We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #99 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Grand Francais while taking advantage of a long layover in Paris. Our corner room was lovely! Not overdone, just well appointed, clean and comfortable. The free wifi was faster and easier to access than many of the other hotels we stayed in on this trip. The front desk staff was terrific! We had lots of questions and they were extremely helpful. There are 2 Metro stops nearby, making it very convenient to get around the city. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABF145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    544
    84
    15
    7
See reviews for
176
1,269
94
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel looks completely renovated and the clerks are very nice. The room was no bigger than a matchbox but beatifully decorated and furnished. It had a plasma TV and an Ipod dock. The bathroom was also very nice and modern. Everything was very clean and courtesy slippers were provided.
It is a bit far from downtown but if you don´t mind travelling, there are 2 subway station in a 3 blocks radious. You can get anywhere using the subway. The trip to the louvre is about 20 minutes. The neighbourhood is very nice and calm, with plenty of good restaurants around. Breakfast was good too. IT was expensive, 140EU, like everything in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaluPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was a return visit to Grand Hotel Francais and it's still as good as I remember. Just a really good hotel with excellent customer service. For a Paris hotel, the rooms are a good size. The bathroom is slightly small but the shower is great!

The location is also really good - really close to the metro making it so easy to get around.

If you're going to Paris, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oks943idk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I am just back from a long weekend in Paris with my sisters and mom. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Francais in a privilege room, which i would highly recommend for a bit more space. I was so impressed with the room, it was larger than I expected (Paris hotel rooms are known to be small), with modern decoration and the most comfortable bed. The breakfast was fresh and really high quality, the owner/manager was so friendly and helpful along with his staff throughout the hotel. We are very much looking forward to returning to Paris and staying at this hotel. Located minutes from the Metro (rue des boulets) and only a short taxi ride from the Bastille area. We ate in 'Bofinger' brasserie which I would highly recommend (rue de la Bastille) and 'Chez Justine' (rue oberkampt) - both only a short drive from the hotel. I am not great at writing reviews but I really wanted to give something back to this hotel as they were so nice, excellent value for money and they deserve 4 stars..

Room Tip: Recommend second floor, Privilege Room - has balcony : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LimerickSarah1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Myself and husband have just returned from Paris and we highly recommend this hotel, it is very clean and in a great safe location, the staff are very friendly and speak good english , we will stay here again really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but really all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank orla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Grand Hotel Francais

We stayed here for three nights in December. We booked this hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the manager spoke perfect English and kindly listened to my rusty French, and there was a nice personal feel to the hotel.

Our room was at the front of the building, looking out onto boulevard Voltaire. Double-glazing means that you won’t be disturbed by traffic noise. The room was clean, neat and well-equipped, with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, safe, flatscreen TV, an iPod dock/radio and tea and coffee making facilities. There was also a minibar/small fridge with complimentary drinks. The bathroom was small but very clean and modern, and the shower was wonderful! Free wifi is available, which is so useful (why can’t all hotels provide this?!).

Our room rate included breakfast, which was a self-service continental buffet. The breakfast room is quite small, and did get busy towards the end of service at the weekend, but on Monday morning it was more relaxed.

The hotel is located in the 11th arrondissement, which is to the east of the centre. It is very close to several metro stations - rue des Boulets is the closest, Nation is a five-minute walk and Bastille which is about 10 minutes - so it is easy to get around to the main tourist sights (if you get on line 9 at rue des Boulets, this will take you direct to the Grands Boulevards and Eiffel Tower). However, walking is by far the best way to see Paris - there are free maps available at reception.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wanderingsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safi,malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just come back from a 4 day stay in Paris. We chose this hotel on the basis of price, availability and good reviews. It is a cosy place, more like a pension than a Grand Hotel! Room was small, but with all necessities, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more than ample and unrushed. The reception staff were indeed very helpful and with useful advice whenever asked. The free wifi was problematic to connect to.But all in all a pleasant experience. The hotel is located in a quiet area, but just minutes away from Nation metro - a hub letting you visit most of Paris after just one switch or directly. I would highly recommend this hotel for any short stays in Paris.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexmalta32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#63 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#119 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#105 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#35 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#377 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#71 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing