We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A perfect base to work from"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Ranked #440 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"A perfect base to work from"”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We chose this hotel as part of a Eurostar package and what a great choice it was. We stayed for 3 nights. On arrival we were greeted by very freindly staff who spoke good English and understood my limited French. Whilst booking in, I happened to mention that it was our 25th wedding Anniversary on the 3rd day of our stay and that this was the reason for our visit to Paris. They wished us a pleasent stay and we thought no more about it. On the day of our Anniversary, we went out to see the sights, and on our return, we went to our room to discover that the hotel staff had decorated our room with red rose petals. They also left us a little note wishing us "luck and love" and a box of chocolates. I will try to upload a photo of this. What beautiful people they are. This was totaly unexpected and just added to what turned out to be a perfect trip. The Hotel was spotlessly clean with great food served by staff who always had a smile for you and were professional at all times. The facilities were great with a pool available 24/7 accessed using your room key card. The room itself was equipt with a kettle, with tea and coffee topped up each day. A safe for your valuable items, a fridge and a large flat screen TV that had some english speaking channels too. There was plenty of storage and extra seating. The shower room had privacy glass that you could see through from the bedroom until you pressed a button in the cubicle which turned the glass opaque. This meant you could not see into the shower if modesty was an issue. There was a king size bed which was comfortable and extra pillows were in the wardrobe in zip up cases to keep them clean. There was a thermostat in the room which also had a 3 speed fan setting so you were in total control of the temperature. As a previous reviewer stated, this hotel has not got great views from it's windows, but what more do you want from a hotel in a city. There are great metro, bus, and taxi links right outside of the front door. We are not fitness fanatics by any stretch of the imagination but we managed to stroll upto the Notre Dame and back to the hotel one evening without breaking into a sweat. I cannot speak highly enough of this Hotel and all of it's staff There was a warm welcome from everyone, from management to cleaners. Everyone made you feel special and very welcome. I think by now you can guess that this hotel comes highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    1,391
    374
    93
    83
See reviews for
1,414
585
166
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Excellent hotel. It was my second time in this hotel. The location is close markets, restaurants, stores and quiet. Very close railway gare de lyon station and also the subway station. Recomend buy the breakfast, cheap and delicious.

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice, so anyone specifically
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on our hotel.

The Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon has, indeed, a great location in the heart of Paris and we are glad that you appreciated the easy access to the subway and the train station.

We hope to see you soon again,

Regards,

Jean-Jacques Bruyand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in half term. Location wide it's very convenient for the tube which is handy when arriving. If you want picturesque or luxury then this isn't for you. It's just not made that way! That's not to say its a bad hotel - far from it. As a family of four it was ideal. Good value, great breakfast, friendly staff and a magician to entertain whilst eating. Pool was ok and handy after a days sight seeing to unwind a bit in. Free wifi helpful for staying in touch with home. Clean room, pretty comfortable though Cosy for 4!
Highly recommended to families travelling to paris or to disney

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for choosing Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon for your family trip in Paris and for taking the time to write about it.
It is true that we are very lucky with our location next to the railway station the underground which allow you to reach the main sites and attractions very easily and quickly.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the swimming pool, the animation during breakfast and the layout of your room. We are working constantly in order to give families the best welcome so they feel "like home".
Thanks again !
Regards,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I'm just sitting in the lobby, waiting to leave to airport. It was very pleasant stay at the hotell. No complaints. Pleasant service, good breakfast, swimming pool and play room for the kids. Easy access to metro. Rooms were just fine, we had the older ones. Thanks!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ilkka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ponsa, Mallorca
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed in Novotel, Gare de Lyon, Paris, for one night at the end of January and everything was spot on. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and although we didn't eat in the hotel, we had a coffee the morning we left, and the lady running the café was charming. As we were travelling onward by train, the location of the hotel right beside the railway station was perfect.
We will stay in this hotel anytime we are in that part of Paris.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liudraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niedermohr, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was so excited to get home from our trip and write a review about this hotel. Our stay was absolutely wonderful! The staff was so pleasant and helpful, the restaurant in the hotel had a great staff. Everyone was so kind. It made our stay very comfortable.
I was expecting our room to be small, but I thought it was a great size. My family and I had more than enough room. We had the room with the queen bed and double sofa. We were all very comfortable. The bathroom was also, great. I was intrigued by the shower window that can be faded out with the flip of a switch! It was cool :)
I have no complaints at all about this hotel. The location was very convenient. Even being so close to Gare De Lyon, the hotel was quiet and peaceful. We drove from Germany to Paris, so it was great to have a private garage to park our car in. It was only about 20 euro to keep our car parked in the garage the entire stay. We took the subway while we toured the city.
I am definitely going to be recommending this hotel to all of my friends. It was more than what I expected, and at a great price!
We had booked the deluxe room, but were upgraded to the executive room, which has the free minibar, for free. I can't complain about that!
As you can probably tell, I am very pleased!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songbirdmgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We booked in for 2 nights in January 2014.

The rooms are pretty basic, and need a make over.

Problem 1:
Friendliness and helpfulness of staff varies dramatically depending on who you get at the counter. Some were incredibly helpful, and others had the most shocking attitude, nd were reluctant to answer the most basic questions like, how do I get from A to B.

Problem 2:
The main problem is that there are major construction works going on in the hotel, which are not advertised when you book. That's fine, if you're not planning on being in the hotel between 9am and 6pm, but if you are, prepare yourself for jackhammers.

I complained to the manager, and all I got was "well what would you like me to do about it". I asked to be moved to a quieter room, and his response was that he could not guarantee that any other room in the hotel would be any better. What I would like them to do, is prominently display this on every booking website, so it's clear what visitors are in for. This is not acceptable.

Problem 3:
The aircon has control units, but they don't work. So you either get a big blast of hot air, or a small blast of hot air. Either way, the rooms are too hot and the controls don't work. If you open
the windows, you can't sleep from the outside noise.

BUYER BEWARE.

Room Tip: Check the status of construction works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HowzitMyChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
#403 of 1,800 in Paris
3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon

Property: Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Address: 2 rue Hector Malot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#272 Family Hotel in Paris
#274 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#346 Business Hotel in Paris
#495 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon is located in the center of Paris, opposite Gare de Lyon train station (metro 1 & 14, RER A & D). The hotel is ideal for your business trips, meetings, romantic getaways or family weekends in Paris and is close to Bastille, Bercy, Gare du Nord train station, Disneyland (direct via RER A), the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre and Opéra. The hotel has 253 renovated rooms, a bar, restaurant, indoor swimming pool and a fitness center for your well-being. Free Wi-Fi and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon
Paris Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing