We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #106 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great find in Paris”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and i stayed two nights- we chose the hotel because of its good ratings, and location in the 11th, near where our son was staying. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived early; they served us coffee in the lobby, we used the free wifi, while our room was made up, and we were in the room within half an hour- with a half bottle of wine to welcome us. The elevator and hallways are tight; room is not large; but big enough to be comfortable-- and very clean. We loved being away from the touristy areas and in a more residential neighborhood. Free wifi was easy to use. The breakfast room in the basement is definitely the one downside, but not a big deal; and the breakfast was fine.
We were so happy with the GHF, that we stayed again at the end of our trip, when we returned to Paris, with our children. We booked two rooms, both of which were great, including even the one on the ground floor.
We would definitely return to GHF on our next Paris visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    549
    86
    15
    7
See reviews for
180
1,286
96
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great stay last weekend at the Grand Hotel Francais. Room very clean. All staff brilliant, very pleasant and helpful, nothing too much trouble. On my wife's birthday a nice note was left in the room with a small gift of chocolates. Only negative was breakfast area, slightly small, no problem 2 of the days when we ate earlier however busy at most popular time. Not a great problem though. Receptionists all very chatty and we connected well with the young lady who learned her excellent English when staying in Brighton [sorry didn't get her name]. Will stay again if visiting Paris.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank murff2877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The best value hotel we have found on visits to Paris over the past 60 years! The staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms, though small (we had a Standard Room), are well equipped: comfortable beds; brilliant shower; large bath towels; great sound-proofing. The buffet breakfast (included in our room price) was delicious and overseen by an extremely competent waitress. The location, though further from the centre than we had been before, was near a Metro stop which had good connections. We would certainly go there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned from a great three night stay at the Grand Hotel Francais.
The reception staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful from the initial welcome to a cheerful greeting every time we left and returned to the hotel.
The room was comfortable and very well serviced.
A good range of food was served for the continental breakfast and again the staff were really friendly and helpful.
We liked the area which was well served by local restaurants and bars. The hotel recommended a variety of restaurants and we tried two of them which were very good. They definitely were frequented by the locals and I would particularly recommend the Po.Za Da which was an authentic French bistro and very welcoming. There was a Metro stations very close at Nation and the even closer Rue de Boulet which was only about 50 metres away. From these it was possible to travel round Paris very easily

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mart184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed 5 days with my husband. We were upgraded to a room with balcony. Breakfast is very good, modern rooms and free wifi. Hotel employees are very kind. One block distance to metro station. Although it is not located on a turist area, it is very close to the metro station and you can travel anyware in Paris by metro.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yamilombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff really made this hotel. We chose it for a long weekend and it's location was ideal for the metro. The rooms were clean and smart and the bed was so comfortable it made it difficult to get up and see Paris!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AilsaEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We chose this partly on the strength of the reviews and were very pleased that everything positive that others had to say was spot on. It was our 10th anniversary and on arrival the very friendly and efficient receptionist announced we had a double upgrade to the top room category. Also a bottle of wine and 2 glasses on the bed which a lovely touch. The room and bathroom were spotless and recently modernised. Not huge of course, but then that's Paris A comfortable King size bed and no less than 3 windows overlooking the street, but very efficient double glazing kept out most of the noise so no trouble sleeping. Good buffet breakfast - no hot food (except boiled eggs) but plenty else. Slight negative that the basement breakfast room is a bit small for the number of rooms and can be cramped, but staff efficient in clearing tables and keeping waiting to a minimum. Location is a bit off the beaten track for visitors. Meant that needed to get a bus or Metro to any of the sights (about 20 minutes), but upside is that none of the many very good restaurants in walking distance are at all touristy. On our 4 nights of eating out locally, we only heard anything but French spoken by other diners once. All in all a good find and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank SRO16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel HELUSSI
#43 of 1,802 in Paris
518 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#54 of 1,802 in Paris
2,375 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#115 of 1,802 in Paris
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#40 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#96 of 1,802 in Paris
603 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#352 of 1,802 in Paris
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing