We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Pax Opera(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$497
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$510
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$378
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
57
76
37
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
76
37
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspassy metro stationeiffel towergreat locationbetween floorsnight stay in parisroom pricestayed for nightslovely hotelboiled eggsparisian hotelsmall liftbusiness triparound the cornerminute walkmini barcroissantswould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This is a nice little hotel! It is about a 5 minute walk to the Eiffel tower (on quiet streets) so I ended up walking to the tower a few times on my trip to see it during the day and then lit up at night. Rue Passy has so many shops and food stores-which was very handy for anything you need to pick up. The metro line is probably one a 3 minute walk away. The staff was very nice in providing recommendations and suggestions. I stayed in a single room, and of course, it was very small (as I expected it to be) but was decorated so elegantly-I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbp079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Pros:
* In the 16th arrondissement of Paris, it is in one of the nicer sections of the city. Having later visited the 18th arr., I appreciate its niceness even more.
* Room furnishing are quaint, very pretty and simple, some might call it "shabby chic"
* Relatively close to the Passy metro station, and once you're on the metro, you can retty much just about go anywhere
* View of the tip of the Eiffel Tower
* Hotel is proud of its "green" status (carbon neutral/water recycling etc.) and that's great, but (shamefully) not at all one of the features which we chose the hotel for.
* English/French speaking staff
* FREE WIFI, always a plus

Cons:
* Expensive. Sure, you get what you pay for, it's in the nice part of Paris, all renovated and looking good, but at the end of the day, you're looking at 300+ Euros per night.
* No included breakfast :(
* No parking

Tip:
* As long as you have booked a Junior Suite or more, you will have plenty of space and comfort. The regular rooms are quite small as reflected in some of the other reviews, but we were in a suite and it was great
* A book of 10 metro tickets is called a carnet and has no expiry date, and can be used multiple times in the first hour after use

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ochophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornado911, Directeur général at Hotel Gavarni, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear client,

First of all thanks for staying with us and for your very useful comments!
Regarding the price of the room, as you said you were in a suite, so obviously it's more expensive, but we do have smaller (and cheaper) rooms of course! Also, we offer numerous promotions and discounts throughout the year.
Also, it's true indeed that we don't have our own parking, but there's a private parking just around the corner from the hotel.
We hope you will come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed for 9 nights in a family suite which is really 2 adjoining rooms with own bathrooms.
First of all the pluses: Easy walk to the Eiffel Tower, short walk to the Metro, nice up-market neighbourhood, supermarket is 1 block away, which opens at 9 am, friendly staff who can all speak English, free in-room wifi internet, nice deco in the rooms, room service is very quick most of the time.
Minuses: Rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller, the shower shampoo dispensers did not work and were not fixed for the duration of our stay, the air-cond in one of the rooms was not working, no kettle in the rooms for tea or coffee (though when we requested for hot water and cups they did arrive promptly)
We enquired about and was booked a taxi for our trip to the airport. It would have been nice to be informed that with a booked taxi, they put the meter on 10 minutes before the taxi arrived so the meter was already at 16 Euros when we got in instead of about 2 Euros if you hailed one at the street. (Unless we were conned by the driver)
Anyway, we had a nice stay and enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FossFoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornado911, Directeur général at Hotel Gavarni, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear client,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us and for your very useful comments!We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back again soon!
The room you are referring to is indeed a family room, not a suite, so obviously it's smaller, but of course all appliances should work perfectly so i am very sorry if it was not the case, we are constantly trying to improve maintenance and we take good note of your comments.
We hope you will come back soon and will be very happy to receive you again in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My family and I enjoyed our stay here. Luxurious and comfortable rooms with lovely decor, friendly staff and great location. Breakfast served in our room was my favorite part of our stay. Organic fruits and eggs and environmentally sound practices made our stay even better. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornado911, Directeur général at Hotel Gavarni, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your nice comments!They are greatly appreciated as it is always a pleasure to get recognition from our clients!We always aim at serving our clients better, and hope you will enjoy your next stay with us even more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The hotel is in a great area near the Tower. Easy access to the Metro. The neighborhood has many places to eat, The staff was attentive and friendly but aloof my wife needed medical help and they were very helpful. Our room was small on the 5th floor with a view over the neighborhood. The room was just fine for our two -day stay. We do not speak French but they spoke English. The breakfast was excellent at 15 Euro. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WML50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornado911, Directeur général at Hotel Gavarni, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Dear client,
Thank you very much for our stay and your appreciation of our hotel!
We hope that your wife is doing much better now, and hope to see you again vey soon indeed!
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews