We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in the heart of Paris”
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Westminster
Ranked #245 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Hotel Westminster is situated between Opera and Place Vendome - a stone's throw from the Ritz!!  Its a wonderful Hotel.  The staff were very friendly and the bar was lovely - we were lucky enough to be treated to a night of piano playing as the bar has a lovely baby grand.  The rooms as clean and cosy.  They are a little small - this is normal for Paris.  The best thing about this hotel is its location - it is a two minute walk from Opera and a two minute walk to Place de la Concorde and Les Tuileries gardens (right beside the Louvre).  It is truly central.  We would highly recommend it!!!  If you stay here check out Le Sherwood bar on Rue Danou - its a lovely jazz bar with live music.  Its hard to find good bars in Paris - this one is a real gem!!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments in regards to your stay.

Rest assured that your feedback is very important, since it gives us a clear and constructive vision of our service.

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again to help us improve the quality of our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Westminster Hotel in Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2009

Great location (short walk to Louvre, Paris Ritz, Rue St Honore etc). We booked some rooms on a work deal so they were lower priced. This was reflected in the size of the rooms which were really small but very clean and compact! The breakfasts was very good and the bar was lovely. Very Parisian experience - I would recommend it to friends.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank JoannaALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments in regards to your stay.

Rest assured that your feedback is very important, since it gives us a clear and constructive vision of our service.

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again to help us improve the quality of our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Westminster Hotel in Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Stayed 1 night for business because all other hotels in Paris were full (Paris fashion show + Mondial de l'automobile). Superb location next to Opera and place Vendome but a bit old. Small rooms, not soundproof. Needs a refurb. Staff is nice and caring.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raph8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments in regards to your stay.

Rest assured that your feedback is very important, since it gives us a clear and constructive vision of our service.

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again to help us improve the quality of our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Westminster Hotel in Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

This hotel is in a fantastic location, it is really nice, the service is good, and the prices are acceptable for what it gives you. The rooms are tiny (it's Paris after all), but they are lovely. I chose it for our last visit to Paris because it was the nicest and most central we could get for the budget we had, and I was really pleased.
Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments in regards to your stay.

Rest assured that your feedback is very important, since it gives us a clear and constructive vision of our service.

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again to help us improve the quality of our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Westminster Hotel in Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Westminster in mid-May. Our check-in was reasonably fast, and the hotel lobby was very beautifully decorated. The hotel is in an area of extreme high end shops such as Cartier. It is about 1 1/2 blocks from the Metro at Opera and since it is near Vendome you will never get lost (it's halfway b/w a big monument and the Opera House). About 2 blocks in either direction you'll find lots of outdoor cafes.
The room was small but the bathroom was large. Though there was little room for us to put down our toiletries, I carry a hanging bag so it wasn't a problem. (it's easier to pack, too!)
The breakfast (which was included for us) was ok - we've had better. I'd say they needed more seasoning in everything, but that's me. The pastries were good but it seemed that they were reluctant to give second cups of coffee and we were never asked if we wanted more juice.
The power went out one night and so there was no hot water for showers the next day. The management never apologized, never sent information on what was happening - that is a mistake. A hotel of this class should put signs on the doors if not call you and apologize or update you. The hotel's elevator in our section was also inoperable into the morning with again no explanation.
Pros: the room was clean, the location was great, the lobby and breakfast area were lovely, and when we approached the staff they were always helpful.
Cons: the breakfast area filled up quickly and the overflow area was the bar; the wait staff at breakfast always seemed "flustered"; there should have been more info re: the power outage and lack of hot water. There could have been more hangers in the closet. At night the people next door only started making noise at 11:30 pm , forcing us to keep the tv on to drown out the noise (so the walls were thin).
Overall - I'm glad we stayed there but next time I'll look for quieter options with more customer service (re: the water/power)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CultureHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments in regards to your stay.

Rest assured that your feedback is very important, since it gives us a clear and constructive vision of our service.

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again to help us improve the quality of our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Westminster Hotel in Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Very disappointing. An excellent location but we were put in a small room near the lift, slept poorly and had to change rooms at 0530 due to the horrendous noise of a boiler firing up just behind our heads! The place needs a re-furb, worn carpets on the stairs, chipped and wobbly furniture in the rooms and grimy ceilings. It was far too expensive for what it provided and nearly spoiled an anniversary trip.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank ApersonEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments in regards to your stay.

Rest assured that your feedback is very important, since it gives us a clear and constructive vision of our service.

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again to help us improve the quality of our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Westminster Hotel in Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Very nice hotel near the Place Vendome & the Louvre. It's also close to some great shops. My experience of hotels in Paris has been very variable, but the Westminster was above average. I stayed for one night on business (I wasn't paying!). The only surreal aspect of my stay was when I rang reception for an iron. I was told that I couldn't have one 'for security reasons'. Of course, you can have a shirt ironed for you if you give it to them before 5pm and are happy to part with several Euros. I'm not proud - I can iron my own shirt. I don't consider myself a security risk, even when armed with an iron.

Nonetheless, if I were returning to Paris for a weekend, I'd probably go back to the Westminster. Wearing a non-iron shirt, of course.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank SaldeanTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments in regards to your stay.

Rest assured that your feedback is very important, since it gives us a clear and constructive vision of our service.

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again to help us improve the quality of our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Westminster Hotel in Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#102 of 1,805 in Paris
1,106 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mansart - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#499 of 1,805 in Paris
498 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#235 of 1,805 in Paris
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Address: 13 rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#159 Business Hotel in Paris
#173 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#222 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £147 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An utterly sophisticated choice that is without equal among the luxury hotels of Paris; the Hôtel Westminster is considered by many to be the Crown Jewel of authentic, historical Paris hotels. Named after the Duke of Westminster, who resided in this sumptuous property in the 19th Century, the Hotel Westminster is a luxury hotel offering magnificent rooms and suites. The Hotel Westminster also boasts elegant meeting venues and one star Michelin dining, which have proven popular with major figures from the world of the arts, business and fashion, who have been guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing