We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Staff &Cleanliness; 1 Star Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #97 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“5 Star Staff &Cleanliness; 1 Star Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I keep reading how "perfect" this hotel is, and, as I can agree with the accolades for the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff, the location is certainly a cause for concern for anyone who is in Paris to see the sites.

First, the good news:
The rooms in the hotel are immaculate. You will find 4 star amenities; boutique soaps, luffer pad, thick large bath towels, slip-on slippers. The shower is powerful and plenty of hot water. The bathrooms look new or renovated. The rooms are quiet-almost soundproof- a great feature. The mattress was very good, so the bed was comfortable.

Zayad, at the front desk, is a one-man comedy act, could be a stand-up immprov comic, An asset to the hotel, he's quick and funny and equally friendly and helpful.
Breakfast: average. If it's included with the room it's an ok. breakfast. In the basement breakfast room you'll find yogurt, croissants, fruit, make-your-own coffee from the press-the-button coffee machine. Nothing made-to-order, like omlettes are offered, but of course, not to be expected at a 3 star hotel.

Now the bad news:
The hotel is close to NOTHING! The front desk will claim it's a 5 minute walk to the Metro/Nations. Yes, if you are a sprinter or a runner. Quite honestly, for in- shape walkers like we are, it's a good 15 minute walk. Add that to an average 20-25 Metro ride, ( more if you must also change lines) to your destination back and forth to your hotel, and you have added quite a lot of travel time to your day. Also, be advised that the Nations Station (that most connects this area of Paris to others) is configured around a huge 4 block traffic circle, so it's very disorienting when you come out. Also, add another ten minutes to the hotel if you come out of the subway farthest from the hotel. We also tried taxis from the Grand Hotel Francais, and, as they are quite expense, we had a $35 taxi ride from the Eiffel Tower, for example.

We had booked this hotel for 6 nights with points from British Airways. The first night we were given a closet that they turned into a hotel room. My priorities when selecting a hotel are cleanliness and location, and really don't require space, as we don't spend much time in the room. But, this was ridiculous! When had to move the bed away from the wall to get in it. The toilet in the bathroom was practically in the bathtub! Smallest room/bathroom we have ever had-even MUCH smaller than an inside cabin/bath on a cruise ship. We asked for another room for the other 5 nights and were given a larger room, typical small European size, but perfectly fine. Unfortunately, the inside lock on our door did not work, and even after reporting this, it wasn't fixed, but we were grateful to have a bigger room, so we didn't make this an issue.

In leu of the location, we would not return to this hotel, even if it were offered again with points.

Room Tip: Least expensive room is a "converted closet". Take the next price point room, if you choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    539
    84
    15
    7
See reviews for
175
1,261
94
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our third stay at this wonderful little hotel in the 11e in Paris. Zyad and his staff are very friendly and helpful, and always make our stay very pleasant. The hotel is very close to the metro and larger train station. The rooms are lovely. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Paris and will look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family spent one night (3 rooms) in this lovely hotel. Rooms are small but clean. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Even loaned us umbrellas for our trip to see the Eiffel Tower. Breakfast was very good also. quiet neighborhood and close to the Metro. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Highly recommend this hotel. Easy access to metro, key sites, lots of walking food choices, excellent, friendly and helpful hotel staff. Nice super clean rooms with comfortable beddings and hot showers. Free laundry service. Coffee maker and fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Njurunda, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Immediatly greeted by friendly staff with great english. Clean, good rooms which are pretty much soundproof, in a nice neighbourhood with close-by gourmet resturants and easy metro and train access. This hotel hit all the marks for us, will return if we ever revisit Paris!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a great time in Paris and the staff here were always ready to help with any requests or questions. Other reviews of this hotel aren't exaggerating their comments about the staff. Room was small but functional and clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We knew that our room would be small, but everything was well laid out and comfortable so it didn't matter. The large window probably helped make it feel less claustrophobic, too.
All the hotel staff were both charming and obliging; nothing seemed too much trouble. We really were made to feel like valued guests.
Breakfast definitely exceeded our expectations, with a great selection of croissants, breads, cheeses, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts etc making a good start to the day.
The hotel is in quite a nice area, very convenient for both Rue des Boulets and Nation Metro stations (chose according to your destination).
We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and/or facing on to Passage Guenot (the side street) would probably be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthseaSteve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#24 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#101 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#99 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#36 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#379 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#99 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing