We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small-------very!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Elysees
Ranked #1,484 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It did not start well, when we arrived to be told our bookings had not been kept. However the FANTASTIC concierge Zaid had it sorted by the morning. Our room faced inwards, but we could open the window to let in fresh air. The room was small by most standards, but apart from the non-existent water pressure and a shower head almost falling out, the beds were comfortable. The breakfast room was an absolute giggle, it was so small and cramped, the choice of food was yoghurt, cornflakes, toast( if there was any bread left) cold eggs, ham and some assorted bread rolls and the waitress? was miserable. Tea and coffee was available, but the hot water vacuum was usually empty. The week-end night manager did not give our pre-ordered 6am call, so we missed our transfer to the airport, he said we must have only thought we asked for it...please!!! But Zaid, the day manager was so helpful, friendly, as we mangled the French language and humourous, he made it all worth while. The hotel is in a good area with many shops and food outlets everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertLoverVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. We do our best to make the stay of our guests as pleasnat as possible. Concerning your comments about the room and breakfast , the general manager is going to investigate and actions will be taken to fix everything.

ZAID
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal Elysees
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Arrived at this hotel and were to stay for a couple of days, but only stayed for one night, the rooms we had were old and dirty, the bathroom was disgusting, very unhygienic, the taps on the basin were very loose like they were going to come apart, felt very itchy and it lacked fresh air.
The breakfast was the worst I had ever experienced felt like you sitting in a storeroom at the bottom of the building very confined, the food was terrible.
The feeling in this place was very unsettling, lost good money on such a dump of a hotel. I don't recommend anyone stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazzy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013
Google Translation

Cher client,

Nous avons lu avec attention vos commentaires et nous souhaitons vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience sur Tripadvisor.
Nous trouvons vos commentaires exagérés. Chaque jour, nous essayons de donner un service en accord avec les attentes de notre clientèle.

Par rapport à nos installations, je voudrais vous indiquer que l'hôtel est un bâtiment ancien typique parisien et nous faisons de notre mieux pour préserver son esprit classique.

cordialement,
ZAID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I found this hotel old (as most hotels in Europe are) and perhaps a little shabby in places, but in an utterly charming way. Room was lovely, beds comfortable and balcony overlooked the Arc de Triumph. Can't beat THAT for location. Yes, the breakfast room is small and cramped, but you DO have the alternative option of ordering to your room. As hotel was not busy, we didn't find it a problem. The staff could not have been more helpful or polite. THANK YOU Mr Z :-) I would most definitely stay there again. Air conditioning worked perfectly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thanks a lot for your comments.

best regards

Z
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Upon arrival the hotel looked alright but that`s when niceness finished. The room had a musty smell was old and rundown, it was also very noisy at night and felt itchy when lying in the bed which was very uncomfortable to say the least. The shower leaked, metal fixtures in bathroom were rusty and/or dirty "what a disgrace", breakfast was terrible and we only stayed at the hotel for 1 night out of 3.
The following morning when we decided to check out and ask the concierge to call a taxi, We expected an interest as to why we checked out so early, but the only thing we got was the question "which hotel would you like the taxi to take you to ?" and not trying to resolve the issue at hand, so it seemed like to us that he was used to customers checking out early.
This experience in beautiful Paris left us with a sour taste and spoiled an otherwise awesome holiday and left us out of pocket due to finding alternate accommodation. Don`t waste your time and money with this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are very sorry to see that you didn't like our property. Probably you were expecting a deluxe hotel.
We found your comments severe and do not show reality.
Also we would like to inform you that our hotel has renewed its certificate of 4 stars according to French law. This classification is obtained by a thorough auditing standards. You will find better 4 stars but with double price or even more.
sorry for this late reply as we had lost the password to reply.
best regards,

ZAID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Booked for a few nights and only stayed one. The bathroom was a disgrace, looked old and grotty with the door of the bathroom with the wood was peeling off, ants were on the table in the room. The breakfast was awful and the area this was served cramped and airless. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was uncomfortable to say the least. Terrible experience which left me out of pocket and nearly ruined the entire trip.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank BSO873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013
Google Translation

Nous avons pris connaissance de vos commentaires dont nous vous remercions; Notre plus grand souci étant la satisfaction de nos Clients, nous allons tout mettre en œuvre pour améliorer les points que vous avez soulevé concernant le petit déjeuner.
je voudrais vous indiquer que l'hôtel est un bâtiment ancien typique parisien et nous faisons de notre mieux pour préserver son esprit classique.

Je suis sincèrement désolé que vous soyez parti avec une impression négative de notre Hotel.
Cordialement,
ZAID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here over the long weekend bank holiday. We were 2 couples MO Mo the young gentleman on the front desk was very helpful with great advice on where to eat etc. Fabulous position to walk to most of the great sights in Paris, A clean and well maintained older building. Well priced for the position in center of Paris. Would definitely stay here again. If you want 5 star I suggest you pay the extra and choose one of the many other very expensive Hotels in Paris. But if you want good value for money. This hotel will provide a great position clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfpollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. All the staff is happy to hear that you appreciated their service and wish to welcome you again in our property.

best regards,

ZAID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is a great place for someone who does not want to spend a lot of time looking for all those popular landmarks in Paris as it is situated just next to the Arc de Triomphe. The rooms are quite clean but insanely small. Breakfasts are...limited as you may have croissants (of course), baguettes with jam or Nutella and hard boiled eggs and... that's about it. Nevertheless, if you plan a short visit with a tight sightseeing schedule, Hotel Royal is The place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiolkakucuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013
Google Translation

Cher client,

Nous avons lu avec attention vos commentaires et nous souhaitons vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience sur Tripadvisor.
Nous voulons vous remercier également pour votre commentaire sur notre situation sur Paris. Nous ferons de notre mieux pour ameliorer notre petit déjeuner sans augmenter les tarifs. Chaque jour, nous essayons de donner un service en accord avec les attentes de notre clientèle.

cordialement,
A. ZAID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#284 of 1,804 in Paris
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#748 of 1,804 in Paris
433 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture
Champs-Elysees
Best Western Empire Elysees
Best Western Empire Elysees
#1,042 of 1,804 in Paris
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Elysees

Address: 6 avenue Victor Hugo | 16th Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#501 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £80 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Elysees Hotel
Royal Elysees Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing