We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Ranked #731 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great position”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great position most things walkable certainly musee d'orsay and ponts des arts and louvre right on doorstep - breakfast a bit odd and different things turn up at different times. Rooms were a good size had one off the courtyard - colleagues said the door system was odd on other floors but would certainly stay again
Some receptionists were really slow so leave time but always happy to call for taxis etc

Room Tip: Only had courtyard room but they were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealWilkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Client

Thank you for your review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the location of our hotel,
It is true that you can visit main attractions of Paris from the hotel as we are located in a nice and safe area.
Indeed, rooms facing the courtyard are very nice, recently refurbished and quiet.
We are sorry to read that some receptionnists were too slow, we will take care of it.

Best regards

Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    197
    67
    20
    11
See reviews for
105
135
26
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I had booked the apartment next door to this hotel for a month. When he broke a hip near the end of our stay, I had to book a place for myself and our son who flew over to help us. The French Open was in progress, so our choices were limited. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and , blessedly spoke English. It is very clean and the breakfast is serviceable. Like the last poster, I had the room with the staircase to the bathroom which was frightening for a woman with a husband with a broken hip! Would I book this hotel (which has a very workable location) again? In a heartbeat; just not the single with the stairway to the bath.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeyewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear valuable guest,
First of all, we would like to wish a good recover to your husband but also thank you for your very kind comment.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Suede Saint Germain.
Be sure that we would have given you a more accomodating room if we had the availibility at this very busy period of the year. The room you had was a Single Economy room which is a very small room. Unfortunately we were fully booked and couldn't give you a larger room.
However, the entire team is looking forward to seeing you again very soon for your next trip in Paris.

Best regards,
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

At $180 US per night Hotel de Suede is a bargain for this area. The staff is very friendly and the neighborhood is quiet. Close to the metro and lots of places to eat and shop.
The room I was given (#51) was the size of a large closet with the bathroom on the 2nd floor up a steep flight of twisting stairs. The bed was a single that was 6'2" long and 3' wide. At 6' tall, either my head or my feet would touch (or boink) the head or footboard when rolling over, etc. When using the bathroom during the night, walking up and down the stairs elevated my heart rate just enough that getting back to sleep took some time. The bathroom space was incredibly cramped and I found myself having to be careful I didn't whack a knee or elbow on anything.
Unfortunately my room was also next to the elevator and I clearly heard every person who got on or off. I could also hear the machinery in the elevator shaft when any guest used it. Fortunately the use of the elevator dropped dramatically after midnight.
The friendly staff and great location are both 5 star. But I never felt like I got any real sleep. I would return to this hotel, but I would insist on a room away from the elevator.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that share a wall with the elevator shaft or are near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time you spent writting us a comment.
The entire team is glad that you enjoyed the location and our dedication to make your stay as special as you were expecting.
We also thank you for announcing us that you will still choose our hotel for your next trip to Paris.
Regarding to your accomodation, let us tell you that we are sorry that you didn't get as much sleep as you needed. Be sure that we will note that for your next stay : we will keep you away from the elevator !
The room 51 is a single economy room which is very small. As we were fully booked, you probalbly did not have any other rooms left.
We would like to inform you that our lift will be renovated next year.

We hope to see you again,

Best regards
Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
university town
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed here a few times in past few years. It is basic not high style but in an excellent location on a quiet side street off Rue de Babylone. The pluses are helpful staff, very quiet, so one gets a good rest. Basic bathroom with shower, television but room overlooked a private garden. It is a safe neighbourhood in the heart of Ministries, lots of police guard them. Locally there are many smart cafés, a boulangerie, where one can have breakfast or snack, a grocery, a pharmacy, newspaper shop, florist and cinema The Pagoda. The metro is a few minutes walk in either director. I walked to St Francois Xavier metro for direct metro a few stops to Grand Palais museum, metro in other direction Rue du Bac, Sevres-Bablyon, many buses, and walking distance to all of the smart shops including Le Bon Marche and boutiques of Saint Germain area.
Rooms are small, there is a lift, no mini-bar, but good breakfast and free wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms on garden side off stairs very quiet with view of trees, sky and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussysleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Directeur général at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Clients,

We read your comment with a lot of attention and pleasure.

We are glad you enjoyed your stays among us and we are happy you like the service we offer.

You are totally right, we are located in the center of Paris but the hotel is very calm, you can take advantage of the nice beds and have a good night.

Many shops around the hotel, nice restaurants, nice groceries...

We will be happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel and we were quite impressed! The staff was very nice and always eager to help with anything we needed (calling a taxi, making dinner reservations, giving directions, wine recommendations, etc.). Because of it's central location, we walked EVERYWHERE. It was about a 35 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower and 20 minutes to the Louvre, to put it in perspective.

We recommend asking for a room off of the garden. It was quiet and we enjoyed sitting outside at night with a bottle of wine.

Our room was very large, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious and had all the amenities you'd expect from a quality hotel. There was free wi-fi (Hard to find!), room service, and a breakfast option for 13 Euro/ day which we opted out of but it did look good!

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Hotel de Suede St. Germain! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms off of the interior garden offer a quaint view and a quiet area for morning coffee or a late n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Directeur général at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Abby,

Thank you for your comment. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We try to do our best to satisfy our customers and it is always a pleasure for us.

We have the chance to be well located and as Paris is not huge, you can easily walk to discover the city

We will be happy if you follow our facebook page to keep in touch.

Kind regards

Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We got this hotel from Hotwire, and we stayed for 5 nights. Generally, it is pretty good. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
Good location (7mins to 2 different metro, 10 mins walk to invalid and 30 mins to Norte dame, the louvre...)
Very safe (many embassies nearby, and always have office standby at the corner)
Comparative spacious room
Reasonable price in this area (we only saved a little money through Hotwire, even original price is okay)
High water pressure/quick hot water
Helpful and friendly staff
Quiet

Cons:
A little bit old (in terms of decoration, and they still use key instead of card)
Bathroom design (should use shower curtain instead of a piece of glass which can only block a part of water if you take a shower)

Bottom line: A nice place if you have concern about safety and also enjoy walking

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hhsu119413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Directeur général at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for this organized comment.

We are very happy you liked the safe location, the rooms and the service.

We do work every year to keep a nice hotel and the next step will be the renovation of the reception.

We prefered to put a piece of glass in the bath, because it is more hygienic than a shower curtain.

Thank you for your feedback!

Best regards

Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived very early from the airport and were able to drop out bags. We were told check in was 2pm but they could probably have the room ready for us by noon. We returned around noon and the staff was helpful in getting us into our room a little early.

The first impression of the lobby was not good. Outdated and in need of some updates. The room was very nice though, quiet a lot larger than I was expecting in Paris. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated and was excellent.

The AC unit in our room was pretty anemic but we didn't really need it this time of year. Opening the windows gave us great air flow.

The location is great. We were able to walk straight up Rue Vaneau, which changes names at some point, and it comes out at the River right beside the Orsey museum (a must see). The other direction gets you to cafes and pastry shops and the metro in a few blocks. The neighborhood seemed very safe. We walked around at night many times. It's near some of the Embassies so there was police presence some of the time.

I would stay here again without a second thought.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the road. It was surprisingly quiet with the windows closed. There was some earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allali, Directeur général at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Check in is 2.00 PM but if we can give rooms earlier we do it.

We totally agree that the lobby has to be renovated. and it would be the next step of our works.

Rooms has been refurbished and they are quite large compared to other hotels in Paris.

Our location is great too, we are close to many attractions and as you wrote the district is very safe.

We would be happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Carole ALLALI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#622 of 1,801 in Paris
324 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#721 of 1,801 in Paris
346 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
#624 of 1,801 in Paris
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
#945 of 1,801 in Paris
199 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
#1,175 of 1,801 in Paris
236 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Derby Eiffel Hotel
#775 of 1,801 in Paris
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Suede St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Suede St. Germain

Property: Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Address: 31 rue Vaneau, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#547 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Suede St. Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Suede St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suede St Germain Paris
Hotel Suede St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing