We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal as a base, it is what it is!”
Review of Camping de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camping de Paris
Ranked #976 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed in a motorhome twice for the Paris Marathon in April 12/13. Ok on both occasions, nothing spectacular and a bit tired and basic in places, definitely not caravan club type camping, more like basic uk camping from few years back and once you've got your head around the fact that you stay because its a good base for Paris, and not for the camp leisure facilities, all should be ok. Road noise tolerable, it's a city! Toilets,taps and showers aren't salubrious by any standard, but they are indoors and they all work. We rarely used them as water and power are on each plot which suits us with a whale type water system as we can keep the water connected, a bucket under the waste and empty as required, easy. Toilet waste point is hole in the ground with a hose nearby, no big deal really, and it's no suprise if you've ever noticed what traditional French toilets can be like?! Reception had two pc's permanently online, the staff spoke English and genuinely tried to help, shop had bread, cheese, milk, beer, toiletries etc, didn't need it, but it's there. Bus runs from the gate and 15 minutes or so later arrives at Port Maillot Metro which goes direct to Paris, simple. There is also a local bus which stops just further up the road, never felt the need to use it. We didn't witness "lady's of the night" near the camp and it wouldn't have worried us if we had, some of properties and leisure facilities not so far away are very smart and I've felt more vulnerable in deepest Manchester at times or near Mon Marché/Sacre Coeur, so don't let that put you off just keep your wits about you as you would in any major city. They only down side to the whole trip was an on hire UK motorhome that pitched next door and kept the engine running for, and I kid you not, a couple of hours at a time which I had to question especially when it got late, my tolerance reached a limit and everyone was trying to bed down, the response..... "sorry, but we've haven't got a power lead and need to charge the iPhones via the 12v socket, shouldn't be much longer" absolute morons! That aside, would I use it again, definitely, even though it is expenive, but Paris generally is unles you supermarket everything, and makes the UK and London itself look like fantastic value at times, don't believe me? ever paid £10-15 for a large beer in London, I doubt it!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Freddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

After a 5 hour car journey from a different campsite in Amsterdam. We arrived thinking this is the best possible and value for money option in Paris. Yes location wise is perfect. The site itself is horrible. How can you pitch a stable tent on concrete???? Everyone is cramped into tiny pitches. Ideal for having your car next to your tent but just awful in terms of pitching and privacy. The tolites and showers are respectable although looks like it is not cleaned often. Reception is no where near equipped with the right amount of staff. Mainly 1 person on reception and end up queing up for half hour just to ask a question. Manager of the site is dam right rude. The "club house" is rubbish. No music, just a few chairs and table and staff telling people they have closed the kitchen early. When spoke to manager about this all he said was he does not care and drew us a map of where to walk to get food. We ended up walking to McDonald's in the end. McDonald's seemed to be more welcoming and warm and friendly unlike this place. If you are really considering staying here I would highly recommend not to. Pay that extra bit more and book in to a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rmj106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Having travelled from a really nice campsite in Amsterdam we were really disappointed with this place. Pitching a tent is near impossible as the ground is covered in gravel, many of the pitches are on a slope. Reception is understaffed and the staff indifferent.

Wifi is annoying and constantly asks you to log in after watching a video from the "sponsor".

Oh and don't keep any food in your tent unless you like rats! Definitely better places to stay as its not cheap for a campsite.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrangeHarvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop of a 3 month Europe trip. As you can imgaine we were excited and ready for a good time, which came to a halt soon after staying here. On arrival the staff are friendly and show you an area you can choose a site. Thats about the extend of the pros. From there we ended up choosing a site close to bathroom facilities. The ground is gravel/rocky and hard, so pitching a tent was virtually impossible(let alone trying not to rip the underside of the tent). We later found out the sewage pipes were close to our site so our entire stay smelt like... Well you know what. The hot water didnt work, you felt like you were catching a disease using the bathrooms and couldnt wash it off in the cold and low pressured showers. The location isnt great, but to be fair there is a bus (costs) which takes you to the closest tube stop. We ended up leaving after the second night, which cost 60 euro for two adults, which now after staying at amazing 4 star campsites for 16 a night seems like a huge amount. All in all our advice would be to find somewhere else if you dont want to pay high prices for staying in a rubbish dump.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jandjtravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Noisy, smelly, overflowing bins and unhelpful staff (they will grin at you inanely as they are unhelpful). The ground is so rocky as to be unsuitable for tent camping, there are no defined pitches just a free for all. The noise is unbearable.

The play area is pathetic. It is in an area renowned for prostitutes. The staff are clueless.

I nearly canceled the rest of our trip, as it was so awful, but thankfully didn't, as the campsites in Lyon and Geneva are perfect, showing me what a dump this place was.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kanelbullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Having stayed in a chalet our visit here was great, the staff were very helpful but a couple of them had only just started to work there so were just getting used to the place. The site was clean and quiet, you do get traffic noise but it's almost in the city centre so it's to be expected. Nice little restaurant on site, we didn't use it but the prices seemed reasonable. Also a little shop selling some essentials which comes in handy. This site has just been taken over by a new company so there are upgrades being done in the near future. Great place to stay if you want a fairly cheap holiday to Paris.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Sounds lovely on the web site, don't be fooled, most of the staff aren't sure whats going on, its very busy as you would expect in the center of Paris & its the most expensive site I've ever stayed at 69 Euros a night..
The layout of the site is nice with a reasonable shop & restaurant, what really let it down was the toilets & showers. They are very old & in bad condition. I could cope with that but it was shocking to see that there was turd on the floor in the shower, the toilets were unusable with no paper. I was forced to use the disabled toilet I'm ashamed to say as this was just dirty not filthy.
I did go to complain but the reception was always full with a long wait & I was on holiday.

Room Tip: If you go on French National day book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Chrisradioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#1,308 of 1,804 in Paris
70 reviews
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#1,019 of 1,804 in Paris
461 reviews
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,558 of 1,804 in Paris
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,209 of 1,804 in Paris
386 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,481 of 1,804 in Paris
182 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#725 of 1,804 in Paris
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping de Paris

Address: 2 allee du Bord de l Eau, 75016 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#443 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £30 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, PitchUp and Odigeo so you can book your Camping de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Du Bois De Boulogne Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing