We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ann & Arthur's Fabulous Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Westminster
Ranked #221 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ann & Arthur's Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was our first Paris trip, and we were so pleased to find our hotel to be beautiful with all of the modern conveniences one would hope for. Yet, it had the ambience of the old world which was just what we wanted:- lots of beautiful wood panels, marble, brass, crystal chandeliers. Our bedroom was large and lovely as was our spacious marble bathroom with double sinks, bidet, tub & shower. The toilet was in a separate private area of the room which was perfect. We really like the high ceilings and beautiful old wooden doors. Our beds were so comfortable as were our pillows. Loved the mattresses. Storage space was so generous with a double wardrobe and chest of drawers. Aside from the fabulous room, the staff of Hotel Westminster was gracious and most helpful in every way. Concierge's Jean Charles, Adele & Gae'l were always available to assist us with sightseeing, tours, dining & handling all questions in general. The doormen were always available to help with any of our needs to include opening doors, taxi service, took care of luggage upon arrival and departure. Hotel was immaculately kept, maid service was timely and thorough. The location of the hotel was perfect for dining: outside cafes, a short walk to bakery for breakfast. Also convenient for shopping and sightseeing. We will recommend this hotel to our family and friends without hesitation, and we hope to return someday.
Arthur & Ann Martin

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ermieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Martin,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Westminster Paris and for sharing your observations here on TripAdvisor.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for the very positive review of our hotel.

We will share your feedback with our management and teams. Our staff is working hard to make sure every guest feels special and it is always very encouraging when our guests compliment their involvement.

On behalf of the entire team, let me thank you once again for your kind comments and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Westminster in a near future.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    243
    98
    58
    25
See reviews for
158
405
54
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our second stop at the Westminster and we liked it as much this time as last year. The important thing for travelers to know is that all rooms are not the same even though in the same category. The first room we checked into (for a one week stay) had no drawer or shelf space. just closet hanging space. We changed rooms to one with shelf space (which was adequate) but no bureau or chest of drawers. Typical of older hotel properties in Paris, most of the beds are doubles or twin with no king or queen beds. Otherwise the room was comfortable. It is suggested that visitors look at the room first rather than going through the pain of changing rooms.

The location is PERFECT located on the Rue de la Paix, just off of the Opera and a short one block walk to the Ritz. The Opera Metro station is a one minute walk away and Rue de Rivoli is a five minute walk with the Louvre 10 minutes away. Faubourg St. Honore is also in very close walking distance. Most helpful is that there is a taxi stand right outside the hotel making it easy to get a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doublfault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Such a fantastic review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor!

Our ambassadors are truly passionate about their profession, they bring the hotel to life, a ray of sunshine to everyday life and place their considerable talents at the service of our guests.

It was wonderful to have the pleasure to welcoming you back at The Hotel Westminster Paris and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.


We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in Paris.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We (family of 4) stayed at the Hotel Westminster in late August 2013 for 2 nights. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating - they went out of their way to help us arrange our trip to Disney, find restaurants, etc and were super with the children. The room was good and spacious and the atmosphere was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spannercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review about your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words give us great joy. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing excellent service and I have shared your nice comment with all of them.

It would be wonderful for our ambassadors to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We reserved the Vendome room, but were upgraded to a junior suite which was ready at 9:30 AM when we arrived after an overnight flight from N.Y. By late afternoon we decided there were several things that needed fixing and/or refurbishing. The staff was completely in agreement and showed us other accommodations for us to choose from. They could not have been more helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dianefairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review about your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words give us great joy. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing excellent service and I have shared your nice comment with all of them.

It would be wonderful for our ambassadors to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent service. I have been to Paris several times, this is the first trip to stay in the 2nd Arr. I am afraid this is not Paris to me. This neighborhood could be in Manhatten for all the expensive shops- no little Brasseries and small shops on every corner.
I always use the Metro in Paris but decided to try the bus this time, But when I asked the front desk about buying bus tickets the desk person looked offended and could't answer my question.

Other than the location, my only complaint is that the free wifi is very slooooow. To get a faster connection you pay 19€ daily. Seems a bit tacky for such an upscale establishment.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your most recent stay at The Westminster Paris.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Paris
Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our recent trip to Paris. It is what I would call a traditional European hotel. The decor is rather elegant, in an old-fashioned, and slightly worn way. The furnishings are very traditional; traditional European style shower, for example. But even then, the room, the King-sized bed, and the bathroom was comfortably sized, by European standards.

The location is wonderful, absolutely the center of Paris.

Like many European buildings, I find the ventillation on the stuffy side, and the air conditioning barely kept up with the couple of warm (30C+) days we had. We did have a room that faced the courtyard, so it was at least quiet with the window open.

But the excellent thing about this hotel is the wonderful service. Everyone from the concierge, to the front desk staff, the doormen, the waitstaff in the restaurant, were charming and helpful with anything you needed. They were helpful with bags, restaurant recommendations and reservations, tours, travel info, whatever we needed. Almost universally they spoke at least enough English, and the front desk and concierge staff were quiet fluent.

I would absolutely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I did like the room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swift-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at The Hotel Westminster Paris and for leaving your review here on TripAdvisor.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and it is a delight to read that you really enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Please rest assured I will share your kind words with all our ambassadors.

We certainly hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you another time at The Hotel Westminster Paris .

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The location is amazing, a block off the place vendome and near the Opera and Auber metro station. Staff are uniformly excellent; gave good tips on how to save time, money, access to great restaurants; all the things you would want from a check-in concierge team. When the internet went down and I had to work in the lobby they repeatedly offered me a complimentary beverage. Lobby is traditional/elegant. The furniture is a little worn, but the mattresses and linens are nice. Wish the pillows were down instead of fiberfill, and the internet could be faster - but a 5 star value for the price point, location, and service. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked my top floor room facing courtyard (quiet) and charming slanted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monique264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe your experiences at our hotel here at TripAdvisor.

Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

Dear Guest, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in a near future.

Kind regards,


Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#116 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#171 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mansart - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Property: Hotel Westminster
Address: 13 rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Paris
#144 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#160 Business Hotel in Paris
#224 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#233 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An utterly sophisticated choice that is without equal among the luxury hotels of Paris; the Hôtel Westminster is considered by many to be the Crown Jewel of authentic, historical Paris hotels. Named after the Duke of Westminster, who resided in this sumptuous property in the 19th Century, the Hotel Westminster is a luxury hotel offering magnificent rooms and suites. The Hotel Westminster also boasts elegant meeting venues and one star Michelin dining, which have proven popular with major figures from the world of the arts, business and fashion, who have been guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing