We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Westminster
Ranked #242 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2006

This was our second stay at the Hotel Westminster and we chose it based on that previous positive experience and the convenient location.
We booked a "Warwick weekend" saver through the Warwick hotels website, which was a fantastic discount on the rack rate. As expected, our double room was quite small, with just about enough space to walk either side of the bed. However it had everything we needed to be comfortable - double wardrobe, room safe, flat screen tv, minibar and clean bathroom with bath and shower. It was on the 6th floor overlooking the inner courtyard and very quiet. Our room rate included buffet breakfast, but on two days we opted for breakfast in our room, which was delivered on time cheerfully and nicely presented. The buffet breakfast that we took in the restaurant offered a huge, fresh choice and was very pleasant.
The public areas of the hotel are very smart and all of the staff we encountered, from reception, breakfast, room service, housekeeping and doorman were friendly and pleasant with a good command of English.
The location is excellent; just a few steps from the Place Vendome and 10-15 minutes stroll to the Tuileries and Louvre. The area felt safe and clean. We have since checked the prices at some of the Westminster's neighbouring hotels and they are at least twice the price, but we feel we could not have bettered our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank tot2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2006

We have just returned from a fantastic first time trip to Paris. Let me begin by saying that it is the most beautiful city we have ever had the privilege of visiting.From the moment we entered Paris it took our breath away, so you can imagine that we had high hopes for our hotel. Iet me go back a bit. Prior to us coming to Paris, i had been scouring all necessary information from the tripadvisor for five months on a daily basis. It was my wife's birthday and our 15year wedding anniversary. Hence i opted to pull out all the stops, go for broke and booked a fantastic destination, with an equally fantastic hotel. From the time i started making enquires about rates directly with the hotel,Florence Cohen could not stop helping me enough. Nothing was impossible for her. We got a rate of 399 euros for two adults and two small children including breakfast and all taxes. Wow that was the best rate for a luxury hotel in a prime area. The hotel is situated in Place de Vendome ( just around the corner from the Ritz ).Situated all around you are the most exclusive shops imaginable.The louvre and all the top tourist sites are all in close proximaty. The hotel position is fantastic.From the moment our taxi pulled up outside the hotel, a sense of sophistication prevailed. on entering we passed lovely antiques, old paintings and a sign mentioning that the hotel air was perfumed.The hotel interior is posh,upmarket and exclusve . This includes all public areas. Our room was lovely and spacious.Alot of care is taken on detail.We had a small separate entrance hall with cupboards, safe area and a well stocked bar fridge. Our bedroom was lovely, and their was a welcome note on our tv.Each night the beds were turned down and chocolate placed on our pillows. We got a daily weather report placed on our pillow each evening detailing the next days weather. Room service would be wheeled in on a lovely trolley and a simple toasted cheese and tomato sandwhich would be served on fine china and presented like a work of art. We constantly had to pinch ourselves. This was to good to be true. Our room was filled with lovely upmarket magazines and the latest information on Paris.

The bathrooms were spacious with his and hers basins, lovely toiletries, fluffy bath robes etc.One morning we could not open the safe in our room as it had jammed. The hotel kindly lent us the necessary finance for the day and a staff member from the front desk oversaw the safe opened and took the items ( passports and cash to the front lobby safe while we were out for the day. Not one thing went missing. Because of the inconvience caused, on our arrival back at our room a fine bottle of champagne on ice was waiting for us.Eating breakfast in lovely surroundings was wonderful.The breakfast was very enjoyable and the service from the staff was prompt.

I have to compliment all. From the bellboy at the hotel entrance to the front line staff at reception, to our fantasic concierge, to the service at breakfast, room service, all were fantastic. I can honestly say that this intimate exculsive boutique type hotel has been the best hotel we have ever stayed in . We will definitly be back and i strongly encourage you to visit the Westminster for a once in a life time experience.

In closing i would just like to mention that we found the French to be hospitable very pleasant and wonderful to be around. Vive le France.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank 04-03-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2006

This review is a little late in coming, but I thought I'd write it anyway. We could not have been happier with the hotel, the room and the service.

The location was perfect. The Opera House was just around the corner as well the tour bus stop. I was travelling with my father who has a physical disability, so this was a bonus we had hoped for since it made it easier for us to check out the sights and going back to the hotel when he got tired and get on the bus again after he had a rest.

The buffet breakfast wasn't anything extravagant but it was included with our room price and saved us a bit of money.

We loved our room as we got a junior suite with 2 double beds and my mother said the sheets were changed daily. Don't know how she knew this -- my mother has ways of finding out things and I believe they were in the room one day when the housekeeper came in to do just that!

The staff were professional and helpful especially with my father. Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Gnutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
uk
523
Reviewed 26 April 2006

the service was charming- extremely personal, polite and helpful. the room was small, but the location more than made up for the slight lack of space. the location was literally in the middle of all the action, and shopping, sights and restaurants were plentiful and nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2006

My granddaughter I stayed here for 6 nights in a standard twin-bedded room. It was on the 6th floor overlooking the courtyard. I had asked for a quiet, non-smoking room and it was perfect.
First off, the staff was exceptionally friendly and spoke fabulous english. The concierge was helpful and friendly. We were very impressed with how nice everyone was to us.
Our room was very clean and always ready for us when we returned from our excursions. We were there over the Easter holiday and appreciated the "over-the-top" decor. It was festive and charming.
I would stay again for all the above reasons and the location is hard to beat!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank twfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
St Albans UK
17
Reviewed 21 April 2006

Our room was very small even by UK B&B standards with the full length, full width wall mirror attempting to make the room bigger. We found the room to be very dark and depressing. Standard of service was ok but why did it take 2 days for any of the staff to smile?

We were told to mention when checking in that we were Honeymooning but all we got was a shrug of the shoulders and a half hearted congratulation. On checking in and out we were told we had a bed only rate only, we had to point out that they should actually read the hotel voucher supplied by our travel company, always get them to explain all charges on the bill. We felt the brochure was misleading and uses very clever shots of the exterior of the hotel.

The Easter decorations looked like they had come from an episode of changing rooms (UK TV program) I’ll say no more!

The only good thing to say about this hotel was the location, which was first class.

Overall we found the Hotel to be pretentious and overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2006

I stayed at the Westminster and found it to be perfectly fine. It was a bit pricey but I checked out the rooms online and once you go for a Vendome Suite or above you should be ok. Room was a good size, comfy bed, great big bathroom. It was a little 'tired' but nothing to worry about. It is a fantastic location which for a city like Paris is all that matters. All the big attractions are very close on foot or a short cab ride away (if you can find a cab of course!). Staff were pleasant and typically French. I would certainly stay here again but do go for the best room you can afford.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WharfTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your stay at The Westminster Paris.
We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.
Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#111 of 1,803 in Paris
1,064 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#472 of 1,803 in Paris
480 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel L'Horset Opera, BW Premier Collection
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Address: 13 rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Paris
#160 Business Hotel in Paris
#166 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#223 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#232 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £162 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An utterly sophisticated choice that is without equal among the luxury hotels of Paris; the Hôtel Westminster is considered by many to be the Crown Jewel of authentic, historical Paris hotels. Named after the Duke of Westminster, who resided in this sumptuous property in the 19th Century, the Hotel Westminster is a luxury hotel offering magnificent rooms and suites. The Hotel Westminster also boasts elegant meeting venues and one star Michelin dining, which have proven popular with major figures from the world of the arts, business and fashion, who have been guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing