We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ask for an iron”
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Westminster
Ranked #232 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't ask for an iron”
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Very nice hotel near the Place Vendome & the Louvre. It's also close to some great shops. My experience of hotels in Paris has been very variable, but the Westminster was above average. I stayed for one night on business (I wasn't paying!). The only surreal aspect of my stay was when I rang reception for an iron. I was told that I couldn't have one 'for security reasons'. Of course, you can have a shirt ironed for you if you give it to them before 5pm and are happy to part with several Euros. I'm not proud - I can iron my own shirt. I don't consider myself a security risk, even when armed with an iron.

Nonetheless, if I were returning to Paris for a weekend, I'd probably go back to the Westminster. Wearing a non-iron shirt, of course.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank SaldeanTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments in regards to your stay.

Rest assured that your feedback is very important, since it gives us a clear and constructive vision of our service.

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again to help us improve the quality of our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Westminster Hotel in Paris.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    257
    107
    59
    25
See reviews for
173
431
56
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

A really nice hotel near Opera and down the street from the Ritz. The room was small but clean and quiet. And the location is great for walking, location to sites, RER, metro, Louvre....
Be careful of the breakfast. Full buffet is very expensive - 30 euros pp.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayinWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
Our Staff ambassadors make great efforts to ensure that all our guests can enjoy a pleasant stay. Please rest assured I have shared your magnificent words with them.

On behalf of all ambassadors we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We had booked what we thought was a luxury break in the hotel to celebrate a major anniversary and had asked for a very nice room for which we were prepared to pay a very good rate. When we got there, we were initially put on the top floor in the tiniest room imaginable, with paint peeling off the walls, right next to the elevator mechanism that you could hear clanking through the wall, and with only a half sized bath. They said it was a travel agent's mistake. We offered to pay more for a better room, and reception tried to be helpful but we then ended up in a moderate quality room where the bathroom door didn't shut and the bath itself had much of its enamel missing. Wine was delivered to the room and simply dumped there unopened. Breakfast staff were dismissive. Not the best of experiences for us. After many lovely experiences in other hotels elsewhere, we won't be rushing back., despite the helpful reception staff.

  • Liked — Friendly reception staff, location
  • Disliked — Appalling rooms, rude breakfast staff, bad room service
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Featherways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in March 2008. The location was great - we tend not to take taxis if we can help it, so we took the airport bus from CDG to Paris Opera, and it was a short 5-10 min. walk to the hotel. Obviously the Opera / Place Vendome location is also terrific if you are going to be visiting museums or doing touristy things (we bought opera tickets the day we arrived, although I wouldn't inflict Wagner's 5-hour Parsifal on anyone). The Opera metro is also very close by.

The hotel is easily located - it has distinctive red lacquer bamboo forming a passageway into the hotel, right next to the large Cartier store on Rue de la Paix. The lobby/check-in area was posh and full of display boxes for the nearby luxury goods stores. I found the staff on hand incredibly friendly, and arranged for us to get a room early at 10:30am, which was a godsend as we'd just gotten off a 13 hour flight from Hong Kong at 7am. That alone was worth a very strong mention. The actual check-in was quite efficient when we returned from a cafe ('the Royal Vendome' on a side street near the Place Vendome) a couple hours later.

The room itself was fine, very clean and well maintained, but small in the Parisian style. I suppose the bedroom appeared smaller than it had to be because of the awkward layout, which the designers had finessed by creating an entry corridor with a door to the bedroom that was separate also from the bathroom. We did ask later if there were larger rooms available, but apparently we were in one of them already.

The bathroom was very modern and very nicely designed. They used Gilchrist and Soames bath products. Our bathroom unfortunately had a leaking shower, though, which we had to get fixed by hotel engineering. This, like the rest of Paris, being in an older building (previously used by one of the Dukes of Westminster), the walls were a little thin and I could hear some of the people in the next room (but not their exact conversation).

The stay was fine and free from incident. Overall, if I was paying the Euro price in dollars, I would have been very pleased (260). But I wasn't and I guess having later found a perfectly nice room in the Champs Elysees area for a lot cheaper (170) at le Hotel 123 (also a lot airier) I guess I was left thinking that better value for money could be found, even in Paris.

  • Liked — Location, front desk service
  • Disliked — Smallish Room at a v. high price
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2008

Stayed here for 3 night break. Great Location very near Opera metro. Hotel room lovely - we had a Vendome room overlooking the Rue de la Paix at the front and courtyard at the back. Bathroom gorgeous!
Any extras are expensive though. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room - to get a cup of tea through room service was expensive (7 Euros). No iron in room, so to have 3 shirts ironed was another 27 Euros.
We felt that when paying so much for the room, these extras should have been complimentry.
Ordered continental breakfast in room last morning - came 20 mins late (no apology) and was definatley not worth 23 Euros.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — prices of extras
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2008

Great location on Rue de la Paix near Opera. Paid US $330 for a superior room, spacious & well furnished. Staff very accomo-dating. Taxi stand in front of hotel. In-hotel bkfst too pricey, but many brasseries and coffee shops nearby.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pricey breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leisurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
Our Staff ambassadors make great efforts to ensure that all our guests can enjoy a pleasant stay. Please rest assured I have shared your magnificent words with them.

On behalf of all ambassadors we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We stayed there from Dec 28-Jan 2. We had a very pleasant experience.

Hotel is located at an excellent location. It is about 5 minutes walk from the Opera metrostation, and the Opera house. As it turns out, this happened to be a very good thing because definitely made things much easier when arriving and leaving Paris. there is a direct nonstop bus line (Roissy bus) from CDG to the Opera house, and made the arrival and departure much cheaper and convenient! also, very close to the Galeria lafayette, Louvre, Seine river, place vandome tc etc... definitely in the very touristy part of town.
Hotel front entrance and main lobby, very nicely decorated. Duke's bar also looked very nice. they have a jazz singer on some of the nights and the singer was impressive. Hotel staff are very very good. very polite, made guests feel very comfortable. Spoke english fluently. we had problems with the beds initially (they gave us two single beds). however, front desk was very helpful and changed the bed to a queensize bed promptly. Also helped us with our confirmation at some of the fancier restaurants in town, and organized the taxi rides for us.
Room was as expected from some other reviews; although comfortable, but small and old fashioned. very nicely renovated marble bathroom though. wasn't a huge let down since expected this from other reviews. we were also out for the majority of time so didn't spend much time in room anyways.
Overall, excellent location, excellent staff, reasonable room. Had a very pleasant experience at this hotel

  • Liked — Location and hotel staff
  • Disliked — old fashioned rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umlaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
Our Staff ambassadors make great efforts to ensure that all our guests can enjoy a pleasant stay. Please rest assured I have shared your magnificent words with them.

On behalf of all ambassadors we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#114 of 1,800 in Paris
1,022 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection
Opera / Bourse
Golden Tulip Opera De Noailles
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mansart - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Property: Hotel Westminster
Address: 13 rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Paris
#160 Business Hotel in Paris
#163 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#223 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#232 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An utterly sophisticated choice that is without equal among the luxury hotels of Paris; the Hôtel Westminster is considered by many to be the Crown Jewel of authentic, historical Paris hotels. Named after the Duke of Westminster, who resided in this sumptuous property in the 19th Century, the Hotel Westminster is a luxury hotel offering magnificent rooms and suites. The Hotel Westminster also boasts elegant meeting venues and one star Michelin dining, which have proven popular with major figures from the world of the arts, business and fashion, who have been guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing