We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture
Ranked #1,090 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location but not value for money”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very expensive compared to what you get. It's minimal and lack of any facilities and yet you pay more than 120€ per night.
The breakfast is expensive (14€) but its a really poor buffet, definitely not worth the money.
It's clean, yes, but the rooms are really small and minimal. At least has free wifi, but with annoying ads you have to watch in order to get online

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    68
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
19
71
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I chose this hotel mainly based on its vicinity to our office and also on the relatively good opinions. Indeed it is not bad, the room is clean -although really small, in the bathroom everything worked nearly OK, the kettle is a nice addition as well as a comfortable - yet again tiny bed.
OK - this hotel is located in an old tenement building so the small lift and small rooms are not surprising. However, no harm would be done if the rooms were nicely decorated and the bathroom had no holes in the floor and the shower which was clean but water took ages to drain.
Clearly this hotel is expensive for the quality it offers but it's no news in the centre of Paris. So if you don't need to stay in this neighbourhood, you can find better options slightly further away.

Room Tip: probably better face the yard - no view but quiet at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I asked for a room with a view and quiet. I got the view but it was on the 1st floor overlooking a very busy main road. It was pretty cold outside but our room was so hot we had the aircon on and even then it was to hot to sleep. We could not open a window because of the traffic noise. Another thing, the continental breakfast is way over priced at 14 euros each. I booked this hotel as it had good reviews but not from us as they then charged us AGAIN for our stay even though we had pre-paid over the internet and had the receit to prove it. We have got our money back now but they denied ever charging us again when I had to raise a dispute with the hoiday company above. Give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Squirrel1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend who knew someone homework had stayed here 12 months ago. It did not disappoint. Just 5 mins walk from St Lazare train station and close to the metro station at St Augustine. Quick easy ride to the Champs Elyses. Tonight we took the metro to see the Christmas lights and markets in the champs elyses it was truly magical, full of tourists like us taking pictures. We have a lovely video reminder of our short 2 night stay in Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at this hotel after staying in an apartment on I'lle St Louis (an unbeatable location) on the River Seine. I transferred to the hotel to meet friends who were staying nearby. I was lucky enough to get a room facing St Augustin Square with an unbeatable view of the beautiful St Augustin Church. My room was very comfortable, clean and the air-conditioning was very welcome on a warm day!! Perhaps I was lucky to get this room! There are lots of eating places nearby and Gare St Lazare is walking distance away. Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: On check-in ask for a room facing the Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed here again on business travel after several years, and I was very impressed with the hotel - much more so than before due to improvements. A room safe was added and the bedding has been improved. Yes, the rooms (and elevator) are small by American standards, but they are comparable to European hotels, with the bonus of being clean and sufficient. The internet was fast and reliable. The desk staff were superb, and the value excellent for Paris, especially with the location near the Madeleine. The Metro is just across the square and the Gare St. Lazare a short 5 minute walk. I will stay here again, and I do recommend it.

Room Tip: A single room gets you a single (twin) size bed. Ask for a double room if you need/want a larger be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq_Bus_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Small but newly renovated hotel. Very friendly and accurate staff. Had a tiny room with a single bed but that was ok, it was booked for 1 person. Free coffee and tea on the room. My colleague stayed in another room and was very positive too. Very nice and complete rooms.

One minus: Ultra-small elevator, and very slow.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandBNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#51 of 1,800 in Paris
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'albion
Hotel D'albion
#813 of 1,800 in Paris
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phileas Hotel
Phileas Hotel
#545 of 1,800 in Paris
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argenson
Hotel d'Argenson
#731 of 1,800 in Paris
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Orient Hotel
New Orient Hotel
#269 of 1,800 in Paris
1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elysees 8
Hotel Elysees 8
#298 of 1,800 in Paris
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture

Property: Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture
Address: 11 Place Saint Augustin, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,090 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Malherbes in the heart of Paris allows you to be close to some essential places of the city : Les Grands Magasins, the Haussman Boulevard, the Opéra Garnier, the Madeleine Square, the business district and theaters. You will be seduced by his spirit "family house" et his uncluttered lines, his harmonious tone, warm and bright. His exceptional location permit some rooms with balcony to have a view on the Saint Augustine church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Paris
Quality Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing