We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced for Paris!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Ranked #739 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced for Paris!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013 with another couple. The hotel was clean and the room was comfortable, if not a little small, but it was reasonably priced for Paris, and that's what we were looking for. It was located between several Metro stops, though it was a bit of a walk to each one, so I wouldn't exactly call it convenient, but it wasn't inconvenient either. The area it was in was quiet and we slept well. The breakfast was included, and was a small buffet. All in all, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guests,


Thank you so much for sharing your experience at HOTEL DE SUEDE.

We hope to welcome you again,


Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    185
    65
    19
    11
See reviews for
96
133
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were there from Dec 30th till Jan 3rd. My first comment when we entered the room was "Omg so romantic" :) Bathroom is very very good,bed is really comortable. Also,location of the hotel is PERFECT so close to the Eiffel Tower,maybe 10 min walk. Overall I am very satisfided,and I really hope that my boyfriend and I will come back to this hotel one day :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milica08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.


We look forward to welcoming you,


Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here in November 2013 to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We chose the hotel due to it's convenient location, very near the metro to travel around the City. It was also very reasonably priced for Paris.

We arrived quite late at night and were welcomed by extremely helpful staff. Our room was very compact but we didn't need bigger - we didn't intend to spend much time there. Three small comments on the room: the door was very difficult to open due to a strange lock (several times we had to ask someone on Reception to help), the room was uncomfortably hot when we arrived but was soon rectified and the bathroom door wouldn't close. These three things did not severely impact on our stay, but are worth noting.

The location is what gives this venue a big thumbs up from us. It was a 5 minute walk to the metro which meant it was very easy to get to all the sites. It is also a nice walk from the eiffel tower.

Overall, the hotel did what we needed it to - provided us with a place to sleep - but it was quite basic and probably not a good choice for someone looking for luxury. Very good for those on a budget looking to stay South of the river and near to the metro.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Directeur général at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Sophie,

First of all, we are very proud you choose our hotel to celebrate you first anniversary, we wish you all the best.

We are sorry you had some trouble with the doors, and the heating, hopefully the front desk helped you to manage its.

Indeed, we have the chance to be well located, close by metro stop, city bus stop and you can visit Paris very easily. The Eiffel Tower and The Invalids dome are close by.

We will try to ameliorate our facilities and we hope to welcome you again for your next stay in the city of lights.

Best regards

Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We didn't choose this hotel, but instead got it as a secret hotel on Hotwire....I would never recommend Hotwire to anyone. We could have got the same exact rate through the hotel, but that included breakfast. No fault of the hotel, but worth mentioning. The hotel itself was nice, nothing special, but the staff was nice and the rooms were clean. The pillows were terrible though, old and lumpy. Also, the location is really not in "Saint Germain", it's in a business area away from anything touristy. We asked the night staff for ice and restaurant recommendations, and they had neither, unfortunately. We wanted to chill a bottle of wine in our room but weren't able to do it....the last night they did offer to put it in their fridge for us though. You must try the little bakery around the corner! FANTASTIC and well priced! We ate there every morning and it was under 8 euro for both of us to have huge pastries and cafe americanos. The ladies were great, they didn't speak English at all, but were willing to help us with our very little French and a lot of pointing. :-) We also ate lunch there twice, it was that good! That's actually where the hotel had their breads delivered from too! Also try the small bistro right across the street from the bakery...again, no English, but the best dinner we had in Paris! Ok, back to the hotel...location was ok, not really central to anything, but also not really far from anything. We walked pretty much everywhere. Paris is very much a walking town and absolutely beautiful! It was chilly, but quite pleasant to walk in. Overall it was a good hotel and an ok location, but I'm not sure I would choose to stay there if we return to Paris.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustangMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotelParis, Responsable réception at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 28 December 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time writing this detailed comment about your stay with us.

We always offer the best rates available on our official website. Next time don't hesitate to contact us directly to proceed at your booking.

Our location is just next to Bon Marché so we are very close to St Germain des Prés. You can easily walk to touristic places.
As you said, there are many places to enjoy a nice breakfast or lunch around the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Front desk team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krsko, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The 4 of us stayed there for 5 nights. The room was small but OK, except for the cold draft coming from under the door (the room overlooked the patio). The staff was nice, the breakfast was OK, nothing special to add. The location, however, is great if you want to return home to peace and quiet. You can reach most interesting locations on foot and there are numerous metro stations around. Also, the street is very clean. I have one comment, but this doesn't only apply to this hotel: we paid 13 EUR for breakfast per person, because nothing else was open in the morning, but I think that 13 EUR is way too much for a 5-year-old and 6-year-old who only ate one slice of bread with butter and drank one cup of milk. We will return again, nonetheless.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the patio (suites) are probably a good idea in the summer, but not so good in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urska C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. It helps us to improve our quality of service.
We are going to create a special KIDS rate for breakfast.


We hope to welcome you again,


Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this small hotel on a family break in December. My wife is french and she wanted to stay in St Germain for a change, as we normally stay around Odeon.

Set amongst the Government buildings a couple if streets away from the Musee Rodin and Les Invalides it is not that central, but actually this makes a pleasant change. The street is quiet and the rooms are a decent size for Paris. The rooms are unremarkable, but are clean and have an excellent shower.

Breakfast is your standard continental breakfast, with excellent bread and butter. Coffee is covered by a little nespresso machine which again unremarkable, but good.

The staff are friendly.

There us a Carrefour mini around the corner and also a Chinese takeaway, Creperary, Sushi and a cool little bar.

There are several Metro stations within a five min walk and the shops around Bon Mâché are 10 mins away.

For those of you who have been to Paris before and want to be central, but a little bit away from the action, then this hotel is a good option.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank IdleLoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Directeur général at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments.

We hope to welcome you again,


Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the little courtyard and sitting areas. Breakfast was very good, and the staff was knowledgeable and helpful. The location is within walking distance of the Orsay Museum and it is convenient to Metro and bus stops. It is an excellent location, especially if one is comfortable taking public transportation. We did not need a cab even to get from CDG Airport and to/from train stations. Good value for the amenities.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter; however, the street is very quiet at night anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHIslander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Directeur général at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your comments.
We hope to welcome you again.
You can follow us on Facebook.

Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
#867 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Empereur
Hotel de l'Empereur
#243 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#782 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#751 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
#1,229 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Derby Eiffel Hotel
#837 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Suede St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Suede St. Germain

Property: Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Address: 31 rue Vaneau, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#547 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Suede St. Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Suede St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suede St Germain Paris
Hotel Suede St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing