We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for short break in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #104 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay for short break in Paris”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights, lovely rooms with all you need for a short break. Wifi available and pleasant and help staff. Two metro stations no more than a five minute walk away. Would defiantly return, don't get a cab to hotel from Eurostar station. Short hop on the metro and a heck lot cheaper. Many thanks to the staff for making my girlfriends birthday special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank eggybread82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    549
    86
    15
    7
See reviews for
180
1,287
96
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days. We had a beautiful room with three balcony windows that opened. The bed and bedding were very nice. Our room had a refrigerator in it.

The staff was amazing- very helpful with directions , advise and booking tours. The breakfast was good made to order coffee, juice, eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, croissants, choco o pan, baguettes, fruit,yogurt and cereals.

I was concerned with the neighborhood location but it is blocks away from the big nation stop and one other. The longest we ever had on the metro was 1/2 to the Eiffel Tower. The neighborhood offers a grocery store across the street, a laundromat several doors down, flower shop, pharmacy,bakeries and brasseries within blocks.

It was an excellent hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel should definitely qualify as a 5*, we arrived to the hotel straight off our flight to be told that we had been upgraded to a superior room, which was a lovely surprise!the room was small, however this is expectant of Paris and it was more than enough room for the two of us. The room was decorated to a high standard, complete with a safe and TV which streamed English channels. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, every day they were more than happy to provide us with directions and advice! We were staying for four days and so the receptionist suggested we get the three day metro ticket, which saved us a lot of money rather than buying individual tickets for every trip! We would not have known about this golden piece of advice if it weren't for him so thankyou! The hotel is in a great location, with supermarkets, restaurants and pharmacies located within 3 minutes walking distance. A metro station is located a 2 minute walk away from the hotel which we used to get to everywhere in Paris that we wished to travel and a 2 minute walk in the opposite direction is an RER station which goes to Disney. The maids cleaned our room everyday and were more than happy to come back at a time that was convenient to us. Paris was amazing and that was genuinely due to our a accommodation which was a great base if wanting to travel and tour the city. If you're visiting paris definitely stay with the Grand Francais and you will not be disappointed! I would like to visit the city again at some point and if I do I will not hesitate to book with this amazing hotel once again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sjwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Ma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

After several long drives in France we were ready for a relaxing rest. The Grand Hotel Francais was just the ticket. It made our 4 days in Paris most enjoyable. The hotel is out from the city center, but still very easy to use the Metro to see all the sites very easily. The Metro station is only 50 yards North of the hotel. There is a very nice grocery store right across the street, as well as several patisseries. The hotel is located on a rather busy street, but the windows keep most of the sound out. Just remember Paris is a large city, so expect some noise. The hotel is VERY clean and has air conditioning. The bedding is excellent and the bathroom linens are very thick, not like some hotels where they can be on the thin side. There is even a small refrigerator in your room. For those of you that may need to wash a few cloths, there is a very nice coin operated laundry a few steps to the South. Or the hotel will be happy to offer laundry service.

The best of this hotel is the management and personnel. They go out of there way to be of service to your every need. They speak English very well and always answer your questions with a smile.

This is one hotel that I would definitely stay at again on our next trip to Paris.

Room Tip: If you have more than a couple suitcases, you may want to consider the Privilege Room. We did and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col_Smic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Another great stay at this lovely small hotel. The rooms are immaculately clean and nicely furnished. The continental breakfast is god quality and more than filling.The service from all the staff is excellent both professional and extremely friendly. Located close to the Nation RER/Metro station it is handy to get anywhere in Paris. Lots of lovely restaurants close by make it an ideal location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I had an overnight stay at the hotel and we were very impressed with not only the room but also the amazing staff. Rooms were very clean and nicely appointed. Our view was of a building next door but we were not there to see the views from our hotel room. The location, in my opinion, was perfect. We were away from the craziness of the main part of Paris making things more quiet and giving us the opportunity to see more typical Parisienne life. There were plenty of small cafes and little shops in the area. The National metro stop was very close (5 minute stroll) which made getting around to the rest of the city easy.

If you are looking for a very nice hotel with nice rooms, a friendly staff and away from the main drag then this is absolutely the place for you!

Room Tip: I my opinion, these rooms exceed the typical hotel rooms that you find in Europe. They were very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend as a family of 4 adults. We got a fantastic deal on Secret Escapes. The hotel met all of our expectations from start to finish. We had 2 double rooms, although on the small side this was never an issue. Its a boutique hotel so we gathered the rooms would be small. Room and bathroom immaculate and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was a great way to start the day could not fault it! The location of the hotel is outside the centre of Paris but there is a metro station right outside the hotel which takes you all over Paris so was a great way to get around. If you get the metro from the hotel (Rue des Boulets) to Grands Boulevards which is 8 stops away on the green line there are lots of restaurants and bars here! It seemed to be the a lively place with lots going on.
Finally the staff..... a first class customer experience. So helpful and friendly from start to finish. They made our stay in Paris!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nats222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel HELUSSI
#44 of 1,802 in Paris
518 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#54 of 1,802 in Paris
2,376 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#113 of 1,802 in Paris
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#42 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#96 of 1,802 in Paris
605 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#364 of 1,802 in Paris
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#60 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing