We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, perfect for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #101 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, perfect for couples”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and were honored to stay at this hotel. We had high expectations as we had booked a room with a balcony, but were blown away by this amazing hotel. We arrived to find a bottle of champagne in our room and spent the first 20 minutes admiring the view.

They have an amazing attention to detail in all they do. The room had space by Parisian standards, had a great shower and the bed in room 553 was extremely comfortable, so much so it was hard to leave.

The front office staff were extremely friendly and were a wealth of information on local restaurants, walks and even helped us check in for our flight. Nothing was too hard for them.

There are 2 railway stations close by, but we found it easier to walk to key destinations, like the the Louvre, Notre Dame and even the Eiffel Tower. The wifi worked extremely well while we were there and overall a great experience by an authentic Parisian Hotel.

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdlowe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    552
    86
    15
    7
See reviews for
185
1,292
97
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Accommodation was perfectly located away from the tourist areas, had very friendly staff and management and any request was acted upon cheerfully.
Metro station was 1 minutes walk, restaurants within 2 minutes walk, supermarket across the road.
It is better located than where I live.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are best because of the views and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fred w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Grand Hotel Francais. The location is close enough to the city center by foot or Metro to be convenient but not so close to be caught up in the tourist crowds. We enjoyed the help at the front desk for transportation questions and restaurant reservations and reccomendations. we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in the suite. Best room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attagirl1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went to this Hotell after finding it here on Trip Advisor. It was our 10 wedding anniversary and we mailed the Hotell in advance to let them know. When we arrived they upgraded us to a room with balcony and I was surprised to see that they had put champagne, chocolate, rose blades and a red boa (!) on our bed :-)) It was wonderful!
I also have to say that the staff were wonderful. Always happy an helpfull ("peace and love" as we said when we went out every day)
They gave us umbrella when the weather was rainy and took care of us in every way. Always smiling and a nice comment.
I don't know why some complain about the breakfast in the comments. We thought the breakfast was wonderful and not expensive, not more than you would pay on a cafe. The fresh juice, lovely caffe, delicat fruit, cheese and ham, eggs and differ small glasses of jam. We loved it!
We had a wonderful stay and would not hasitate to go back!
You should choose this Hotell :-)
Thank you for a nice stay - see you next time :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for two nights in March for my girlfriend's 30th birthday and paid roughly £90 a night. Although the rooms were small (which you expect in Paris) the rooms were modern and well kept, the staff were excellent. The location is also good - close to Nation station for sightseeing. I think you would find it difficult to get better value for money for the same price in London. Would definitely return if back in Paris

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngryandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is our regular place to stay when we are in Paris. Easy to reach from Gare du Nord - we always travel to Paris on Eurostar - just change at Republique for Rue des Boulets…then a short walk to the hotel…you can even buy Metro tickets on the Eurostar train from the buffet car……why can't you buy London Tube tickets when going from Paris to London???? I reckon it's 'cos Boris Johnson is embarrassed that London Tube tickets cost nearly 3 times the price of Paris metro ticket!!!!
Grand Hotel Francais is very handy for Gare de Lyon…and we were travelling on to Annecy from there ( a wonderful place to visit - Lake Annecy is stunning).
The staff at the hotel were, as ever very welcoming….as it was our wedding anniversary on the day we arrived …they kindly upgraded us…..and what a lovely room it was! - room 41 - extremely comfortable bed with a super breakfast the next morning - the waitress refilled any of the breakfast items that ran down toute suite!!!
The hotel is near some really nice eating places…we had our wedding anniversary dinner in Chez Mamy - our favourite restaurant.
We also stayed at Grand Hotel Francais on our way back from Annecy….not far from the hotel is a little supermarket where you can pick up provisions for a picnic lunch - we went to The Tuileries gardens for ours!….we always enjoy the Baton Mouches boat trip down the Seine and we found a stunning view of The Eiffel Tower at The Trocadero. Dinner that night was at Les Cocottes not far from the Pont d'Alma.
A really lovely time was had in Paris and a very reliable hotel like Grand Hotel Francais certainly helps to make it so!!!!

Ron&Julia Ross-on-Wye

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We went to this hotel because according to our budget and consulting trip advisor, it sounded fine....
First, the ubication is not the gratest, ir has a subway near but we saw other hotels in better areas and in similar prices, second, its tremendously small, they say all the hotels in Paris aré like this , but we saw others that were a bit bigger....
The breakfast is fine
The service is fine but one time the cleaning lady wouldnt get out of the elevator with her things so i had to use the stairs.....
The view was terrible....
Cleaning..fine....

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandramamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#96 of 1,801 in Paris
620 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#46 of 1,801 in Paris
528 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#58 of 1,801 in Paris
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#353 of 1,801 in Paris
2,130 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#47 of 1,801 in Paris
1,527 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#124 of 1,801 in Paris
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#81 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing