3 stars was barely worthy of 2 stars. The room was tiny. We had booked for three and a camp bed was added to a small double room. There were tiles missing from the bathroom and the bathroom door was in need of a coat of paint where someone had kicked it. The mattresses seemed to be foam rubber and very soft and uncomfortable. The hotel was very noisy but that was probably more to do with the guests than the hotel although the walls were very flimsy. The receptionist on the afternoon of our arrival was a delightful young woman and extremely helpful but when I telephoned a few days before we arrived as I wanted to change the booking I spoke to an aggressive and rather rude man.
The breakfast was copious and good. Ours was included in the price but 12€ seems overpriced for those people for whom it wasn't included.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a triple room and try to get a deal through Trivago because the price without that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest, We received your comments regarding your stay at the New Hotel Candide in Paris.

Note that we are very attentive to the quality of service that our customers can expect from our hotel, that is why we deeply regret to have not being able to give you full satisfaction.

We are sorry that your appreciation about the New Hotel Candide was marred by this unfortunate experience, and hope you will give us the opportunity to be better hosts in the future.

In the meantime and reiterating my apologies, please believe Sir, the assurance of our consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I was visiting a client in Paris last December and my secretary booked me into the hotel at the last minute. The room was on the small side, but I was grateful to get a last minute room in Paris at that time of year (December), but all the hotel basics are there. You get a straight forward continental breakfast and free Wifi which is almost unheard of in this day and age.

The hotel location is very good. I even managed to visit Jim Morrison's grave in Père Lachaise cemetery on Saturday morning before heading to Charles De Gaulle for my flight back to Asia.

I would stay in this hotel again, because it's reasonably priced for what you get in this part of Paris.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your stay among us, it would be a pleasure to receive you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

My friend recommended staying here because the price is right and the area is interesting. It's right around the corner from the Voltaire metro stop and a bus line, so it's easy to get around the city. The area, especially on Rue de Roquettes, is full of interesting bars, cafes, second-hand shops and restaurants. It was nice to have a hotel in Paris that felt like an escape from all the tourists.

The hotel itself was fine. The staff is very friendly and efficient, and they let us keep our bags at the hotel after we checked out so we didn't have to carry them around the city before we departed. Breakfast was good - an assortment of breads and croissants, cheese and spreads with coffee, juice and tea. Nice that was included, especially if you're traveling on a budget

Our weekend stay was unfortunate to coincide with the wifi being out hotel wide and the entire hotel losing power one morning. There was a third, random temporary bed in our room even though we had arranged for a double. Our room was next to some sort of spiral staircase where people were being loud until late in the morning, so it was hard to sleep. I'm not sure these are common occurrences, but the walls are pretty thin between rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colliderbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear customer,

We thank you for your stay in our hotel. Regarding the Wi-Fi, there was a breakdown that lasted half a day, which occurs rarely. Thank you again for choosing our hotel. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Negative: The Hotel is very expensive and very old!!! We pay a lot for nothing! Rooms are not well cleaned and so old...Toilette maybe was from 1960!!!! So cold rooms, Tv with just 2 or 3 channels. Brakfast not fresh and Staff not professional at all.
Positive: Mr. Jacques of Reception was very gentle and he explained us all the Info about the city.
If u go to Paris go to an other Hotel please because this one is so expensive but so ugly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annalisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that your appreciation of the New Hotel Candide has been marred by this unfortunate experience, and hope you will give us the opportunity to be better hosts in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
#910 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Gardette Park Hotel
Gardette Park Hotel
#701 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Belta Hotel Residence
Belta Hotel Residence
#803 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
République
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais
Classics Hotel Bastille
#695 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#513 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Candide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Candide

Property: New Hotel Candide
Address: 3 Rue Petion, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,630 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Candide 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newhotel Candide is closed for extensive renovation. This charming boutique hotel with vintage accents, re-open in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel Candide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing