We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection
Ranked #205 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

When I am in Paris, I work by the Opéra, so this hotel is very conveniently located for me, but the location is also great from a tourist's point of view. There are, of course, many places to eat and drink nearby.

The hotel is small and has a boutique feel, although it carries an Accor brand. The hotel also emphasizes its theme (it is located in the building where Stendhal lived at the end of his life): rooms are named after figures from Stendhal's life and works, and I was given a copy of "Le Rouge et le Noir" (in English) on check in.

The decor is classic, and the bed was comfortable. Rooms are relatively large by the standards of Parisian hotels. The Internet worked well for me and enabled me to catch up on work. My rate came with breakfast (which I wasn't aware of until the second day of my stay); the breakfast is extensive, as is typical of good European hotels. My rate also included a metro pass, which was welcome (though not entirely necessary, as I was working within walking distance).

Staff was very friendly and at least some of them speak English (though I speak enough French to get by at a hotel, so I never really needed this). I will happily stay at the Stendhal again when I am in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle G, Directeur général at Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir,
Whole team and myself thank you for your comments about our hotel
We welcome you with great pleasure again.
Isabelle GANIER
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    157
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
213
24
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel with a strategic location, steps away from Opera, Grands Magasins, place vendome, Madeleine, Faubourg St Honore. There is a myriad of nice restaurants and bars around. The welcome and service are also great with cheerful staff.

Room: I requested a room on the highest possible floor. They put me on the highest flow in a room flooded with light and a good size for Paris. Bedding was really comfortable. wifi was free and quite good speed.

Bathroom: quite clean. The only small hiccup is there is no space on which you can put your staff in the bathroom. It is under the sink, so you need to reach down below to get your toothbrush.

Room price is a bit high but again in the heart of the golden triangle.

Overall: I would highly recommend it and would go there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle G, Directeur général at Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback from your stay at Le Stendhal Place Vendôme.
The pleasure of welcoming you back.
Isabelle GANIER
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is the second time we have been in this hotel, and it has been even better than before. The room is a bit small, very tipical in Paris, but very luxuriously decorated. Beds are very confortable, all amenties at hand, free bottle of watter on arrival. Fast check in and check out. Amaizing bathroom with rain shower, all "state of the art" taps.
Excellent location, 1 min walk to Place Vandome, 20 min walk to Gare Du Nord, 5 min walk to Jardin de Tuilleries.
There are restaurants and patisseries close by. Breakfast at the hotel is good but very expensive 22€.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room that faces the patio, as the ones facing the road can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle G, Directeur général at Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great and positive comments. We are very happy that you spent a second stay with us and hope to see you again
Best regards
Isabelle GANIER
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
210 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed in the hotel, and we are glad we came back. The rooms, although a bit small, are very comfortable, quiet and well maintained. The bathroom was particularly well done and had a great rainfall type shower. Location is great too, just a few minutes from the louvre, jardin de Tulieres and place vendome, and we could walk from gare du nord without too much trouble also. There are plenty of good restaurants within 5 minutes walk, as well as a couple of small city supermarkets and a number of boulangeries. The staff we dealt with were all very friendly and helpful. It's not the cheapest place, but well worth paying that bit extra.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wilftrunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle G, Directeur général at Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Whole team and I thank you for your comments and your loyalty. See you soon at Hotel Stendhal
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked two rooms for 3-nights stay at Le Stendhal, and couldn't fault it at all. It is a small hotel with only 20+ rooms! but it is nonetheless one of the cosiest hotels I've stayed in.
Initially we planned to book another hotel, but discovered this hotel during the Accor sale. So we decided to take the risk and go for it. It is definitely a pleasant surprise that the risk paid off.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the waitress at breakfast. She was on duty two of the three mornings during our stay, and her service was flawless. She would approach us and offer to cook eggs according to our preference. She works fast but quietly clearing tables for guests in the small room and replenishing food. Breakfast spread was complete with all we need, enough to keep us going for 3 mornings and not get bored with food.
The rooms were decent sized and recently refurbished. Toilet is separated from bath, which was equipped with a electric heating towel rail. Bathroom was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Bed was very comfortable, closet was big enough to store our jackets and stuff that we need during our stay. The room was complete with all the amenities, including bathrobes, slippers and 2 bottled water upon arrival. Noise insulation was fine, we didn't have any problem sleeping through the nights. Nevertheless, there is a bar next to the hotel. My father said that he heard noises throughout Friday night when he had the window opened.
The elevator is quite small, it could only fit two of us at a time, with our luggages. However, we didn't find that a problem as we tend to use the stairs which is more accessible and faster.
The hotel is located at the perfect spot for sightseeing, it is in the center of the major attractions. We practically walked everywhere, and took a taxi back to the hotel.
We will definitely return to Le Stendhal when we visit Paris again.

Room Tip: Rooms with number that ends with 2 or 3 (I.e. 12, 13, 22, 23, etc) are standard size, but by no mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TCKLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle G, Directeur général at Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to tell about your experience at the Stendhal Hotel.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward
Thank you again
Isabelle GANIER
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
490 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

booked three rooms, all were spacious, very clean and fully equiped (R&G amenities, free bottle of water, en suite facilities, ...). Good shower (in the bath tub). Very good beds. Window isolation from the street side could be improved. Very friendly staff (reception and breakfast). It's a small hotel, but the breakfast room is very small. Can only accomodate 8 people. We were sic, so 4 of us took breakfast in the bar (where the tables are low and small...). Quality of the breakfast was very good (different kinds of bread, rolls, ...), 3 or 4 types of meat, cheese, fresh juices, fresh fruit, cereals, dairy products. Small but complete! You can also have breakfast in the room.
We recommend.

Room Tip: Try to have a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Spent 5 nights at the MGallery Stendhal. The hotel is very nice - small but modern and very well located.
The room (acessible by elevator) looked brand new, had a great king bed (very soft) and the bath included a nice bathtub.
The hotel is very well located - on a quiet street 1 min away from Place Vendome and a couple blocks away from Louvre and Opera Garnier.
Front desk staff was very cordial.
Overall a solid 4 stars hotel. Recommended!

Room Tip: The cheapest room is already very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctsa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mansart - Esprit de France
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#116 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#171 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel L'Horset Opera, BW Premier Collection
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#221 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#141 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection
Address: 22 rue Danielle Casanova, 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#130 Business Hotel in Paris
#136 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#310 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#454 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stendhal hotel is situated a few minutes from the Vendome place, between the Opera and Galleries Lafayette. Access airports Roissy CDG and Orly 30 minutes. At the heart of Paris, Le Stendhal welcome you with 20 rooms decorated with style and refinement. They are quite equipped with the free WiFi, mini bar, air conditioning, bathrobe, the slippers, welcome tray and amenities. Mgallery hotel collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Prestigia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Stendhal Place Vendome Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Stendhal Place Vendome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing