We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Pax Opera(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Paris 17(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$355
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$405
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
57
76
37
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
76
37
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspassy metro stationeiffel towergreat locationbetween floorsnight stay in parisroom pricestayed for nightslovely hotelboiled eggsparisian hotelsmall liftbusiness triparound the cornerminute walkmini barcroissantswould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Gavarni is a nice hotel. The best features are its good value for money, location and its reasonably priced breakfast. However, its rooms are quite small (unless you are staying in one of the suites) and the bathrooms are the most compact I have seen in a Paris hotel. I found the sound proofing in the rooms to be a a little thin (I often can hear people snoring in adjacent rooms)! There is cable TV in the rooms offering many non english language channels.

The lift unfortunately opens between floors meaning that luggage has to be hauled up or down the stair case to the relevant floor.

The reception staff are relaxed and I found most of them to be very helpful.

There are plenty of eating options nearby but as the 16th district is mainly a residental/diplomatic area, there is not the same range or abundance that can be found elsewhere. That said there are several good restaurants nearby and a small shopping centre - Passy Centre - about 10 minutes away.

The metro - Passy station - is also a short walk down the street.

Room Tip: The junior suites offer more room than the standard rooms. The standard rooms are quite small.
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller5759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel from 31st August for 3 nights. The hotel was perfectly located in the lovely area of Passy, which you cannot fully appreciate until you arrive. An abundance of patisseries, shops, restaurants, bars on your doorstep, not to mention the 5 minute walk to the Eiffel tower. We booked for a superior double, which was small but, in my opinion, bigger than I expected after reading previous reviews of the hotel. The decoration of the room was very pretty, Parisian style, and the room was very clean. Breakfast was offered to us but we didn’t stay for the breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment. The staff were very friendly and helpful. On the first night, we asked the reception for a recommendation of good French food, and the restaurant they sent us to was so good (and reasonably priced), we went back for our last supper before leaving Paris!
I would most definitely recommend this hotel for a great all round 3 star hotel, and would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This is a nice little hotel! It is about a 5 minute walk to the Eiffel tower (on quiet streets) so I ended up walking to the tower a few times on my trip to see it during the day and then lit up at night. Rue Passy has so many shops and food stores-which was very handy for anything you need to pick up. The metro line is probably one a 3 minute walk away. The staff was very nice in providing recommendations and suggestions. I stayed in a single room, and of course, it was very small (as I expected it to be) but was decorated so elegantly-I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbp079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Pros:
* In the 16th arrondissement of Paris, it is in one of the nicer sections of the city. Having later visited the 18th arr., I appreciate its niceness even more.
* Room furnishing are quaint, very pretty and simple, some might call it "shabby chic"
* Relatively close to the Passy metro station, and once you're on the metro, you can retty much just about go anywhere
* View of the tip of the Eiffel Tower
* Hotel is proud of its "green" status (carbon neutral/water recycling etc.) and that's great, but (shamefully) not at all one of the features which we chose the hotel for.
* English/French speaking staff
* FREE WIFI, always a plus

Cons:
* Expensive. Sure, you get what you pay for, it's in the nice part of Paris, all renovated and looking good, but at the end of the day, you're looking at 300+ Euros per night.
* No included breakfast :(
* No parking

Tip:
* As long as you have booked a Junior Suite or more, you will have plenty of space and comfort. The regular rooms are quite small as reflected in some of the other reviews, but we were in a suite and it was great
* A book of 10 metro tickets is called a carnet and has no expiry date, and can be used multiple times in the first hour after use

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ochophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornado911, Directeur général at Hotel Gavarni, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear client,

First of all thanks for staying with us and for your very useful comments!
Regarding the price of the room, as you said you were in a suite, so obviously it's more expensive, but we do have smaller (and cheaper) rooms of course! Also, we offer numerous promotions and discounts throughout the year.
Also, it's true indeed that we don't have our own parking, but there's a private parking just around the corner from the hotel.
We hope you will come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed for 9 nights in a family suite which is really 2 adjoining rooms with own bathrooms.
First of all the pluses: Easy walk to the Eiffel Tower, short walk to the Metro, nice up-market neighbourhood, supermarket is 1 block away, which opens at 9 am, friendly staff who can all speak English, free in-room wifi internet, nice deco in the rooms, room service is very quick most of the time.
Minuses: Rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller, the shower shampoo dispensers did not work and were not fixed for the duration of our stay, the air-cond in one of the rooms was not working, no kettle in the rooms for tea or coffee (though when we requested for hot water and cups they did arrive promptly)
We enquired about and was booked a taxi for our trip to the airport. It would have been nice to be informed that with a booked taxi, they put the meter on 10 minutes before the taxi arrived so the meter was already at 16 Euros when we got in instead of about 2 Euros if you hailed one at the street. (Unless we were conned by the driver)
Anyway, we had a nice stay and enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FossFoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornado911, Directeur général at Hotel Gavarni, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear client,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us and for your very useful comments!We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back again soon!
The room you are referring to is indeed a family room, not a suite, so obviously it's smaller, but of course all appliances should work perfectly so i am very sorry if it was not the case, we are constantly trying to improve maintenance and we take good note of your comments.
We hope you will come back soon and will be very happy to receive you again in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews