We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood & Modern”
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer
Ranked #689 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood & Modern”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The bathrooms are all updated nicely, up to Western expectations. Some rooms are great, others are awkward. It's worth it to upgrade to a suite. The staff can be a bit useless. Great bakeries and grocery stores nearby, but still a bit of a walk to most sites in Paris. Different and modern hotel though, worth a shot if you're looking for something different and decently priced in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balletrfs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel and thank you for your comment.

Yours suggestions helps us to improve ourselves.

We are at your entire disposal.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    237
    58
    23
    20
See reviews for
70
250
22
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The staff at this hotel is of absolutely no help. I booked the hotel for Sept. 5-9, but when I received the confirmation it was for April 25th... the same day I made the reservation. I immediately called the booking agency and they said they would call the hotel and work with them to change the booking to the correct dates.

The agency called the hotel and they said the person to approve that was gone for the day but they would talk to them later. The next correspondence I received was that they had already charged the card and because I didn't cancel in time. As I'm in California and they're in Paris calling immediately after booking I would have still been trying to cancel the day of. I asked if they would give me a credit for the stay on the correct days they said no.

If a hotel isn't willing to work with people before they get there, there's no way that they are going to be any help when you're there.

Room Tip: Stay elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAddict76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guest

Your bank for the no show fees for a reservation you made by mistake has already refunded to you.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I give this hotel 5 stars we had some room issues but the staff, management went out of there way to look after us!
we have just got back from our 5 night stay at this hotel
we booked a club room but please note that the pics of the club rooms on some sites like hotels.com are not the same as the room you might get
EG we saw club room photos of a room in the eves of the building and that is not what we got the first night we check in, I really feel these rooms should be Club room deluxe as my understanding is they only have 6 of them on the top floor (but maybe they have more) the other rooms are a lot smaller don't have a bath and the shower is in a dark cupboard like area these should be just a club room! and then they also have standard rooms
Keep in mind it is a small hotel only 46 rooms so we really ran into other people
It is the quietest hotel we have ever stayed in first night we were at the front of the hotel with double glazed windows plus a 2nd window, 2 door entry into our room which made it super quiet
breakfast was very good, I do think it could change each day with something new but we had a selection of whole fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juices, cold meats fresh cut fruit, selection of good french bakery, toasted sandwiches, cheeses, scrambled eggs and sausages as well as quality coffee
But the best thing about this hidden gem is how close it is to things like the metro which you can walk to 4 stations within 5 to 10 minutes - 15 minutes to a direct line to Disneyland which is 45 minutes on the train
Also a little note look at the 5 day unlimited transport passes unto zone 5 we paid just over 50 euro well worth the money our room was 511

Room Tip: CLUB FOOR TOP ROOMS LEVEL 5 other club rooms are smaller on the below floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest

I really thank you for motivating all the staff with you nice comment.

You made our work easier and our staff happier with it; thank you from all of us.

We take note of all your comments.

We remain at your disposal

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The Hotel Pulitzer’s website is: http://www.hotelpulitzer.com/en

The Hotel Pulitzer’s location is fabulous for seeing interesting local color and it is surrounded by restaurants. You can walk to dinner or lunch in less than a block, or two blocks, and so on.

This is Paris so of course prices are higher and rooms smaller.

On the lobby level (floor 0), there are beautiful spaces to relax, read, talk, have a drink, work, whatever. Massive leather chairs and couches are arranged to create the effect of several living rooms, and provide comfortable space for individuals, couples, and small groups. Other couches and chairs with fabric covers offer the same in adjacent spaces. Another room in the same general area provides two longer tables with upright chairs for slightly larger groups such as business meetings.

The WI-FI works well all over the building as far as I could tell. And contrary to the practice of the more expensive American hotels, it’s free everywhere we have been in Europe. (In the United States, inexpensive hotels give you WI-FI for free but expensive hotels charge you for it, around $15 to $18 per day).

The shower had a very low step that makes it an easy entry for older people or those who have trouble climbing over the tub walls of some tub/shower combinations.

The breakfast buffet is good quality, with lots of variety, and lasts from 7 to 10:30. It’s slightly crowded but moves swiftly and we never had a problem finding several seats to choose from. Multiple sorts of coffee are at hand for breakfast, as many cups as you want.

A few doors down the street on the same block is an entrance to the passages of bookstores, coffee shops, art and souvenir stores, etc., etc. These passages are interesting any time but especially nice if the weather is bad because they extend for several blocks covered by skylights far overhead, so no rain or wind reaches you as you browse or have espresso or wine or snacks at the al fresco tables.

Our room was warm when we arrived so we opened the window and were astonished to discover there was virtually no noise at all—a first for us in large cities—so we opened the window night and day and were never bothered by night time party crowds or workers or daytime crowds. We could have been in an isolated park for all we’d know by the absence of noise.

The staff members are all helpful and friendly. For example, Karine at the front desk went out of her way to help us, as did others whose names I simply didn’t learn or don’t recall.

A wonderful place for a couple or family or individual, in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear guest

All the staff thank you for having chosen our hotel for your last stay in Paris. We all thank you also for having taken a little of your time and having posted this nice comment; it makes us happy and proud of working for guest like you.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We spent three nights at the Hotel. It´s located in Rue du Fauburg Montmartre, a great location nearby the lovely roofed galleries, and just a few blocks from Opera and the first stop ot the hop on hop off Paris bus.

All Paris hotel rooms are small, but for our surprise, this bedroom was a little bigger than the standard, the bed was very confortable and the bathroom was modern and correct. Its a place to catch the sleep after a whole day long walking the City of Lights. And by the morning, recharge energies with an abundant breakfast, something very important in a city where food is great but not so abundat, if you know what I mean.

Manager and Staff speak English, Manager English and Spanish. They are great, gave us a map and answered very politely and friendly all my doubts. Great relation price - quality. Would come back.

Room Tip: Rooms that face inner patio are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebaztian77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente

Queria darle las gracias en nombre de todo el equipo por su amabilidad.

Servir clientes como Ud nos anima a continuar en nuestra linea de 100% satisfaccion.

Seguimos a su servicio y de parte de todo el Staff nuestras mas sinceros recuerdos.

Atentamente

Yolanda Herrero
Directora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

First things first: The service of the front desk staff is perfect from the moment we checked in until we checked out there are no complaints regarding the service. Genuine and helpful.
Secondly the interior design of the lobby is perfect too. The industrial x baroque style is just perfect and so now.
However there are a few complaints.
Firstly the old school industrial elevator is very small and even though theydesign it to look industrial it just turns out looking worn down. Its so small it can only fit the most 2 adults and 2 large luggage.Plus there are no indicators to tell you the elevator has reached the G floor.
Secondly we are disappointed with our room (room 114) . Size is not the issue here because we are aware that hotel rooms could be smalll in paris but its the design thats disappointing. The fine details of the interior design of the hotel lobby is not brought into the room at all. It was bland, uncozy and looks 'unfinished'. Attention should be paid to this matter as there just isn't any cohesiveness between the lobby and the rooms.
The bathroom was however much better with the cement wall look and the ventilation was good too.
But overall we did have a good stay at this hotel because of the location and the convenience of the Grand Boulevards Metro and also it feels so good walking into such a great interior deco.

Room Tip: Have a look at other rooms first. Different rooms have different decos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tauruzspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest


I have taken note of your comments; they help us very much.

All the staff thank you for your nice comments; they motivate all of us to continue in our 100% guest satisfation objectif.

We remain at your disposal.

Yours Sincerely

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Diva Opera
Hotel Diva Opera
#644 of 1,801 in Paris
311 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
#230 of 1,801 in Paris
480 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Eugene en Ville
Hotel Eugene en Ville
#359 of 1,801 in Paris
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Adele & Jules
Hotel Adele & Jules
#50 of 1,801 in Paris
165 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Opera Drouot
Opera / Bourse
Villa Opera Drouot
Villa Opera Drouot
#326 of 1,801 in Paris
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Property: Hotel Pulitzer
Address: 23 rue du Faubourg Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#363 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#418 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#463 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in downtown Paris. In Opera, near le Printemps and Galeries Lafayette. At 10 minutes in subway to Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysées and all other Paris'atractions. A design hotel made for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulitzer Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing