We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 star less than Ritz (sarcastic)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel les Hauts de Passy
Ranked #1,389 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 26 February 2008

If you are looking for a small place just for sleeping and nothing else, OK, maybe this is your place. Here you will find an unconfortable bed, no safe deposit box, no brakfast, no TV more than 2 french air channels, no fridge, no confortable shower and and a lot of "no's". It was funny to find that you don't have any accesory to hang towels! Or any shelf in the bathroom, or the shower was broken, or you can't see the soap inside the shower because there's no light!
What if you want to make a phone call?: people at the frontdesk can't assist you because they don't know how!
The hotel is located close to Trocadero and a few blocks from Eiffel Tower, the street is just for pedestrians and by day is full of nice food shops (a little smell from fromages, but not too much). Less than 1 block, you will find a Mc Donald's, which is a benefit if you consider the high prices of restaurants and bistro's.
An advantage of all the cons is that one does not have desire to return and takes a walk much longer by Paris hahahaha
Summary: Depressing hotel at nice area and a little bit close to Eiffel Tower.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LadyMariann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
The best thing about this hotel is its location. There are lots of delicious shops and restaurants nearby, and its only about a 10 minute walk to the Trocadero and Eiffel area, or a few minutes walk to a metro stop. Its also a couple blocks to Passy street where there's many lovely clothing stores!
The staff at the hotel were helpful with directions and recommendations.
The rooms are very simple but clean and functional.
I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosesinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

I had a wonderful time at this hotel, though I need to preface my review with a warning: the hotel is not completely up-front about their amenities, and in some instances they have outright lied. We booked through Travelocity, and according to their customer service, the hotel had the opportunity to describe their available amenities themselves. So... the free breakfast was a lie. There is no such thing. The laundry services were not on-site, but rather at the laundromat across the street. Internet access was NOT free, and in fact cost a small fortune. There is no restaurant... there is a small breakfast room which closes immediately after breakfast. There are no alarm clocks (we were using our IPods for clocks). No in-room safes. No minibars. The phone was terrible, and when my number "4" was stuck, I was told that the phone was perfectly serviceable since all of the other numbers worked! Apparently I just had to make the extra effort to only dial numbers sans the number 4, right?

All of that said, however, I still could not have asked for a better location. This pedestrian-only street has everything you could possibly need within one block: a grocer's, a couple of bakers, several restaurants, the before-mentioned laundromat, a deli, and even a small mall. The La Muette metro station is located a quick 5-minute walk away, and the Eiffel Tower/Trocadero are about ten minutes away by foot. For those who have not traveled to Europe since the American dollar lost value, eating out is going to give you heartburn. Paris has never been a place known for cheap meals, but the current exchange rate will curl your hair. We found that running down to the Inno (this is Monoprix's grocery store) at the end of the street provided <relatively> affordable meals.

As for the hotel itself, we found it to be clean and warm, and the staff to be friendly though not particularly helpful (see the phone debacle above). The bathrooms were modern, with showers and blow dryers and PLENTY of hot water. The rooms were small, but not overly-so by European standards. Sheets and towels were changed daily by friendly maid service. The toilets were a bit unusual, with one flush option for "#1" and another, heavier-duty flush option for "#2." Considering the American preference for "low-flow" toilets, this was actually a nice feature! It took us several days to find the bathroom electrical outlet. At first glance, there does not appear to be any outlet, but it's actually located behind a small panel on the front of the blowdryer unit.

The bottom line: if you are looking for a clean, warm, safe hotel in a quiet and convenient location, you could not do better. If you choose to stay here, I would recommend you bring the following items:

1. Soap and Shampoo. The stuff they provide at the hotel is terrible, and we wound up buying some from the local drugstore.

2. Your own pillow. The pillows leave a great deal to be desired.

3. A robe. What they call a bath towel I would call a hand towel.

4. A power strip and Europeam adaptor. There is a single outlet in the bathroom, and the single outlet in the bedroom where the television is plugged in. If you are like most travelers, you are bringing multiple electronics that must be recharged nightly. Most electronics today are made to function on multiple currents, so actual conversion is not an issue. We had a digital camera, digital camcorder, laptop computer, and IPod and had no difficulty with the current, just with a place to plug everything in.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lindaleej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

I stayed at this Hotel in October with my wife and 2 children, upon arrival I was told that the room allocated would only have capacity for 2 adults and one child !, hence, this came as a shock and surprise - where on earth would I put my other child and why was this not detailed when I first booked the hotel !?!?!.

* After asking for my money back so as to go to another hotel I was told sorry 'NO REFUND'.

The Room cost 130/ Euro per night without breakfast which is an additional 7 Euros per person !.

Decor within this Hotel is terrible/ rooms small and which smell. Carpet/ walls/ paint in bad condition - Room ceilings cracked and overall in a very bad state and condition.

Hotel staff at reception have no idea, rude to customers and quite un-pleasant - I experienced instances each evening where hotel guests were in heated discussions with hotel reception staff with respect to room issues/ problems/ conditions.

Overall, I would not rate this hotel, it is more like a hostel.....
The price of 130 Euro per night is terrible and the attitude and overall comments from the staff is totally un-acceptable and down right rude - thankfully I had french friends to call upon in my hour of need so as to speak french, hence, the excuse of not being able to talk/ understand english was not an escapable excuse......

I will never recommend or stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irish_Mark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

A modest hotel, but the sheets were clean, there was plenty of hot water, and everything worked. Best of all, the hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and very patiently answered all our questions.

The hotel is just off the Rue De Passy, away from the central tourist
core of Paris. The block right outside the hotel is "pedestrian only"
with many specialty food vendors reminiscent of the street markets on Rue Mouffetard or Rue Cler. There is a small shopping mall on the NE end of Rue De L'Annonciation with a branch of the Monoprix Supermarket on the bottom floor. There are many small bars and restaurants but if you are homesick for the familiar there are both a Starbucks and a McDonald's nearby.

You can walk to the Trocadero in 15-20 minutes. From the area in front of the Palais de Chaillot you have a wonderful view of the Eiffel Tower, which is especially lovely at night.

To see the rest of Paris it is a short walk from the hotel to the Boulainvilliers RER station or the La Muette Metro Station. A transit
pass will let you go anywhere in Zones 1 or 2, but you will need to pay extra to get to the airports or to places like Versailles.

We took the RER from the Charles De Gaulle Airport to the hotel. It cost 8.20€ per person each way. On the way back we walked to the RER station and made one transfer to get to the American Airline counter at the airport. It took us about two hours. (I do not recommend doing
this during rush hour).

Some things to be aware of: Internet Service cost us 75€ for seven days of unlimited access but there are other plans available if you don't want that many minutes. (There is said to be free wireless at MacDonald's). Also, the access to the shower in our Room (#205) was relatively narrow, and I think I would have been very uncomfortable if I was any heavier. The rooms and the elevator are small.

About leaving the key at the front desk when you leave. I was a little uneasy about this until one of the staff explained that this is partly so that the cleaning staff will know who is in their room, and partly so that the night clerk will know who is still out late at night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rufferta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

This place did have a decent location...especially if you went with a more cost effective airline like Ryannair that flies into Beauvais airport, but since we started using Trip Advisor from the time we booked our honeymoon, we have never been as disappointed as when we arrived at this hotel. The first thought was that it looked like a hostel and kind of felt like one once we checked in and the woman at the front desk told us that we have to hand in our room key before leaving the hotel and the front door gets locked at midnight - you have to ring the doorbell and the guy on duty opens it up. (Don't get me wrong, it was located on a great/ cute/ convenient street - with a friendly bar/ restaurant on the corner called "aero") but the inch thick dirt on the building, the tiny elevator and the even smaller room (and bathroom!) was close to un-bearable. There is no longer smoking available in this hotel and no food or drink allowed in any of the rooms. Cable tv is non-existant. Also, do not expect to have much privacy in your room - paper thin walls and an apartment building across the street where an old guy "ramdomly " looks out onto the street while you're getting changed. Didn't see any bugs, but it seems like the place that you would.....
Only consider staying here if you're used to staying in places that are less than 2 star ratings - in my opinion, definitely NOT worth the money!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank D-TAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

Highly recomended place, with superb location. The place, the street is typical Frech, with bakery, grocery, market, coffee bar, restaurants- very romantic!
Hotel itself small as every parisian hotel, but clean, and quiet, including the croissant -coffee- smells- air in the morning! No surprises, smiling receptionists. Bathroom with big shower was clean and fine.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagolyvari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Trocadero
Hameau De Passy
Hameau De Passy
#984 of 1,804 in Paris
279 reviews
Trocadero
Aero Hotel
Aero Hotel
#1,185 of 1,804 in Paris
124 reviews
Trocadero
Best Western Premier Trocadero La Tour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trocadero
Hotel Nicolo
Hotel Nicolo
#95 of 1,804 in Paris
458 reviews
Hotel Beausejour Ranelagh
#1,503 of 1,804 in Paris
69 reviews
Trocadero
Passy Eiffel Hotel
Passy Eiffel Hotel
#192 of 1,804 in Paris
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Hauts de Passy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Hauts de Passy

Address: 37 rue de l Annonciation, 75016 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero , Passy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,389 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £76 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Hauts de Passy 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet et comfortable property totally renovated during year 2010 in contemporary and modern style, equiped with air conditioning.We are closed to all importants parisians centers: Eiffel Tower, Champs Elysées, museums, latin quarter, Palais des Congrés.Some pictures published on this site didn't concern this renovated hotel, but shown the old hotel before renovation and dated untill 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel les Hauts de Passy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hauts De Passy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing