We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Paris Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #106 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Paris Base”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We chose Grand Hotel Francais for our seven-night stay in Paris as a result of its good reviews on Tripadvisor. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left the manager and staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Two of their restaurant recommendations, namely Po.Za.Da and Via Victorio, offered first-class, affordable meals, a wide range of good wines with very friendly service. We went to each at least once. Our room (Privilege) was comfortable with a King Size bed and good quality bed-linen. The house-keeping was outstanding. The room and bathroom were spotlessly cleaned each day.

Contrary to some comments here, the proximity of the hotel to Nation Station with RER and Metro links to the sights was a three-minute walk. Boulevard Voltaire is a busy street with many cafes and bars but don’t be worried about road noise – it is not intrusive. We had a wonderful week in Paris where we considered Grand Hotel Francais our home-from-home, a great base from which to enjoy this beautiful city. We very much hope to return. Heartily recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyathome10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    549
    86
    15
    7
See reviews for
180
1,286
96
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Wife booked this hotel after we decided to go to Paris on the spur of the moment, rooms are small but very clean , staff are very polite and helpful , couldn't ask for more, metro literally 1 min away , good bars and restaurant all a short walk away.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dooseyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Travelling a lot, I can say I have been nicely surprised by the quality of this hotel.
Rated as a 3*, the hotel offers a quality of product and service much higher than its official star rating.
The hotel is extremely clean, the staff is smiling, polite, and very reactive, happy to anticipate the client request and need, and frankly, this is not what Paris hotels are usually known for.

In terms of product quality, although some of the rooms can be quiet small as most of the hotels in Paris due to the fact they are hosted in old historical buildings, the quality of the decor and the furniture and the attention to detail is high.

The location is also very good,with the metro station rue des boulets just a couple of minutes walk, hence convenient for visitors with luggage using the public transport.
The lively area of Bastille is a mere 10-15 mns walk from the hotel.

Every member of staff I came across has been genuinely willing to help and accommodate: receptionist, breakfast team, cleaning team...
A little gem that needs to be discovered as it will change your views on the French Hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deannefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and were honored to stay at this hotel. We had high expectations as we had booked a room with a balcony, but were blown away by this amazing hotel. We arrived to find a bottle of champagne in our room and spent the first 20 minutes admiring the view.

They have an amazing attention to detail in all they do. The room had space by Parisian standards, had a great shower and the bed in room 553 was extremely comfortable, so much so it was hard to leave.

The front office staff were extremely friendly and were a wealth of information on local restaurants, walks and even helped us check in for our flight. Nothing was too hard for them.

There are 2 railway stations close by, but we found it easier to walk to key destinations, like the the Louvre, Notre Dame and even the Eiffel Tower. The wifi worked extremely well while we were there and overall a great experience by an authentic Parisian Hotel.

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdlowe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Accommodation was perfectly located away from the tourist areas, had very friendly staff and management and any request was acted upon cheerfully.
Metro station was 1 minutes walk, restaurants within 2 minutes walk, supermarket across the road.
It is better located than where I live.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are best because of the views and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fred w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Grand Hotel Francais. The location is close enough to the city center by foot or Metro to be convenient but not so close to be caught up in the tourist crowds. We enjoyed the help at the front desk for transportation questions and restaurant reservations and reccomendations. we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in the suite. Best room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attagirl1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went to this Hotell after finding it here on Trip Advisor. It was our 10 wedding anniversary and we mailed the Hotell in advance to let them know. When we arrived they upgraded us to a room with balcony and I was surprised to see that they had put champagne, chocolate, rose blades and a red boa (!) on our bed :-)) It was wonderful!
I also have to say that the staff were wonderful. Always happy an helpfull ("peace and love" as we said when we went out every day)
They gave us umbrella when the weather was rainy and took care of us in every way. Always smiling and a nice comment.
I don't know why some complain about the breakfast in the comments. We thought the breakfast was wonderful and not expensive, not more than you would pay on a cafe. The fresh juice, lovely caffe, delicat fruit, cheese and ham, eggs and differ small glasses of jam. We loved it!
We had a wonderful stay and would not hasitate to go back!
You should choose this Hotell :-)
Thank you for a nice stay - see you next time :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel HELUSSI
#43 of 1,802 in Paris
518 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#54 of 1,802 in Paris
2,375 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#115 of 1,802 in Paris
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#40 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#96 of 1,802 in Paris
603 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#352 of 1,802 in Paris
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing