We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel - expensive for what it offers. Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Ranked #732 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average Hotel - expensive for what it offers. Good Location”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Great location! Room was very nice for single occupancy.
Quiet and I liked that you could open the windows and have fresh air.
I found one of the staff members very helpful but one I didn't!
I was waiting for someone on the second day and asked for a sandwich to eat in the lobby - they do say they offer room service! Well they told me they had no bread! They didn't even try to offer me anything else!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    185
    65
    19
    11
See reviews for
96
133
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Terrific location. Very quiet area, 5 minutes walk away from 3 Metro stations, 15 min walk away from Invalids, 30-40 min walk away from Ornay / Louvre / Eiffel Tower.

Accommodating staff. Breakfast was simple continental breakfast but very clean and stocked. We had an issue with shower not working. Staff was notified and it was fixed when we got in the next evening. Front desk was willing to help with any questions we had. We had to rent two rooms because we had 2 adults and 3 children. They kept us all on one floor.

Clean rooms. Clean rooms and bathrooms are important. Expectation was met.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guests,

We are happy that your family enjoyed their stay.
Thank you for your comments about our staff and our service.


Best regards
Carole ALLALI
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at the Hotel de Suede 40 years ago and was so charmed that its name stuck in my memory. I hadn't been back to Paris from then until earlier this month (June 2013), and I decided to revisit the hotel. I wasn't at all disappointed. In fact, there has been some improvement, particularly the petit dejeuner -- now a full spread. The location could not be better; it is off the beaten track (just a little), close to the Metro, and within walking distance of Les Invalides, the Champs du Mars, and even the Eiffel Tower if you are wearing walking shoes. One small gripe -- will every hotel on earth, including this one, please stop charging for internet access?

Room Tip: Some rooms open to the courtyard, which is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guests,

We are so happy that you enjoyed ou hotel 40 years after your first visit. We were not managing the hotel at this period.
Indeed, the hotel has been renovated those past 10 years and will continue to improve its services.
Concerning our internet access, we propose free internet only for low speed access but for high speed conection, the service is not free.
In the future, we might choose a new partner for internet which will be free.

Thank you again for your comments,


Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Do not come with a big luggage. Obviously 3 star hotel in Paris has no service of porter. So if you are handicaped or with heavy luggage climbing those stairs can be a problem. Paying 260E and have no elevator to your room was a shock to me. So as they said that I can not get any other room and will not be reimboursed.... I embarassingly needed to ask an overworked person (yes they do have only one single person to manage 37 rooms the whole nigt) for a 'favor' to carry my luggage. I felt handicaped and very embarased by the poverty of service and the absence of a manager or the owner. The only poor employee need to leave the reception alone and run around like a chicken ....however well he/ she works, he/ she can never manage such a heavy work load. The hotel owner is obviously abusing with filling up rooms to which you will need to climb with heavy luggage and by not having enought people for service. It is embarasing that they do not respect a potential client'shandicap ( or heavy luggage). In addition the bathroom window had no curtain so people will see you from the opposite side of the courtyard while you are taking your shower.... (But tou can always wear your swimsuit).
Only possitive point: The size and the cleanningness of the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guests,

I just read your comments and would like to be sure that you booked a suite or a deluxe in the Pavillon area.
Indeed, those rooms are located in a house and only 2 rooms are on the first floor.
We are sorry if this information was not clear and would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. You should have come to the front desk to meet the Hotel Manager.
We do take time time to read all the comments of our guests and please be sure that our goal is to satisfy our guests.

Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

very near to the Metro. There are many eating places nearby, Macdonalds a , a supermart just next to the hotel; The hotel is clean and neat. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is tiny elevator which is useful if you have heavy baggages. Location is central - near to Lourve museum,Overall a pleasant stay. WIll book this place again if visit Paris

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank White F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about our location.

We hope to welcome you again,

Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The location was decent but there are many others to choose from even closer to St. Germain. The hotel is small and potentially charming but the service is mediocre. The front desk team are not particularly organized nor accommodating. Getting Wifi passwords or power adapters proved both irritating to the staff and beyond them. Yes, we're tourists, no, we can speak French and don't need any attitude, but please realize that when we return we'll be picking a different business. The overall impression is that we were the only people happy to have us stay there. Everyone else was just inconvenienced.

Also, the room - we get that Paris hotels have small rooms. The bed barely fit the space - too cramped, get smaller beds and new linen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel was quiet pricey, but that's because it is situated in a post area. Overall it was a good hotel, the room we had was spacious and we sleept well due to the silence. We didn't have breakfast, €13,- per person is just too much money we thought. There are plenty of brasseries offering breakfast for less. Metro Vaneau is the nearest station, only some 3 minutes walk. Free wifi is offered if you take a closer look at the login-page. Otherwise the hotel will charge you €10 a day.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
#907 of 1,798 in Paris
189 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Empereur
Hotel de l'Empereur
#256 of 1,798 in Paris
821 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#783 of 1,798 in Paris
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#746 of 1,798 in Paris
319 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
#1,218 of 1,798 in Paris
229 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Derby Eiffel Hotel
#831 of 1,798 in Paris
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Suede St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Suede St. Germain

Property: Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Address: 31 rue Vaneau, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#548 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Suede St. Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Suede St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suede St Germain Paris
Hotel Suede St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing