We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Westminster
Ranked #245 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2006

I stayed at the Westminster and found it to be perfectly fine. It was a bit pricey but I checked out the rooms online and once you go for a Vendome Suite or above you should be ok. Room was a good size, comfy bed, great big bathroom. It was a little 'tired' but nothing to worry about. It is a fantastic location which for a city like Paris is all that matters. All the big attractions are very close on foot or a short cab ride away (if you can find a cab of course!). Staff were pleasant and typically French. I would certainly stay here again but do go for the best room you can afford.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WharfTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,082 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
NJ
13
Reviewed 13 March 2006

This was by far my worst hotel experience and will never stay here again:

Pros:
- friendly staff
- great location
- elegant lobby

Cons:
- small room even for European standards with a mirror wall to visually enhance size
- arrived to a dirty bath tub
- show was either too hot or cold
- dated furniture and corridor carpeting (at least on the 4th floor)

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2006

I stayed at the Westminster for three nights in June last year. I chose a higher grade hotel (it advertises itself as 4-star) primarily to ensure my comfort and safety whilst travelling alone, and my husband and I had found a relatively good (for Paris) rate on the internet at about Euro 250 per night. I must say that it was NOT worth the money and was not worthy of any of its self-proclaimed prestige.

My room would have been Euro 400 per night without the special deal and was absolutely TINY. It was really only big enough for a single bed (I had to walk on tiptoe to get around the double bed!) and one wall was a mirror to create the illusion of space. I was kept awake one night by a very loud neighbouring guest arguing with his wife on the telephone for two hours - which proves how thin the walls are (..and that the original rooms have been sub-divided with artificial walls to create tiny rooms, and of course for the hotel to charge extortionate rates).

The lobby tries to be grand and IS nicely decorated in a rather ostentatious Louis XV fashion. The exterior benefits from the location (next to Cartier, rue de la Paix). As a woman checking in alone I felt immediately intimidated by the all-male staff, who insisted in addressing me in a mocking tone of broken English - although I speak fluent French! In my opinion, the worst characteristic any hotel can have is staff with a snobby attitude - especially when the place is not even of good quality; just claiming to be.

In conclusion, avoid the Westminster at all costs - as a student I used to stay in a hostel in the Marias which was twice as comfortable! - and if you want to treat yourself to a grand hotel in Paris, go for a traditional tried and tested one such as Le Bristol or Georges V.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank tjh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2005

Stayed at this hotel for a total of five nights and was incredibly impressed. The location could not be better - is between the Opera and Place Vendome on Rue de la Paix. The staff was extremely accomodating to me and my husband. We were able to leave luggage at the hotel while we were travelled outside of the city. All staff spoke english and were very friendly. Was impressed by the rooms - all tastefully decorated and had all the amenities of a four star hotel. Would recommend and would certainly return to this hotel on a future trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Avid-Traveler-Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
Our Staff ambassadors make great efforts to ensure that all our guests can enjoy a pleasant stay. Please rest assured I have shared your magnificent words with them.

On behalf of all ambassadors we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2005

The Westiminster Opera is a lovely hotel. The rooms are small but exactly what I expected for a French hotel room. The important things to note are the room was immaculate, the staff was very friendly and the hotel is conveniently located near the Opera Metro station.

Our room had a courtyard view which blocked out the noises of the street. At night the area is really quiet but during the day there is a lot of hussle and bussle of everyday Parisan life.

Compared to the prices of 4 star hotels in Paris, our deal for The Westiminster was exceptional and the hotel was certainly worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ErickaPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2005

Striving to create a wonderful and memorable wedding anniversary for my husband and I, we made reservations for three nights at this establishment. What a mistake! The room reminded me of that Geico (sp?) commercial that is presented in the form of “clips” a new “reality” TV show about a married couple that is made to live in an apartment that is extremely tiny for a year…the commercial goes on to reveal how the small space plays with temperaments resulting in great anxiety and obviously arguments! As my husband is quite tall, and the room quite small…we became that couple in this space! It was terrible, and not good at all for our marriage…we are in fact still recovering! Placed next to what appeared to be a service kitchen, we joked that the only reason we were able to afford to stay at the hotel was because they made a special rate for the “new Opera guest room” created from what was probably until very recent the food storage closet. “Yes, we in the room where the peas were stored last year!” This of course was just a joke, as we have no idea about the history, renovations or conversions ever made at the hotel.

The following are some of our additional observations:

Pros:
•Fairly centrally located
•Close walk to Metro station
•Close walk to Opera
•Many restaurants near by
•Clean bathroom
•Rather large bathroom
•Nicely decorated bathroom
•Fairly nice staff, pleasant, always smiling!

Cons:
•Room too small for two people
•so small double bed was pushed against wall so create place to walk
•uncomfortable double bed
•Difficult to find a place to stow our luggage
•Yes elevator is small too (as someone mentioned on this site earlier)…but so what, they all are in Paris!

In summary, if small spaces are not a worry for you, then this hotel may suit your needs. Have a great trip!

17  Thank TravellingJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas
860
Reviewed 2 July 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Westminster for four nights in late March. Having stayed at this hotel during spring break a year earlier, we had been so impressed that we booked the Hotel Westminster once again. One of the great draws of this hotel is the location. We did a great deal of walking (the Louvre is less than a mile away and the Champs-Elysees is just over a mile) and found this location to be ideal for seeing the many sights of Paris. We had two connecting rooms which were over-sized by any standards. Plenty of room, huge bathrooms and a beautiful view of the courtyard below. The rooms were very well-appointed and the king size beds were extremely comfortable. The only real complaint we had was the fact that the pay per view tv movies did not work the entire time we were there. With two young kids (who really enjoyed the movies when we were there the year before) this was a bit of a disappointment. Unfortunately, this wasn't much of a priority to the hotel. We talked to a number of staff members (none of whom had any idea how the system worked) and were met with general indifference as it related to this problem. We would have expected a better response. Overall, aside from the pay per view issue, the staff service was very good, although we learned it's a bit hit and miss with the front desk staff. Some of the front desk staff members greet you with a smile and could not be more accommodating. One in particular helped us make arrangements to ship some boxes and made several follow-up calls after we had left the hotel to make sure the boxes arrived at their destination. Others will give you the information you need, but don't necessarily make you feel like a guest who is dropping a fair amount of money into their hotel every night. A little warmer response would be nice. The fitness center on the top floor is a nice touch. Treadmills and bikes overlooking the Parisian rooftops made for a first rate work-out environment. Not sure when we will be returning to Paris, but when we do, we will look forward to staying at the Hotel Westminster.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#108 of 1,809 in Paris
1,115 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mansart - Esprit de France
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#227 of 1,809 in Paris
1,025 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#521 of 1,809 in Paris
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Address: 13 rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#159 Business Hotel in Paris
#170 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#222 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £159 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An utterly sophisticated choice that is without equal among the luxury hotels of Paris; the Hôtel Westminster is considered by many to be the Crown Jewel of authentic, historical Paris hotels. Named after the Duke of Westminster, who resided in this sumptuous property in the 19th Century, the Hotel Westminster is a luxury hotel offering magnificent rooms and suites. The Hotel Westminster also boasts elegant meeting venues and one star Michelin dining, which have proven popular with major figures from the world of the arts, business and fashion, who have been guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing