We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Francais
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Manufacture(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Muguet(Paris)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Augustin - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Saint Germain(Paris)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$389
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,088)
Filter reviews
2,088 results
Traveller rating
1,400
575
90
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,400
575
90
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrue des bouletsnation stationplace de la nationmetro stationminute walkthe hotel staffrooms are smallour honeymooncorner roomexcellent hotelsuperior roomcroissantsboiled eggscentral pariscold meatsbooked this hoteltourist attractions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 2,088 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. We would like to send our special thanks to Vanessa and Zyad, who helped us genuinely for everything, such as calling for booking tickets for attractions, even actively suggesting all sorts of local restaurant and shops to us as a new visitor in Paris. Staff in the hotel are always wearing smiles on their faces. They are just so great and provide excellent service to customers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved the Grand Hotel Francais, and would absolutely stay there again with pleasure. We spent 6 nights there as the first half of our honeymoon and found that everything met or exceeded our expectations, and I'll note right off the top that the bed was amazing - high quality bedding and an outstanding mattress. We arrived at 11:30 a.m. and expected to drop off our luggage and head out into greater Paris, but we were treated to some hot cappuccino and box of chocolates as the finishing touches were put on our room - we were checked in and unpacked before noon! When we checked out six days later, we were treated with the warmth of good friends; such a great staff; they allowed us to leave our bags behind the desk while we immersed ourselves in the grandeur of Paris for one more afternoon, and had a taxi-car within minutes to take us to Gare du Nord when it was finally time to say goodbye. An absolute pleasurable stay from start to finish, marked with detailed and attentive service, warmth, and care. A truly incredible staff and extremely good hotel. Let me point out a few more specifics:

Location - though Grand Hotel Francais is not near any of the main tourist attractions (though Pere Lachaise and the Bastile are about 15-20 minutes walk), that IS one of the attractions of this place as there are not too many tourists crowding about. The hotel is very near the Nation station (and yes, it is a 5-7-minute walk, and very convenient, regardless of what other people have written on this site), from which you can get anywhere in Paris in 15-25 minutes; we also arrived here very easily on the RER from CDG airport. The hotel is also near several fantastic restaurants (Bistrot Paul Bert, Pozada, Septime and Clamato a mere 10-minute walk, while Yard and Bones more like 15 minutes) as the 11th has emerged as a strong culinary district. Moreover, while there are not many great cafes on Voltaire near the hotel, there are plenty in the neighborhood with a 10 minutes walk. While you won't walk out of the hotel and see post-card Paris, you will see where Parisians live and work, and with a little walk or a metro ride you can see all the Paris you want (and the metro is very efficient, especially Line 1, which runs to the main sites along the Seine). We had 6 days to explore Paris, so we were able to enjoy everything at a very comfortable pace; yes, we had some long walks, but we loved them. We walked more than a few times to Notre Dame Cathedral, about 40-45 minutes casually from the hotel, or a little longer if you saunter through Le Marais: my favourite walk in the world now.

Breakfast - we really enjoyed the breakfast every morning, as the croissants, pain au chocolat, and baguettes were fresh and delicious; the assortment of meats and cheeses and jams and yoghurt and juices and fruit were plentiful, and the self-serve fancy coffee machine did the trick. I can understand that some people need fancy eggs (they have boiled eggs) and sausages, but we certainly did not miss it and loved our breakfast together, which was quickly consumed or slowly taken in, however we wanted it. The woman who works the week and the man who works the weekend were both tremendously efficient and friendly. Of course, there are plenty of boulangeries and patisseries and gourmet butcher shops within minutes of the hotel, so you can sort out your own breakfast on foot if you prefer.

Room - we enjoyed room 223 with the wrap-around balcony on the second floor. As a Privilege room, we found it more than enough space; while we were hoping for the top floor one with the really nice views (the pictures on Trip Advisor show these views are the ideal ones!), it was still nice to open the three windows and step outside above street level even if the view was largely taken up by a tree. There is traffic on Voltaire, but it never bothered us; one can hear doors closing, of course, and we could hear the younger kids above us for two of the nights, but it never became intrusive; we slept incredibly well, every night. Though this was my first time in Paris, this was my wife's 6th, and she confirmed that ours was surely the cleanest hotel room in Paris. The bathroom is not large, but not that small; we were quite pleased with it (they do supply hair and body shampoo, but no conditioner or body cream -- just so you know; we had brought most of this with us, but I suspect had we asked they would have supplied us with anything we wanted!).

Staff - as mentioned above, we can't say enough positive things about the staff; they are simply the best. We foolishly never asked anyone's name (I suppose we're a touch shy that way), but the main man there/concierge, the night desk young man (with whom I bantered a bit about the World Cup!), and the lovely young lady during the day were a real pleasure to see each day and night. They are all experts in the trade, extremely helpful, and best of all warm and friendly. We speak a little French but really appreciated how excellent everyone's English is, and how affirmative and supportive they were every time we used French. We should also tip our hats to the cleaning staff, who we rarely saw but who magically cleaned our room spotless every time we slipped out for the day. Perfect.

In short, the Grand Hotel Francais and its staff made our honeymoon unforgettable in the best possible way. We thanked them profusely upon leaving, and want to thank them again here, sincerely. We would, and hopefully will, stay with the Grand Hotel Francais again some day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Robin6155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for le tour weekend. All boxes ticked for me. The location is fine, the staff are excellent, the rooms are small but spotless. It's everything you need as a decent base for sightseeing. The metro is right beside but we did most things by foot as we like to see everything.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Topazcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Found this hotel on Trip Advisor and we were thoroughly impressed. Was easy to get to from train/metro and centrally enough located to tour around sites, we even walked down to central area around Seine/Notre Dame one day (but only advise if up for exercise-walk). They upgraded our room on arrival and we found complementary wine when we checked in. The various staff members were all very friendly and helpful - great to come home to after day out in Paris. Best part was the great breakfast that was included - really good set up with array of options, very good start to day. Had list of suggested restaurants in neighbourhood - went to Petit Panisse on their recommendation and loved it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allison_and_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This a great little hotel. Better than I expected for the price. Friendly staff, clean, nicely appointed rooms. I just jumped on the interment and booked it about a week before and crossed my fingers, I was very pleased!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank SamSwank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews