We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in 16th”
Review of Hotel Gavarni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gavarni
Ranked #1,119 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Jewel in 16th”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

A very last minute trip to Paris with no knowledge of the 16th arrondisemont provided us a very pleasant surprize with this little jewel of a hotel.
Located on Rue Gavarni accessable to Rue de Passey and Eiffel Tower area this
was beyond expectations! The staff was EXCELLENT! As helpful as possible with everything we needed, they were wonderful! I would go back again if I could as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    72
    33
    12
    2
See reviews for
20
52
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed here with my husband and dad for a quick two day stay in Paris. We had originally booked the apartment/ family room for a great price online, however upon arriving at the hotel for check in we were told there was a problem with the room and they asked if we would mind staying in the Eiffel Suite. The Suite was beautiful with a lovely view of the tower. The room was large enough with a pull out sofa, which wasn't ideal as we had originally booked the apartment for two separate sleeping areas. That said, the lovely room and view along with the amazing location made up for it. Also, the price we ended up paying for the suite was much less than they normally claim they command. As anticipated for Paris the bathroom and the lift were very small but not something that I minded. Another pro was it was an all green hotel. Two cons I could think of was the horribly slow wi-fi. So slow not even useable. Also as we drove parking was expensive at a garage around the corner. All in all a lovely stay and a view that took my breath away especially when the tower lit up at night. I can't say that we would have chosen or stayed at this hotel for the full price they advertise, but for the short stay and the way everything work out it was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millavinilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Gavarni is a nice hotel. The best features are its good value for money, location and its reasonably priced breakfast. However, its rooms are quite small (unless you are staying in one of the suites) and the bathrooms are the most compact I have seen in a Paris hotel. I found the sound proofing in the rooms to be a a little thin (I often can hear people snoring in adjacent rooms)! There is cable TV in the rooms offering many non english language channels.

The lift unfortunately opens between floors meaning that luggage has to be hauled up or down the stair case to the relevant floor.

The reception staff are relaxed and I found most of them to be very helpful.

There are plenty of eating options nearby but as the 16th district is mainly a residental/diplomatic area, there is not the same range or abundance that can be found elsewhere. That said there are several good restaurants nearby and a small shopping centre - Passy Centre - about 10 minutes away.

The metro - Passy station - is also a short walk down the street.

Room Tip: The junior suites offer more room than the standard rooms. The standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller5759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel from 31st August for 3 nights. The hotel was perfectly located in the lovely area of Passy, which you cannot fully appreciate until you arrive. An abundance of patisseries, shops, restaurants, bars on your doorstep, not to mention the 5 minute walk to the Eiffel tower. We booked for a superior double, which was small but, in my opinion, bigger than I expected after reading previous reviews of the hotel. The decoration of the room was very pretty, Parisian style, and the room was very clean. Breakfast was offered to us but we didn’t stay for the breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment. The staff were very friendly and helpful. On the first night, we asked the reception for a recommendation of good French food, and the restaurant they sent us to was so good (and reasonably priced), we went back for our last supper before leaving Paris!
I would most definitely recommend this hotel for a great all round 3 star hotel, and would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This is a nice little hotel! It is about a 5 minute walk to the Eiffel tower (on quiet streets) so I ended up walking to the tower a few times on my trip to see it during the day and then lit up at night. Rue Passy has so many shops and food stores-which was very handy for anything you need to pick up. The metro line is probably one a 3 minute walk away. The staff was very nice in providing recommendations and suggestions. I stayed in a single room, and of course, it was very small (as I expected it to be) but was decorated so elegantly-I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbp079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Pros:
* In the 16th arrondissement of Paris, it is in one of the nicer sections of the city. Having later visited the 18th arr., I appreciate its niceness even more.
* Room furnishing are quaint, very pretty and simple, some might call it "shabby chic"
* Relatively close to the Passy metro station, and once you're on the metro, you can retty much just about go anywhere
* View of the tip of the Eiffel Tower
* Hotel is proud of its "green" status (carbon neutral/water recycling etc.) and that's great, but (shamefully) not at all one of the features which we chose the hotel for.
* English/French speaking staff
* FREE WIFI, always a plus

Cons:
* Expensive. Sure, you get what you pay for, it's in the nice part of Paris, all renovated and looking good, but at the end of the day, you're looking at 300+ Euros per night.
* No included breakfast :(
* No parking

Tip:
* As long as you have booked a Junior Suite or more, you will have plenty of space and comfort. The regular rooms are quite small as reflected in some of the other reviews, but we were in a suite and it was great
* A book of 10 metro tickets is called a carnet and has no expiry date, and can be used multiple times in the first hour after use

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ochophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornado911, Directeur général at Hotel Gavarni, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear client,

First of all thanks for staying with us and for your very useful comments!
Regarding the price of the room, as you said you were in a suite, so obviously it's more expensive, but we do have smaller (and cheaper) rooms of course! Also, we offer numerous promotions and discounts throughout the year.
Also, it's true indeed that we don't have our own parking, but there's a private parking just around the corner from the hotel.
We hope you will come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed for 9 nights in a family suite which is really 2 adjoining rooms with own bathrooms.
First of all the pluses: Easy walk to the Eiffel Tower, short walk to the Metro, nice up-market neighbourhood, supermarket is 1 block away, which opens at 9 am, friendly staff who can all speak English, free in-room wifi internet, nice deco in the rooms, room service is very quick most of the time.
Minuses: Rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller, the shower shampoo dispensers did not work and were not fixed for the duration of our stay, the air-cond in one of the rooms was not working, no kettle in the rooms for tea or coffee (though when we requested for hot water and cups they did arrive promptly)
We enquired about and was booked a taxi for our trip to the airport. It would have been nice to be informed that with a booked taxi, they put the meter on 10 minutes before the taxi arrived so the meter was already at 16 Euros when we got in instead of about 2 Euros if you hailed one at the street. (Unless we were conned by the driver)
Anyway, we had a nice stay and enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FossFoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornado911, Directeur général at Hotel Gavarni, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear client,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us and for your very useful comments!We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back again soon!
The room you are referring to is indeed a family room, not a suite, so obviously it's smaller, but of course all appliances should work perfectly so i am very sorry if it was not the case, we are constantly trying to improve maintenance and we take good note of your comments.
We hope you will come back soon and will be very happy to receive you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Trocadero
Passy Eiffel Hotel
Passy Eiffel Hotel
#191 of 1,800 in Paris
599 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Nicolo
Hotel Nicolo
#161 of 1,800 in Paris
430 reviews
Trocadero
Best Western Premier Trocadero La Tour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trocadero
Hotel Windsor Home
Hotel Windsor Home
#1,301 of 1,800 in Paris
34 reviews
Trocadero
Hameau De Passy
Hameau De Passy
#992 of 1,800 in Paris
272 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Eiffel Trocadero
Hotel Eiffel Trocadero
#828 of 1,800 in Paris
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gavarni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gavarni

Property: Hotel Gavarni
Address: 5 rue Gavarni | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero , Passy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gavarni 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gavarni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavarni Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing